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REGISTER INFORMATION PAGE 

THE VIRGINIA REGISTER OF REGULATIONS is an official state 

publication issued every other week throughout the year. Indexes are 

published quarterly, and are cumulative for the year. The Virginia 

Register has several functions. The new and amended sections of 

regulations, both as proposed and as finally adopted, are required by law 

to be published in the Virginia Register. In addition, the Virginia 

Register is a source of other information about state government, 

including petitions for rulemaking, emergency regulations, executive 

orders issued by the Governor, and notices of public hearings on 

regulations. 

ADOPTION, AMENDMENT, AND REPEAL OF REGULATIONS 

An agency wishing to adopt, amend, or repeal regulations must first 

publish in the Virginia Register a notice of intended regulatory action; a 

basis, purpose, substance and issues statement; an economic impact 

analysis prepared by the Department of Planning and Budget; the 

agency’s response to the economic impact analysis; a summary; a notice 

giving the public an opportunity to comment on the proposal; and the 

text of the proposed regulation. 

Following publication of the proposal in the Virginia Register, the 

promulgating agency receives public comments for a minimum of 60 

days. The Governor reviews the proposed regulation to determine if it is 

necessary to protect the public health, safety and welfare, and if it is 

clearly written and easily understandable. If the Governor chooses to 

comment on the proposed regulation, his comments must be transmitted 

to the agency and the Registrar no later than 15 days following the 

completion of the 60-day public comment period. The Governor’s 

comments, if any, will be published in the Virginia Register. Not less 

than 15 days following the completion of the 60-day public comment 

period, the agency may adopt the proposed regulation. 

The Joint Commission on Administrative Rules (JCAR) or the 

appropriate standing committee of each house of the General Assembly 

may meet during the promulgation or final adoption process and file an 

objection with the Registrar and the promulgating agency. The objection 

will be published in the Virginia Register. Within 21 days after receipt 

by the agency of a legislative objection, the agency shall file a response 

with the Registrar, the objecting legislative body, and the Governor. 

When final action is taken, the agency again publishes the text of the 

regulation as adopted, highlighting all changes made to the proposed 

regulation and explaining any substantial changes made since 

publication of the proposal. A 30-day final adoption period begins upon 

final publication in the Virginia Register. 

The Governor may review the final regulation during this time and, if he 

objects, forward his objection to the Registrar and the agency. In 

addition to or in lieu of filing a formal objection, the Governor may 

suspend the effective date of a portion or all of a regulation until the end 

of the next regular General Assembly session by issuing a directive 

signed by a majority of the members of the appropriate legislative body 

and the Governor. The Governor’s objection or suspension of the 

regulation, or both, will be published in the Virginia Register. If the 

Governor finds that changes made to the proposed regulation have 

substantial impact, he may require the agency to provide an additional 

30-day public comment period on the changes. Notice of the additional 

public comment period required by the Governor will be published in the 

Virginia Register. 

The agency shall suspend the regulatory process for 30 days when it 

receives requests from 25 or more individuals to solicit additional public 

comment, unless the agency determines that the changes have minor or 

inconsequential impact. 

A regulation becomes effective at the conclusion of the 30-day final 

adoption period, or at any other later date specified by the promulgating 

agency, unless (i) a legislative objection has been filed, in which event 

the regulation, unless withdrawn, becomes effective on the date 

specified, which shall be after the expiration of the 21-day objection 

period; (ii) the Governor exercises his authority to require the agency to 

provide for additional public comment, in which event the regulation, 

unless withdrawn, becomes effective on the date specified, which shall 

be after the expiration of the period for which the Governor has provided 

for additional public comment; (iii) the Governor and the General 

Assembly exercise their authority to suspend the effective date of a 

regulation until the end of the next regular legislative session; or (iv) the 

agency suspends the regulatory process, in which event the regulation, 

unless withdrawn, becomes effective on the date specified, which shall 

be after the expiration of the 30-day public comment period and no 

earlier than 15 days from publication of the readopted action. 

A regulatory action may be withdrawn by the promulgating agency at 

any time before the regulation becomes final. 

FAST-TRACK RULEMAKING PROCESS 

Section 2.2-4012.1 of the Code of Virginia provides an exemption from 

certain provisions of the Administrative Process Act for agency 

regulations deemed by the Governor to be noncontroversial.  To use this 

process, Governor's concurrence is required and advance notice must be 

provided to certain legislative committees.  Fast-track regulations will 

become effective on the date noted in the regulatory action if no 

objections to using the process are filed in accordance with § 2.2-4012.1. 

EMERGENCY REGULATIONS 

Pursuant to § 2.2-4011 of the Code of Virginia, an agency, upon 

consultation with the Attorney General, and at the discretion of the 

Governor, may adopt emergency regulations that are necessitated by an 

emergency situation. An agency may also adopt an emergency 

regulation when Virginia statutory law or the appropriation act or federal 

law or federal regulation requires that a regulation be effective in 280 

days or less from its enactment. The emergency regulation becomes 

operative upon its adoption and filing with the Registrar of Regulations, 

unless a later date is specified. Emergency regulations are limited to no 

more than 18 months in duration; however, may be extended for six 

months under certain circumstances as provided for in § 2.2-4011 D. 

Emergency regulations are published as soon as possible in the Register. 

During the time the emergency status is in effect, the agency may 

proceed with the adoption of permanent regulations through the usual 

procedures. To begin promulgating the replacement regulation, the 

agency must (i) file the Notice of Intended Regulatory Action with the 

Registrar within 60 days of the effective date of the emergency 

regulation and (ii) file the proposed regulation with the Registrar within 

180 days of the effective date of the emergency regulation. If the agency 

chooses not to adopt the regulations, the emergency status ends when the 

prescribed time limit expires. 

STATEMENT 

The foregoing constitutes a generalized statement of the procedures to be 

followed. For specific statutory language, it is suggested that Article 2 

(§ 2.2-4006 et seq.) of Chapter 40 of Title 2.2 of the Code of Virginia be 

examined carefully. 

CITATION TO THE VIRGINIA REGISTER 

The Virginia Register is cited by volume, issue, page number, and date. 

34:8 VA.R. 763-832 December 11, 2017, refers to Volume 34, Issue 8, 

pages 763 through 832 of the Virginia Register issued on  

December 11, 2017. 

The Virginia Register of Regulations is published pursuant to Article 6 

(§ 2.2-4031 et seq.) of Chapter 40 of Title 2.2 of the Code of Virginia.  

Members of the Virginia Code Commission: John S. Edwards, Chair; 

Gregory D. Habeeb; Ryan T. McDougle; Robert L. Calhoun; 

Leslie L. Lilley; E.M. Miller, Jr.; Thomas M. Moncure, Jr.; 

Christopher R. Nolen; Timothy Oksman; Charles S. Sharp; 

Noah P. Sullivan; Mark J. Vucci. 

Staff of the Virginia Register: Karen Perrine, Acting Registrar of 

Regulations; Anne Bloomsburg, Assistant Registrar; Rhonda Dyer, 
Publications Assistant; Terri Edwards, Operations Staff Assistant. 

http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+2.2-4011
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PUBLICATION SCHEDULE AND DEADLINES 

January 2018 through January 2019 

Volume: Issue Material Submitted By Noon* Will Be Published On 

34:11 January 3, 2018 January 22, 2018 

34:12 January 17, 2018 February 5, 2018 

34:13 January 31, 2018 February 19, 2018 

34:14 February 14, 2018 March 5, 2018 

34:15 February 28, 2018 March 19, 2018 

34:16 March 14, 2018 April 2, 2018 

34:17 March 28, 2018 April 16, 2018 

34:18 April 11, 2018 April 30, 2018 

34:19 April 25, 2018 May 14, 2018 

34:20 May 9, 2018 May 28, 2018 

34:21 May 23, 2018 June 11, 2018 

34:22 June 6, 2018 June 25, 2018 

34:23 June 20, 2018 July 9, 2018 

34:24 July 3, 2018 (Tuesday) July 23, 2018 

34:25 July 18, 2018 August 6, 2018 

34:26 August 1, 2018 August 20, 2018 

35:1 August 15, 2018 September 3, 2018 

35:2 August 29, 2018 September17, 2018 

35:3 September 12, 2018 October 1, 2018 

35:4 September 26, 2018 October 15, 2018 

35:5 October 10, 2018 October 29, 2018 

35:6 October 24, 2018 November 12, 2018 

35:7 November 7, 2018 November 26, 2018 

35:8 November 19, 2018 (Monday) December 10, 2018 

35:9 December 5, 2018 December 24, 2018 

35:10 December 14, 2018 (Friday) January 7, 2019 

*Filing deadlines are Wednesdays unless otherwise specified. 
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NOTICES OF INTENDED REGULATORY ACTION 

TITLE 6. CRIMINAL JUSTICE AND 
CORRECTIONS 

CRIMINAL JUSTICE SERVICES BOARD 

Withdrawal of Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007.01 of 

the Code of Virginia that the Criminal Justice Services Board 

has WITHDRAWN the Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 

for 6VAC20-50, Rules Relating to Compulsory Minimum 

Training Standards for Jailors or Custodial Officers, 

Courthouse and Courtroom Security Officers and Process 

Service Officers, which was published in 33:20 VA.R. 2181 

May 29, 2017. The notice is being withdrawn as additional 

time is needed to review regulatory content. 

Agency Contact: Barbara Peterson-Wilson, Law Enforcement 

Program Coordinator, Department of Criminal Justice 

Services, 1100 Bank Street, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone 

(804) 225-4503, FAX (804) 786-0410, or email 

barbara.peterson-wilson@dcjs.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R17-5020; Filed December 20, 2017, 2:52 p.m.  

http://register.dls.virginia.gov/details.aspx?id=6369
http://register.dls.virginia.gov/details.aspx?id=6369
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REGULATIONS 

TITLE 9. ENVIRONMENT 

STATE AIR POLLUTION CONTROL BOARD 

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The following regulatory action is 

exempt from Article 2 of the Administrative Process Act in 

accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 4 c of the Code of Virginia, 

which excludes regulations that are necessary to meet the 

requirements of federal law or regulations, provided such 

regulations do not differ materially from those required by 

federal law or regulation. The State Air Pollution Control 

Board will receive, consider, and respond to petitions by any 

interested person at any time with respect to reconsideration 

or revision. 

Titles of Regulations: 9VAC5-50. New and Modified 

Stationary Sources (Rev. E17) (amending 9VAC5-50-400). 

9VAC5-60. Hazardous Air Pollutant Sources (Rev. E17) 

(amending 9VAC5-60-60, 9VAC5-60-90).  

Statutory Authority: § 10.1-1308 of the Code of Virginia; 

§§ 110, 111, 123, 129, 171, 172, and 182 of the Clean Air 

Act; 40 CFR Parts 51 and 60. 

Effective Date: February 21, 2018.  

Agency Contact: Karen G. Sabasteanski, Department of 

Environmental Quality, 1111 East Main Street, Suite 1400, 

P.O. Box 1105, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 698-

4426, FAX (804) 698-4510, or email 

karen.sabasteanski@deq.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments update state regulations that incorporate 

by reference certain federal regulations to reflect the Code 

of Federal Regulations as published on July 1, 2017. 

Article 5  

Environmental Protection Agency Standards of Performance 

for New Stationary Sources (Rule 5-5)  

9VAC5-50-400. General. 

The U.S. Environmental Protection Agency Regulations on 

Standards of Performance for New Stationary Sources 

(NSPSs), as promulgated in 40 CFR Part 60 and designated in 

9VAC5-50-410 are, unless indicated otherwise, incorporated 

by reference into the regulations of the board as amended by 

the word or phrase substitutions given in 9VAC5-50-420. The 

complete text of the subparts in 9VAC5-50-410 incorporated 

herein by reference is contained in 40 CFR Part 60. The 

40 CFR section numbers appearing under each subpart in 

9VAC5-50-410 identify the specific provisions of the subpart 

incorporated by reference. The specific version of the 

provision adopted by reference shall be that contained in the 

CFR (2016) (2017) in effect July 1, 2016 2017. In making 

reference to the Code of Federal Regulations, 40 CFR Part 60 

means Part 60 of Title 40 of the Code of Federal Regulations; 

40 CFR 60.1 means 60.1 in Part 60 of Title 40 of the Code of 

Federal Regulations.  

Part II  

Emission Standards  

Article 1  

Environmental Protection Agency National Emission 

Standards for Hazardous Air Pollutants (Rule 6-1)  

9VAC5-60-60. General.  

The Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) Regulations 

on National Emission Standards for Hazardous Air Pollutants 

(NESHAP), as promulgated in 40 CFR Part 61 and 

designated in 9VAC5-60-70 are, unless indicated otherwise, 

incorporated by reference into the regulations of the board as 

amended by the word or phrase substitutions given in 

9VAC5-60-80. The complete text of the subparts in 9VAC5-

60-70 incorporated herein by reference is contained in 40 

CFR Part 61. The 40 CFR section numbers appearing under 

each subpart in 9VAC5-60-70 identify the specific provisions 

of the subpart incorporated by reference. The specific version 

of the provision adopted by reference shall be that contained 

in the CFR (2016) (2017) in effect July 1, 2016 2017. In 

making reference to the Code of Federal Regulations, 40 CFR 

Part 61 means Part 61 of Title 40 of the Code of Federal 

Regulations; 40 CFR 61.01 means 61.01 in Part 61 of Title 40 

of the Code of Federal Regulations.  

Article 2  

Environmental Protection Agency National Emission 

Standards for Hazardous Air Pollutants for Source Categories 

(Rule 6-2)  

9VAC5-60-90. General.  

The Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) National 

Emission Standards for Hazardous Air Pollutants for Source 

Categories (Maximum Achievable Control Technologies, or 

MACTs) as promulgated in 40 CFR Part 63 and designated in 

9VAC5-60-100 are, unless indicated otherwise, incorporated 

by reference into the regulations of the board as amended by 

the word or phrase substitutions given in 9VAC5-60-110. The 

complete text of the subparts in 9VAC5-60-100 incorporated 

herein by reference is contained in 40 CFR Part 63. The 
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40 CFR section numbers appearing under each subpart in 

9VAC5-60-100 identify the specific provisions of the subpart 

incorporated by reference. The specific version of the 

provision adopted by reference shall be that contained in the 

CFR (2016) (2017) in effect July 1, 2016 2017. In making 

reference to the Code of Federal Regulations, 40 CFR Part 63 

means Part 63 of Title 40 of the Code of Federal Regulations; 

40 CFR 63.1 means 63.1 in Part 63 of Title 40 of the Code of 

Federal Regulations.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R18-5328; Filed December 28, 2017, 8:48 a.m.  

STATE WATER CONTROL BOARD 

Forms 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: Forms used in administering the 

following regulation have been filed by the State Water 

Control Board. The forms are not being published; however, 

online users of this issue of the Virginia Register of 

Regulations may click on the name of a form to access it. The 

forms are also available from the agency contact or may be 

viewed at the Office of the Registrar of Regulations, 900 East 

Main Street, 11th Floor, Richmond, Virginia 23219. 

Title of Regulation: 9VAC25-580. Underground Storage 

Tanks: Technical Standards and Corrective Action 

Requirements. 

Contact Information: Melissa Porterfield, Department of 

Environmental Quality, 1111 East Main Street, Suite 1400, 

Richmond, VA 23219, email 

melissa.porterfield@deq.virginia.gov. 

FORMS (9VAC25-580)  

Notification for Underground Storage Tanks (USTs), 

Virginia DEQ Water Form 7530–2 (rev. 1/2003).  

Notification Form, EPA Form 7530-1 (rev. 6/2015), 80 CFR 

41670  

Notification for Underground Storage Tanks (USTs), 

Virginia DEQ Water Form 7530-3 (rev. 1/2018) 

Notification for Underground Storage Tanks (USTs), 

Virginia DEQ Water Form 7530-3 instructions (rev. 1/2018) 

Notification for Underground Storage Tanks Change of 

Ownership by Former Owner, Virginia DEQ Water Form 

7530-3A (rev. 4/2016) 

Notification for Underground Storage Tanks Change of 

Ownership by Former Owner, Virginia DEQ Water Form 

7530-3A instructions (rev. 4/2016) 

Notification for Underground Storage Tanks Multiple 

Facility Amendment by Currently Registered Owner, 

Virginia DEQ Water Form 7530-3B (rev. 4/2016) 

Notification for Underground Storage Tanks Multiple 

Facility Amendment by Currently Registered Owner, 

Virginia DEQ Water Form 7530-3B instructions (rev. 4/2016) 

Notification for Underground Storage Tanks (USTs) Change 

of Ownership for UST Facility, Virginia DEQ Water Form 

7530-3C (rev. 1/2018) 

VA.R. Doc. No. R18-5236; Filed January 3, 2018, 8:15 a.m.  

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The State Water Control Board is 

claiming an exemption from Article 2 of the Administrative 

Process Act in accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 14 of the Code 

of Virginia, which exempts adoption, amendment, or repeal 

of wasteload allocations by the State Water Control Board 

pursuant to State Water Control Law (§ 62.1-44.2 et seq. of 

the Code of Virginia) if the board (i) provides public notice in 

the Virginia Register; (ii) if requested by the public during the 

initial public notice 30-day comment period, forms an 

advisory group composed of relevant stakeholders; (iii) 

receives and provides summary response to written 

comments; and (iv) conducts at least one public meeting. 

Title of Regulation: 9VAC25-720. Water Quality 

Management Planning Regulation (amending 9VAC25-

720-60, 9VAC25-720-80, 9VAC25-720-90, 9VAC25-720-

110).  

Statutory Authority: § 62.1-44.15 of the Code of Virginia; 

33 USC § 1313(e). 

Effective Date: February 21, 2018.  

Agency Contact: William Isenberg, Department of 

Environmental Quality, 1111 East Main Street, Suite 1400, 

P.O. Box 1105, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 698-

4228, or email william.isenberg@deq.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments to the state's Water Quality Management 

Planning Regulation (9VAC25-720) include (i) adding one 

new total maximum daily load (TMDL) wasteload 

allocation in the James River Basin, 10 new TMDL 

wasteload allocations in the Roanoke River Basin, and one 

new TMDL wasteload allocation in the Tennessee-Big 

Sandy River Basin; (ii) revising three TMDL wasteload 

allocations in the Chesapeake Bay - Small Coastal - 

Eastern Shore River Basin; and (iii) changing a non-

TMDL wasteload allocation within the Roanoke River 

Basin for an expansion of the South Hill wastewater 

treatment plant (VPDES Permit No. VA0069337). 

 

 

 

mailto:melissa.porterfield@deq.virginia.gov
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=d4ab5005236~1).pdf&typ=40&actno=005236&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=d4ab5005236~1).pdf&typ=40&actno=005236&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=d6c1d005236~2s.pdf&typ=40&actno=005236&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=d6c1d005236~2s.pdf&typ=40&actno=005236&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=0459f005236~3).pdf&typ=40&actno=005236&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=0459f005236~3).pdf&typ=40&actno=005236&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=0459f005236~3).pdf&typ=40&actno=005236&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=9d884005236~4s.pdf&typ=40&actno=005236&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=9d884005236~4s.pdf&typ=40&actno=005236&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=9d884005236~4s.pdf&typ=40&actno=005236&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=0100c005236~5).pdf&typ=40&actno=005236&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=0100c005236~5).pdf&typ=40&actno=005236&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=0100c005236~5).pdf&typ=40&actno=005236&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=3647c005236~6s.pdf&typ=40&actno=005236&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=3647c005236~6s.pdf&typ=40&actno=005236&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=3647c005236~6s.pdf&typ=40&actno=005236&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=d1d0d005236~7).pdf&typ=40&actno=005236&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=d1d0d005236~7).pdf&typ=40&actno=005236&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=d1d0d005236~7).pdf&typ=40&actno=005236&mime=application/pdf
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9VAC25-720-60. James River Basin.  

A. Total maximum daily loads (TMDLs).  

TMDL 

# 

Stream 

Name 
TMDL Title City/County WBID Pollutant WLA1 Units 

EDITOR'S NOTE: Rows numbered 1 through 160 in this TMDL table in subsection A of 9VAC25-720-60 are not amended; 

therefore, the text of those rows is not set out. 

161. 
Woods 

Creek 

Bacteria TMDL Development 

and a Proactive Approach to 

Address the Benthic 

Impairment for Woods Creek, 

Rockbridge County and City of 

Lexington, Virginia 

Rockbridge, 

City of 

Lexington 

I35R E.coli 3.97E+11 cfu/year 

Notes: 
1The total WLA can be increased prior to modification provided that DEQ tracks these changes for bacteria TMDLs where the 

permit is consistent with water quality standards for bacteria. 

2GS means growing season. 

 

EDITOR'S NOTE: Subsections B and C of 9VAC25-720-60 are not amended; therefore, the text of those subsections is not set 

out. 

9VAC25-720-80. Roanoke River Basin.  

A. Total maximum daily loads (TMDLs). 

TMDL 

# 
Stream Name TMDL Title City/County WBID Pollutant WLA1 Units 

EDITOR'S NOTE: Rows numbered 1 through 108 in this TMDL table in subsection A of 9VAC25-720-80 are not amended; 

therefore, the text of those rows is not set out. 

109. Bluestone Creek 

Benthic Total 

Maximum Daily 

Load (TMDL) 

Development for 

the Kits Creek 

Watershed 

Mecklenburg, 

Charlotte, 

Brunswick 

L77R E. coli 1.37E+11 cfu/year 

110. 
Little Bluestone 

Creek 

Bacterial TMDL 

Development for 

the Kerr Reservoir 

Tributaries 

Watersheds 

Mecklenburg, 

Charlotte, 

Brunswick 

L77R E. coli 1.49E+12 cfu/year 

111. 
Upper Allen 

Creek 

Bacterial TMDL 

Development for 

the Kerr Reservoir 

Tributaries 

Watersheds 

Mecklenburg, 

Charlotte, 

Brunswick 

L78R E. coli  2.25E+11 cfu.year 

112. Layton Creek 

Bacterial TMDL 

Development for 

the Kerr 

Reservoir 

Tributaries 

Watersheds 

Mecklenburg, 

Charlotte, 

Brunswick 

L78R E. coli 1.94E+11 cfu/year 
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113. 
Lower Allen 

Creek 

Bacterial TMDL 

Development for 

the Kerr 

Reservoir 

Tributaries 

Watersheds 

Mecklenburg, 

Charlotte, 

Brunswick 

L78R E. coli 1.28E+12 cfu/year 

114. Kettles Creek 

Bacterial TMDL 

Development for 

the Kerr 

Reservoir 

Tributaries 

Watersheds 

Mecklenburg, 

Charlotte, 

Brunswick 

L78R E. coli 5.63E+10 cfu/year 

115. Cotton Creek 

Bacterial TMDL 

Development for 

the Kerr 

Reservoir 

Tributaries 

Watersheds 

Mecklenburg, 

Charlotte, 

Brunswick 

L78R E. coli 6.59E+10 cfu/year 

116. Smith Creek 

Bacterial TMDL 

Development for 

the Kerr 

Reservoir 

Tributaries 

Watersheds 

Mecklenburg, 

Charlotte, 

Brunswick 

L79R E. coli 1.98E+11 cfu/year 

117. Lizard Creek 

Bacterial TMDL 

Development for 

the Kerr 

Reservoir 

Tributaries 

Watersheds 

Mecklenburg, 

Charlotte, 

Brunswick 

L81R E. coli 9.67E+10 cfu/year 

118. 

Unnamed 

tributary to Allen 

Creek 

Bacterial TMDL 

Development for 

the Kerr 

Reservoir 

Tributaries 

Watersheds 

Mecklenburg, 

Charlotte, 

Brunswick 

L78R E. coli 4.84E+09 cfu/year 

Notes: 
1The total WLA can be increased prior to modification provided that DEQ tracks these changes for bacteria TMDLs where 

the permit is consistent with water quality standards for bacteria. 

2WLAs from the Dan River TMDL report represent the WLA for the watershed, which may include North Carolina waters in 

addition to Virginia waters. Virginia permits will be issued in accordance with the Virginia water quality standard. 

B. Non-TMDL wasteload allocations. 

Water 

Body 
Permit No. Facility Name 

Outfall 

No. 

Receiving 

Stream 

River 

Mile 

Parameter 

Description 
WLA 

Units 

WLA 

VAW-

L04R 
VA0072389 

Oak Ridge 

Mobile Home 

Park 

001 
Falling Creek 

UT 
0.32 BOD5  0.85 KG/D 
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VAW-

L04R 
VA0025020 

Roanoke City 

Regional Water 

Pollution Control 

Plant 

001 
Roanoke 

River 
201.81 

BOD5  1173 KG/D 

TKN, APR-SEP 318 KG/D 

TKN, OCT-MAR 636 KG/D 

      001 
Roanoke 

River 
201.81 

BOD5  1173 KG/D 

TKN, APR-SEP 416 KG/D 

TKN, OCT-MAR 832 KG/D 

      001 
Roanoke 

River 
201.81 

BOD5  1173 KG/D 

TKN, APR-SEP 469 KG/D 

TKN, OCT-MAR 939 KG/D 

VAW-

L04R 
VA0077895 

Roanoke Moose 

Lodge 
001 Mason Creek 7.79 

BOD5, JUN-SEP 0.24 KG/D 

TKN, JUN-SEP 0.09 KG/D 

VAW-

L07R 
VA0020842 

Bedford County 

School Board- 

Stewartsville 

Elementary 

School 

001 
Nat Branch, 

UT 
0.59 BOD5  0.5 KG/D 

VAW-

L14R 
VA0029254 

Ferrum Water 

and Sewage 

Auth. - Ferrum 

Sewage 

Treatment Plant 

001 Story Creek 9.78 BOD5  14.2 KG/D 

VAW-

L14R 
VA0085952 

Rocky Mount 

Town Sewage 

Treatment Plant 

001 Pigg River 52 BOD5  133 KG/D 

VAW-

L14R 
VA0076015 

Ronile 

Incorporated 
001 Pigg River 57.24 BOD5  14.8 KG/D 

VAW-

L21R 
VA0063738 

Bedford County 

School Board - 

Staunton River 

High School 

001 
Shoulder 

Run, UT 
0.95 BOD5  1.8 KG/D 

VAW-

L21R 
VA0020869 

Bedford County 

School Board - 

Thaxton 

Elementary 

School 

001 
Wolf Creek, 

UT 
0.35 BOD5  0.31 KG/D 

VAW-

L22R 
VA0023515 

Blue Ridge 

Regional Jail 

Auth. - Moneta 

Adult Detention 

Facility STP 

001 
Mattox 

Creek, UT 
3.76 BOD5  1.66 KG/D 
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VAW-

L25R 
VA0020851 

Bedford County 

School Board - 

Otter River 

Elementary 

School 

001 
Big Otter 

River, UT 
1.15 BOD5  0.4 KG/D 

VAW-

L26R 
VA0022390 

Bedford City - 

Sewage 

Treatment Plant 

001 
Little Otter 

River 
14.36 BOD5  52.8 KG/D 

VAW-

L26R 
VA0020818 

Bedford County 

School Board - 

Body Camp 

Elementary 

001 
Wells Creek, 

UT 
2.22 BOD5  0.4 KG/D 

VAW-

L27R 
VA0020826 

Bedford County 

School Board - 

New London 

Academy 

001 
Buffalo 

Creek, UT 
0.67 BOD5  0.39 KG/D 

VAC-

L29R 
VA0031194 

Briarwood 

Village Mobile 

Home Park STP 

001 
Smith 

Branch, UT 
2.82 BOD5  1.3 KG/D 

VAC-

L35R 
VA0023965 

Campbell Co Util 

& Serv Auth. - 

Rustburg 

001 Mollys Creek 17.81 BOD5  8.13 KG/D 

VAC-

L39R 
VA0084433 

Drakes Branch 

WWTP 
001 

Twittys 

Creek 
6.04 BOD5  6.4 KG/D 

VAC-

L39R 
VA0024058 Keysville WWTP 001 

Ash Camp 

Creek 
7.63 

CBOD5, MAY-

NOV 

32.1 KG/D 

TKN, MAY-NOV 7.57 KG/D 

AC-

L39R 
VA0050822 

Westpoint 

Stevens Inc 

Drakes Branch 

001 
Twittys 

Creek 
7.22 BOD5 6.31 KG/D 

VAW-

L43R 
VA0022985 

Stuart Town - 

Sewage 

Treatment Plant 

001 
South Mayo 

River 
30.78 BOD5 63.5 KG/D 

VAW-

L54R 
VA0069345 

Henry Co Public 

Service Auth. - 

Lower Smith 

River STP 

001 Smith River 19.4 BOD5 257 KG/D 

VAW-

L54R 
VA0025305 

Martinsville City 

Sewage 

Treatment Plant 

001 Smith River 22.69 BOD5 681 KG/D 

VAC-

L60R 
VA0060593 

Danville City - 

Northside 
001 Dan River 53.32 

BOD5, JUN-OCT 1907 KG/D 

TKN, JUN-OCT 1817 KG/D 

VAC-

L66R 
VA0020524 

Town of 

Chatham STP 
001 

Cherrystone 

Creek 
2.49 

CBOD5 64.8 KG/D 

TKN 38.9 KG/D 
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VAC-

L75L 
VA0020168 

Clarksville 

WWTP 
001 

Blue 

Creek/John 

H. Kerr 

Reservoir 

0.1 BOD5 59.5 KG/D 

VAC-

L77R 
VA0076881 

Chase City 

Regional WWTP 
001 

Little 

Bluestone 

Creek 

13.67 

CBOD5, MAY-

NOV 

29.5 KG/D 

TKN, MAY-NOV 9.5 KG/D 

VAC-

L78R 
VA0026247 Boydton WWTP 001 

Coleman 

Creek 
3.79 

CBOD5, MAY-

NOV 

17.7 KG/D 

TKN, MAY-NOV 4.1 KG/D 

VAC-

L79R 
VA0069337 

South Hill 

WWTP 
001 Flat Creek 8.95 

CBOD5, APR-

NOV 

60.6 

113.5 
KG/D 

TKN, APR-NOV 45 KG/D 

CBOD5, DEC-

MAR 
204 KG/D 

TKN, DEC-MAR 56.8 KG/D 

9VAC25-720-90. Tennessee-Big Sandy River Basin.  

A. Total maximum daily loads (TMDLs).  

TMDL 

# 

Stream 

Name 
TMDL Title City/County WBID Pollutant WLA1 Units 

EDITOR'S NOTE: Rows numbered 1 through 77 in this TMDL table in subsection A of 9VAC25-720-90 are not amended; 

therefore, the text of those rows is not set out. 

78. 
McClure 

River 

Bacteria TMDL for 

McClure River Dickenson 

County, Virginia 

Dickenson Q11R E. coli 4.56E+12 cfu/year 

Notes: 
1The total WLA can be increased prior to modification provided that DEQ tracks these changes for bacteria TMDLs where 

the permit is consistent with water quality standards for bacteria. 

 

EDITOR'S NOTE: Subsection B of 9VAC25-720-90 is not amended; therefore, the text of the subsection is not set out. 

9VAC25-720-110. Chesapeake Bay -- Small Coastal -- Eastern Shore River Basin.  

A. Total maximum daily loads (TMDLs). 

TMDL 

# 
Stream Name TMDL Title City/County WBID Pollutant WLA1 Units 

1. Parker Creek 

Benthic Total 

Maximum Daily 

Load (TMDL) 

Development 

for Parker 

Creek, Virginia 

Accomack D03E 
Total 

phosphorus 
664.2 LB/YR 
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2. Pettit Branch 

Benthic Total 

Maximum Daily 

Load (TMDL) 

Development 

for the Pettit 

Branch 

Watershed 

Accomack D02R 
Total 

phosphorus 
0.01 LB/D 

3. Mill Creek 

Total 

Maximum 

Daily Load for 

Dissolved 

Oxygen in Mill 

Creek, 

Northampton 

County, 

Virginia 

Northampton D06R 

Organic 

carbon as 

TC  

0.31 LB/D 

4. Mill Creek 

Total 

Maximum 

Daily Load for 

Dissolved 

Oxygen in Mill 

Creek, 

Northampton 

County, 

Virginia 

Northampton D06R 
Nutrients 

as TN  
0.10 LB/D 

5. Folly Creek 

Total 

Maximum 

Daily Loads of 

Pathogens for 

Folly Creek in 

Accomack 

County, 

Virginia 

Accomack D03E 
Total 

nitrogen 
2.6 LBS/D 

6. Gargathy Creek 

Total Maximum 

Daily Loads of 

Dissolved 

Oxygen and 

Pathogens for 

Gargathy Creek 

(Upper, Lower, 

and Riverine 

Portions) in 

Accomack 

County, 

Virginia 

Accomack D03E 
Total 

nitrogen 
1.9 LBS/D 

7. 
Assawoman 

Creek 

Bacteria Total 

Maximum Daily 

Load (TMDL) 

Development 

for the 

Assawoman 

Creek 

Watershed 

Accomack D02 
Fecal 

coliform 
1.12E+09 MPN/day 
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8. Back River 

Total Maximum 

Daily Loads of 

Bacteria for 

Back River in 

York County 

and the Cities of 

Hampton, 

Poquoson, and 

Newport News, 

Virginia 

Hampton, 

Poquoson, York 
C07 

Fecal 

coliform 

3.87E+14 

4.38E+14 
counts/year 

EDITOR'S NOTE: Rows numbered 9 through 109 in this TMDL table in subsection A of 9VAC25-720-110 are not amended; 

therefore, the text of those rows is not set out. 

 

110. Back Creek 

Total 

Maximum 

Daily Loads of 

Bacteria for 

Poquoson 

River and Back 

Creek in the 

City of 

Poquoson and 

in York 

County, 

Virginia 

York C07 
Fecal 

coliform 

1.41E+13 

1.76E+13 
counts/year 

111. Poquoson River 

Total Maximum 

Daily Loads of 

Bacteria for 

Poquoson River 

and Back Creek 

in the City of 

Poquoson and in 

York County, 

Virginia 

Poquoson, York C07 
Fecal 

coliform 

1.12E+14 

3.01E+14 
counts/year 

112. 
Free School 

Creek 

Total Maximum 

Daily Load 

(TMDL) Report 

for Shellfish 

Areas Listed 

Due to Bacterial 

Contamination - 

Severn River 

Gloucester C06 
Fecal 

coliform 
N/A2 MPN/day 

113. 
Heywood 

Creek 

Total Maximum 

Daily Load 

(TMDL) Report 

for Shellfish 

Areas Listed 

Due to Bacterial 

Contamination - 

Severn River 

Gloucester C06 
Fecal 

coliform 
N/A2 MPN/day 
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114. 

Northwest 

Branch Severn 

River 

Total Maximum 

Daily Load 

(TMDL) Report 

for Shellfish 

Areas Listed 

Due to Bacterial 

Contamination - 

Severn River 

Gloucester C06 
Fecal 

coliform 
N/A2 MPN/day 

115. 
Thorntons 

Creek 

Total Maximum 

Daily Load 

(TMDL) Report 

for Shellfish 

Areas Listed 

Due to Bacterial 

Contamination - 

Severn River 

Gloucester C06 
Fecal 

coliform 
N/A2 MPN/day 

116. 
Vaughans 

Creek 

Total 

Maximum 

Daily Load 

(TMDL) 

Report for 

Shellfish Areas 

Listed Due to 

Bacterial 

Contamination 

- Severn River 

Gloucester C06 
Fecal 

coliform 
N/A2 MPN/day 

117. 
Greenbackville 

Harbor 

Total 

Maximum 

Daily Load 

(TMDL) 

Report for 

Shellfish Areas 

Listed Due to 

Bacterial 

Contamination 

- Chincoteague 

Bay 

Accomack D01 
Fecal 

coliform 
N/A2 MPN/day 

118. 
Swan Gut 

Creek 

Total 

Maximum 

Daily Load 

(TMDL) 

Report for 

Shellfish Areas 

Listed Due to 

Bacterial 

Contamination 

- Chincoteague 

Bay 

Accomack D01 
Fecal 

coliform 
N/A2 MPN/day 

119. 
The Gulf, 

upper 

Total 

Maximum 

Daily Load 

(TMDL) 

Report for 

Northampton C14 
Fecal 

coliform 
N/A2 MPN/day 
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Shellfish Areas 

Listed Due to 

Bacterial 

Contamination 

- The Gulf 

120. 

Pungoteague 

Creek 

(Warehouse 

Prong and Bull 

Run Creek) 

Total 

Maximum 

Daily Load 

(TMDL) 

Report for 

Shellfish Areas 

Listed Due to 

Bacterial 

Contamination 

- Pungoteague 

Creek 

Accomack C12 
Fecal 

coliform 
N/A2 MPN/day 

121. Taylor Creek 

Total 

Maximum 

Daily Load 

(TMDL) 

Report for 

Shellfish Areas 

Listed Due to 

Bacterial 

Contamination 

- Pungoteague 

Creek 

Accomack 
C12, 

C13 

Fecal 

coliform 
N/A2 MPN/day 

122. Fox Mill Run 

Total 

Maximum 

Daily Load 

(TMDL) 

Report for 

Shellfish Areas 

Listed Due to 

Bacterial 

Contamination 

- Ware River 

Gloucester C05 
Fecal 

coliform 
N/A2 MPN/day 

123. Ware River 

Total 

Maximum 

Daily Load 

(TMDL) 

Report for 

Shellfish Areas 

Listed Due to 

Bacterial 

Contamination 

- Ware River 

Gloucester C05 
Fecal 

coliform 
N/A2 MPN/day 

124. Wilson Creek 

Total 

Maximum 

Daily Load 

(TMDL) 

Report for 

Shellfish Areas 

Gloucester 
C05, 

C06 

Fecal 

coliform 
N/A2 MPN/day 
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Listed Due to 

Bacterial 

Contamination 

- Ware River 

125. Cockrell Creek 

Total 

Maximum 

Daily Load 

(TMDL) 

Report for 

Shellfish 

Condemnation 

Areas Listed 

Due to Bacteria 

Contamination 

- Cockrell 

Creek 

Northumberland C01 
Fecal 

coliform 
1.49E+11 cfu/day 

126. 
Red Bank 

Creek, riverine 

Bacteria 

TMDL 

Development 

in Red Bank 

Creek and 

Machipongo 

River, Virginia 

Accomack, 

Northampton  
D04R E. coli 1.08E+8 cfu/yr 

127. 

Red Bank 

Creek, 

estuarine 

Bacteria 

TMDL 

Development 

in Red Bank 

Creek and 

Machipongo 

River, Virginia 

Accomack, 

Northampton 
D04E Enterococci 3.93E+6 cfu/yr 

128. 

Machipongo 

River, 

estuarine 

Bacteria 

TMDL 

Development 

in Red Bank 

Creek and 

Machipongo 

River, Virginia 

Accomack, 

Northampton 
D04E Enterococci 9.03E+6 cfu/yr 

129. 

Red Bank 

Creek, 

shellfish 

Bacteria 

TMDL 

Development 

in Red Bank 

Creek and 

Machipongo 

River, Virginia 

Accomack, 

Northampton 
D04E 

Fecal 

coliform 
5.10E+11 counts/yr 

130. 

Machipongo 

River, 

shellfish 

Bacteria 

TMDL 

Development 

in Red Bank 

Creek and 

Machipongo 

River, Virginia 

Accomack, 

Northampton 
D04E 

Fecal 

coliform 
2.04E+12 counts/yr 
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Notes: 
1The total WLA can be increased prior to modification provided that DEQ tracks these changes for bacteria TMDLs where 

the permit is consistent with water quality standards for bacteria. 

2There were no point source dischargers in the modeled TMDL area. 

3This WLA represents only the Virginia portion of the watershed. 

 

EDITOR'S NOTE: Subsections B and C of 9VAC25-720-110 are not amended; therefore, the text of those subsections is not 

set out. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R18-5316; Filed December 29, 2017, 7:55 a.m.  

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The State Water Control Board is 

claiming an exemption from Article 2 of the Administrative 

Process Act in accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 8 of the Code of 

Virginia, which exempts general permits issued by the State 

Water Control Board pursuant to the State Water Control Law 

(§ 62.1-44.2 et seq.), Chapter 24 (§ 62.1-242 et seq.) of Title 

62.1, and Chapter 25 (§ 62.1-254 et seq.) of Title 62.1 if the 

board (i) provides a Notice of Intended Regulatory Action in 

conformance with the provisions of § 2.2-4007.01; (ii) 

following the passage of 30 days from the publication of the 

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action, forms a technical 

advisory committee composed of relevant stakeholders, 

including potentially affected citizens groups, to assist in the 

development of the general permit; (iii) provides notice and 

receives oral and written comment as provided in § 2.2-

4007.03; and (iv) conducts at least one public hearing on the 

proposed general permit.  

Title of Regulation: 9VAC25-860. General Virginia 

Pollutant Discharge Elimination System (VPDES) Permit 

for Potable Water Treatment Plants (amending 9VAC25-

860-10, 9VAC25-860-15, 9VAC25-860-20, 9VAC25-860-40 

through 9VAC25-860-70).  

Statutory Authority: § 62.1-44.15 of the Code of Virginia; 

§ 402 of the Clean Water Act. 

Small Business Impact Review Report of Findings: This final 

regulatory action serves as the report of the findings of the 

regulatory review pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

Effective Date: July 1, 2018.  

Agency Contact: Elleanore Daub, Department of 

Environmental Quality, 1111 East Main Street, Suite 1400, 

P.O. Box 1105, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 698-

4067, FAX (804) 698-4032, or email 

elleanore.daub@deq.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The regulatory action reissues the existing Virginia 

Pollutant Discharge Elimination System general permit 

that expires on June 30, 2018. The general permit contains 

limitations and monitoring requirements for point source 

discharge of process wastewaters resulting from the 

production of potable water. This general permit 

regulation is being reissued so that these facilities may 

continue to discharge. 

Substantive changes to the existing regulation include (i) 

removing the requirement to submit a groundwater 

monitoring plan with the registration if the plan has been 

previously submitted and approved; (ii) allowing for 

electronic submittals of registration statements; (iii) 

defining how to estimate discharge flow as "a technical 

evaluation of the sources contributing to the discharge"; 

(iv) removing the allowance for reduced monitoring for 

reverse osmosis plants; (v) requiring a corrective action 

plan when groundwater is contaminated; (vi) changing the 

requirement to conduct whole effluent toxicity testing from 

facilities with a one-time daily maximum flow of greater 

than or equal to 50,000 gallons per day to facilities with a 

daily maximum flow rate greater than or equal to 50,000 

gallons per day over three consecutive monitoring periods; 

(vii) revising the "continuation of permit coverage" 

subsection so it is generic and not dependent on specific 

dates, which were removed but allowances for continuance 

of permit coverage are the same or can be implemented the 

same; (viii) eliminating the requirement for grab samples 

to occur within 15 minutes of commencement of the 

discharge when the discharge is continuous; (ix) 

eliminating the requirement that the daily inspection of the 

effluent and the facility must be done when the facility is 

discharging; and (x) clarifying throughout the regulation 

where the requirements apply to the process wastewater 

treatment or discharge versus the drinking water 

treatment. 

CHAPTER 860  

GENERAL VIRGINIA POLLUTANT DISCHARGE 

ELIMINATION SYSTEM (VPDES) GENERAL PERMIT 

FOR POTABLE WATER TREATMENT PLANTS  

9VAC25-860-10. Definitions. 

The words and terms used in this regulation shall have the 

meanings defined in the State Water Control Law and 

9VAC25-31, the VPDES Permit Regulation, unless the 
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context clearly indicates otherwise, except that for the 

purposes of this chapter: 

"Department" or "DEQ" means the Virginia Department of 

Environmental Quality. 

"Membrane treatment" means a pressure driven process 

using synthetic materials to separate constituents from water. 

Membranes are used for dissolved solids or suspended solids 

removal. Membrane treatment for dissolved solids removal 

includes reverse osmosis and nanofiltration. Membrane 

treatment for suspended solids removal includes ultrafiltration 

and microfiltration. 

"Microfiltration" means a method of membrane treatment 

designed to remove particles down to 0.1 µm in size. The 

treatment removes cysts, bacteria, and most (but not all) 

particulates. 

"Municipal separate storm sewer system" or "MS4" means a 

conveyance or system of conveyances (including roads with 

drainage systems, municipal streets, catch basins, curbs, 

gutters, ditches, man-made channels, or storm drains) (i) 

owned or operated by a state, city, town, county, district, 

association, or other public body (created by or pursuant to 

state law) having jurisdiction over disposal of sewage, 

industrial wastes, storm water, or other wastes, including 

special districts under state law such as a sewer district, flood 

control district or drainage district, or similar entity, or an 

Indian tribe or an authorized Indian tribal organization, or a 

designated and approved management agency under § 208 of 

the Clean Water Act (CWA) that discharges to surface waters 

of the state; (ii) designed or used for collecting or conveying 

storm water; (iii) which is not a combined sewer; and (iv) 

which is not part of a publicly owned treatment works 

(POTW). 

"Nanofiltration" or "low-pressure reverse osmosis" or 

"membrane softening" means a method of membrane 

treatment designed to remove multivalent ions (softening) 

and removes contaminants down to 1 nm (nanometer = 0.001 

µm) in size. 

"Potable water treatment plant" means an establishment 

engaged in producing water for domestic, commercial, or 

industrial use as designated by North American Industry 

Classification System (NAICS) Code 221310 - Water Supply 

and Irrigation Systems, (Executive Office of the President, 

Office of Management and Budget, United States, 2017), 

Standard Industrial Classified (SIC) Code 4941 - Water 

Supply (Office of Management and Budget (OMB) SIC 

Manual, 1987), or others as approved by the board. 

"Reverse osmosis" means a method of membrane treatment 

designed to remove salts and low-molecular weight solutes 

and remove all contaminants down to 0.0001 µm (microns) in 

size. Reverse osmosis methods apply pressure in excess of 

osmotic pressure to force water through a semi-permeable 

membrane from a region of high salt concentration to a region 

of lower salt concentration. 

"Total maximum daily load" or "TMDL" means a 

calculation of the maximum amount of a pollutant that a 

waterbody can receive and still meet water quality standards 

and an allocation of that amount to the pollutant's sources. A 

TMDL includes wasteload allocations (WLAs) for point 

source discharges, and load allocations (LAs) for nonpoint 

sources or natural background or both, and must include a 

margin of safety (MOS) and account for seasonal variations. 

"Ultrafiltration" means a method of membrane treatment 

designed to remove particles down to 0.01 µm in size. The 

treatment removes cysts, bacteria, and viruses as well as 

suspended solids. 

9VAC25-860-15. Applicability of incorporated references 

based on the dates that they became effective. 

Except as noted, when a regulation of the U.S. 

Environmental Protection Agency set forth in Title 40 of the 

Code of Federal Regulations (CFR) is referenced and 

incorporated [ herein in this chapter ], that regulation shall be 

as it exists and has been published as of July 1, 2012 2017. 

9VAC25-860-20. Purpose. 

This general permit regulation governs the discharge of 

process wastewater from potable water treatment plants to 

surface waters. 

9VAC25-860-40. Effective date of the permit. 

This general VPDES permit will become effective on 

December 24, 2013 July 1, 2018, and will expire on June 30, 

2018 2023. This general permit is effective for any covered 

owner upon compliance with all the provisions of 9VAC25-

860-50. 

9VAC25-860-50. Authorization to discharge. 

A. Any owner governed by this general permit is hereby 

authorized to discharge to surface waters of the 

Commonwealth of Virginia provided that: 

1. The owner submits a registration statement in 

accordance with 9VAC25-860-60 and that registration 

statement is accepted by the board; 

2. The owner submits the required permit fee; 

3. The owner complies with the applicable effluent 

limitations and other requirements of 9VAC25-860-70; and 

4. The board has not notified the owner that the discharge 

is not eligible for coverage in accordance with subsection 

B of this section. 

B. The board will notify an owner that the discharge is not 

eligible for coverage under this general permit in the event of 

any of the following: 
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1. The owner is required to obtain an individual permit in 

accordance with 9VAC25-31-170 B 3 of the VPDES 

Permit Regulation; 

2. The owner is proposing to discharge to state waters 

specifically named in other board regulations that prohibit 

such discharges;  

3. The discharge violates or would violate the 

antidegradation policy in the Water Quality Standards at 

9VAC25-260-30; 

4. The discharge is not consistent with the assumptions and 

requirements of an approved TMDL;  

5. The facility is subject to the requirements of 9VAC25-

820-70 Part I G 1 (General VPDES Watershed Permit 

Regulation for Total Nitrogen and Total Phosphorus 

Discharges and Nutrient Trading in the Chesapeake 

Watershed in Virginia - Requirement to Register); and 

6. An owner applying for coverage under this general 

permit submits the results of representative whole effluent 

toxicity testing of the discharge, and the results 

demonstrate that there is a reasonable potential for toxicity. 

C. Compliance with this general permit constitutes 

compliance [ , for purposes of enforcement, ] with [ §§ 301, 

302, 306, 307, 318, 403, and 405 (a) through (b) of ] the 

federal Clean Water Act and the State Water Control Law 

with the exceptions stated in 9VAC25-31-60 of the VPDES 

Permit Regulation. Approval for coverage under this general 

permit does not relieve any owner of the responsibility to 

comply with any other applicable federal, state, or local 

statute, ordinance, or regulation. 

D. Continuation of permit coverage.  

1. [ Any owner that was authorized to discharge under the 

potable water treatment plant general permit issued in ] 

2008 [ 2013 and that submits a complete registration 

statement on or before ] December 24, 2013 [ June 30, 

2018, is authorized to continue to discharge under the 

terms of the ] 2008 [ 2013 general permit until such time as 

the board either Permit coverage shall expire at the end of 

its term. However, expiring permit coverages are 

automatically continued if the owner has submitted a 

complete registration statement at least 60 days prior to the 

expiration date of the permit, or a later submittal 

established by the board, which cannot extend beyond the 

expiration date of the original permit. The permittee is 

authorized to continue to discharge until such time as the 

board either ]:  

a. Issues coverage to the owner under this general permit; 

or  

b. Notifies the owner that the discharge is not eligible for 

coverage under this general permit.  

2. When the owner that was covered under the expiring or 

expired general permit has violated or is violating the 

conditions of that permit, the board may choose to do any 

or all of the following:  

a. Initiate enforcement action based upon the 2008 

[ 2013 ] general permit [ coverage that has been 

continued ]; 

b. Issue a notice of intent to deny coverage under the 

reissued general permit. If the general permit coverage is 

denied, the owner would then be required to cease the 

discharges authorized by [ administratively the ] 

continued coverage under the terms of the 2008 [ 2013 ] 

general permit or be subject to enforcement action for 

discharging without a permit;  

c. Issue an individual permit with appropriate conditions; 

or  

d. Take other actions authorized by the VPDES Permit 

Regulation (9VAC25-31). 

9VAC25-860-60. Registration statement. 

A. Deadlines for submitting registration statement. The 

owner seeking coverage under this general permit shall 

submit a complete VPDES general permit registration 

statement in accordance with this section, which shall serve 

as a notice of intent for coverage under the general VPDES 

permit for potable water treatment plants. 

1. New facilities. Any owner proposing a new discharge 

shall submit a complete registration statement at least 60 

days prior to the date planned for commencement of the 

new discharge.  

2. Existing facilities.  

a. Any owner covered by an individual VPDES permit 

who is proposing to be covered by this general permit 

shall submit a complete registration statement at least 

270 days prior to the expiration date of the individual 

VPDES permit.  

b. Any owner that was authorized to discharge under the 

[ expiring or expired ] general VPDES permit [ that 

became effective on December 24, ] 2008 [ 2013, ] and 

who intends to continue coverage under this general 

permit shall submit a complete registration statement to 

the board [ on or before ] October 24, 2013 [ May 1, 

2018 at least 60 days prior to the expiration date of the 

existing permit or a later submittal established by the 

board ].  

c. Any owner of a potable water treatment plant not 

currently covered by a VPDES permit who is proposing 

to be covered by this general permit shall file the 

registration statement. 
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B. Late registration statements. Registration statements for 

existing owners covered under subdivision A 2 b of this 

section will be accepted after December 24, 2013 [ June 30, 

2018 the expiration date of the permit ], but authorization to 

discharge will not be retroactive. [ Owners described in 

subdivision A 2 b of this section that submit registration 

statements after ] October 24, 2013 [ May 1, 2018, are 

authorized to discharge under the provisions of 9VAC25-860-

50 D if a complete registration statement is submitted on or 

before ] December 24, 2013 [ June 30, 2018. ]  

C. The required registration statement shall contain the 

following information:  

1. Facility name and street address, owner name, mailing 

address, telephone number, and email address (if 

available); 

2. Operator or other contact name, mailing address, 

telephone number, and email address (if available); 

3. The nature of the business; 

4. A USGS 7.5 minute topographic map or equivalent 

computer generated map showing the facility location 

extending to at least one mile beyond the property 

boundary and the location of the discharge point(s) points; 

5. The receiving waters of the discharge; 

6. The outfall number, latitude and longitude, the daily 

maximum actual or projected [ process ] wastewater flow 

rate (millions of gallons per day or gallons per day), typical 

volume, duration of discharges, and frequency of 

discharge; 

7. The type of water treatment (e.g., conventional, 

microfiltration, ultrafiltration, nanofiltration, reverse 

osmosis, or a combination of these) and, if applicable, a 

description of any treatment type changes since the 

previous registration statement was submitted; 

8. The number of any existing VPDES permit that 

authorizes discharges from the potable water treatment 

plant; 

9. If the existing VPDES permit contains a groundwater 

monitoring plan requirement, a copy of the board-approved 

plan should shall be submitted unless the plan has been 

previously submitted and approved and remains 

unchanged. If a plan has been previously approved, cite the 

plan and date of approval; 

10. Information regarding the lining of any settling basins 

or lagoons, whether such units are earthen lined, and if so, 

whether the linings have a permeability of no greater than 

10-6 cm/sec; 

11. The results of any whole effluent toxicity evaluation 

required by the 2008 2013 potable water treatment plant 

general permit regulation, 9VAC25-860-50 A 3, or the 

current individual permit, if not previously submitted to the 

department; 

12. A schematic drawing showing the source(s) sources of 

water used on the property and the conceptual design of the 

methods of treatment and disposal of process wastewater; 

13. Information on chemicals used in the production of 

drinking water and process wastewater treatment, to 

include (i) a description of chemicals, (ii) a proposed or 

actual schedule and quantity of chemical usage and, if 

applicable, (iii) a description of any chemical or chemical 

usage changes since the previous registration statement 

was submitted, and (iv) a description of which chemicals 

have no likelihood of entering the process wastewater; 

14. A description of how solids and residue from any 

settling basins or lagoons are disposed;  

15. Whether the facility will discharge to a MS4 municipal 

separate storm sewer system (MS4). If so, the name of the 

MS4 owner must be provided. If the owner of the potable 

water treatment plant is not the owner of the MS4, the 

facility owner shall notify the MS4 owner of the existence 

of the discharge and include a copy of the notification with 

the registration statement. The notification shall include the 

following information: the name of the facility, a contact 

person and phone telephone number, the location of the 

discharge, the nature of the discharge, and the owner's 

VPDES general permit number;  

16. If a new potable water treatment plant owner proposes 

to discharge within five miles upstream of another public 

water supply system's intake, the new potable water 

treatment plant owner shall notify the public water supply 

system's owner and include a copy of the notification with 

the registration statement; and 

17. The following certification: 

"I certify under penalty of law that this document and all 

attachments were prepared under my direction or 

supervision in accordance with a system designed to 

assure that qualified personnel properly gather and 

evaluate the information submitted. Based on my inquiry 

of the person or persons who manage the system or those 

persons directly responsible for gathering the 

information, the information submitted is to the best of 

my knowledge and belief true, accurate, and complete. I 

am aware that there are significant penalties for 

submitting false information including the possibility of 

fine and imprisonment for knowing violations." 

D. The registration statement shall be signed in accordance 

with 9VAC25-31-110. 

E. The registration statement shall be delivered to the 

department's regional office where the industrial facility is 

located by either postal or electronic mail. 
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9VAC25-860-70. General permit. 

Any owner whose registration statement is accepted by the 

board will receive coverage under the following permit and 

shall comply with the requirements therein and be subject to 

all requirements of 9VAC25-31. 

General Permit No.: VAG64  

Effective Date: December 24, 2013 July 1, 2018  

Expiration Date: June 30, 2018 2023  

GENERAL PERMIT FOR POTABLE WATER 

TREATMENT PLANTS  

AUTHORIZATION TO DISCHARGE UNDER THE 

VIRGINIA POLLUTANT DISCHARGE ELIMINATION 

SYSTEM AND THE VIRGINIA STATE WATER 

CONTROL LAW 

In compliance with the provisions of the Clean Water Act, 

as amended, and pursuant to the State Water Control Law and 

regulations adopted pursuant thereto, owners of potable water 

treatment plants are authorized to discharge to surface waters 

within the boundaries of the Commonwealth of Virginia, 

except those specifically named in board regulations that 

prohibit such discharges. 

The authorized discharge shall be in accordance with the 

information submitted with the registration statement, this 

cover page, Part I - Effluent Limitations and, Monitoring 

Requirements, and Special Conditions, and Part II - 

Conditions Applicable To to All VPDES Permits, as set forth 

herein in this general permit. 

PART I  

A. EFFLUENT LIMITATIONS AND MONITORING REQUIREMENTS. 

1. Facilities other than reverse osmosis or nanofiltration plants. 

During the period beginning with the permittee's coverage under this general permit and lasting until the permit's expiration 

date, the permittee is authorized to discharge process wastewater from outfall(s) outfalls: __________ 

Such discharges shall be limited and monitored as specified below: 

EFFLUENT 

CHARACTERISTICS 

EFFLUENT LIMITATIONS MONITORING REQUIREMENTS 

Monthly 

Average 
Minimum 

Maximum 

 
Frequency(1)  Sample Type 

Flow (MGD) NL NA NL 1/3 Months Estimate(2) 

pH (SU)(2)(3) NA 6.0 9.0 1/3 Months Grab 

Total Suspended Solids 

(mg/l) 
30 NA 60 1/3 Months Composite(3)(4) 

Total Residual 

Chlorine(4)(5) (mg/l) 
0.011 NA 0.011 1/3 Months Grab 

NL - No Limitation, monitoring requirement only 

NA - Not applicable 

(1) Reports of quarterly monitoring shall be submitted to the DEQ regional office no later than the 10th day of April, July, October, and 

January.  

(2)Reported estimated flow is to be based on the technical evaluation of the sources contributing to the discharge. 

(2) (3)Where the Water Quality Standards (9VAC25-260) establish alternate standards for pH in waters receiving the discharge, those standards 

shall be the minimum and maximum effluent limitations. 

(3) (4)Composite - For continuous discharges, five grab samples collected at hourly intervals. For batch discharges, five grab samples taken at 

evenly placed intervals until the discharge ceases, or until a minimum of five grab samples have been collected. For [ continuous or ] batch 

discharges, the first grab shall occur within 15 minutes of commencement of the discharge. 

(4) (5) Total residual chlorine limit shall only be applicable [ to facilities that use chlorine in the treatment process if chlorine is present in the 

process wastewater ].  
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PART I  

A. EFFLUENT LIMITATIONS AND MONITORING REQUIREMENTS. 

2. Reverse osmosis and nanofiltration plants. 

During the period beginning with the permittee's coverage under this general permit and lasting until the permit's expiration 

date, the permittee is authorized to discharge process wastewater originating from outfall(s) outfalls: __________ 

Such discharges shall be limited and monitored as specified below: 

EFFLUENT 

CHARACTERISTICS 

EFFLUENT LIMITATIONS MONITORING REQUIREMENTS 

Monthly 

Average 
Minimum Maximum Frequency(1) Sample Type 

Flow (MGD) NL NA NL 1/ Month  Estimate(1) 

pH (SU)(2)  NA 6.0  9.0  1/ Month  Grab 

Total Dissolved Solids (mg/l) NA NA NL  1/ Month  Composite(3)  

Dissolved Oxygen (mg/l)(4)  NA 4.0  NA  1/ Month  Grab 

NL - No limitation, monitoring requirement only 

NA - Not applicable 

(1) Monitoring frequencies shall be reduced to 1/quarter upon written notification from the DEQ regional office. Reports of quarterly 

monitoring shall be submitted to the DEQ regional office no later than the 10th day of April, July, October, and January. 

(1)Reported estimated flow is to be based on the technical evaluation of the sources contributing to the discharge. 

(2)Where the Water Quality Standards (9VAC25-260) establish alternate standards for pH in waters receiving the discharge, those standards 

shall be the minimum and maximum effluent limitations.  

(3)Composite - For continuous discharges, five grab samples collected at hourly intervals. For batch discharges, five grab samples taken at 

evenly placed intervals until the discharge ceases or until a minimum of five grab samples have been collected. For [ continuous or ] batch 

discharges, the first grab shall occur within 15 minutes of commencement of the discharge. 

(4)Where the Water Quality Standards (9VAC25-260) establish alternate standards for dissolved oxygen in waters receiving the discharge, 

those standards shall be the minimum effluent limitations.  

B. Special conditions. 

1. Inspection of the effluent, and maintenance of the 

process wastewater treatment facility, shall be performed 

daily [ when discharging ]. Documentation of the 

inspection and maintenance shall be recorded in an 

operational log. This operational log shall be made 

available for review by the department personnel upon 

request. 

2. No domestic sewage discharges are permitted under this 

general permit. 

3. No chemicals used for water and process wastewater 

treatment, other than those listed on the owner's accepted 

registration statement, are allowed. Prior approval shall be 

obtained from the board before any changes are made to 

the chemical(s) chemicals, in order to assure protection of 

water quality and beneficial uses of the waters receiving 

the discharge. The owner shall indicate whether the 

chemical is likely to enter state waters through the process 

wastewater discharge. 

4. There shall be no discharge of floating solids or visible 

foam in other than trace amounts. 

5. Owners of facilities that are a source of the specified 

pollutant of concern to waters where an approved total 

maximum daily load (TMDL) has been established shall 

implement measures and controls that are consistent with 

the assumptions and requirements of the TMDL. 

6. The permittee shall notify the department as soon as he 

the permittee knows or has reason to believe: 

a. That any activity has occurred or will occur that would 

result in the discharge, on a routine or frequent basis, of 

any toxic pollutant that is not limited in this permit, if 

that discharge will exceed the highest of the following 

notification levels: 

(1) One hundred micrograms per liter; 

(2) Two hundred micrograms per liter for acrolein and 

acrylonitrile; five hundred micrograms per liter for 

2,4-dinitrophenol and for 2-methyl-4,6-dinitrophenol; 

and one milligram per liter for antimony; 
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(3) Five times the maximum concentration value reported 

for that pollutant in the general permit registration 

statement; or 

(4) The level established by the board. 

b. That any activity has occurred or will occur that would 

result in any discharge, on a nonroutine or infrequent 

basis, of a toxic pollutant that is not limited in this 

permit, if that discharge will exceed the highest of the 

following notification levels: 

(1) Five hundred micrograms per liter; 

(2) One milligram per liter for antimony; 

(3) Ten times the maximum concentration value reported 

for that pollutant in the general permit registration 

statement; or 

(4) The level established by the board. 

7. If a board-approved groundwater monitoring plan was 

submitted with the registration statement, the permittee 

shall continue to sample and report in accordance with the 

plan. The approved plan shall be an enforceable part of this 

permit. The board or the owner, with board approval, may 

evaluate the groundwater monitoring data and demonstrate 

that revisions to or the cessation of the groundwater 

monitoring are appropriate. If the department determines 

that monitoring indicates that groundwater is 

contaminated, the permittee shall submit a corrective 

action plan within 60 days of being notified by the regional 

office. The plan shall set forth the steps to ensure the 

contamination source is eliminated or that the contaminant 

plume is contained on the permittee's property. In addition, 

based on the extent of contamination, a risk analysis may 

be required. Once approved, this plan or analysis shall 

become an enforceable part of this permit. 

8. Compliance reporting under Part I A. 

a. The quantification levels (QL) shall be as follows: 

  Effluent Characteristic Quantification Level 

  Chlorine 0.10 mg/l 

  TSS 1.0 mg/l 

b. Reporting. 

(1) Monthly average. Compliance with the monthly 

average limitations and reporting requirements for the 

parameters listed in subdivision 8 a of this subsection 

shall be determined as follows: all concentration data 

below the QL listed above in subdivision 8 a shall be 

treated as zero. All concentration data equal to or above 

the QL listed in subdivision 8 a shall be treated as it is 

reported. An arithmetic average shall be calculated using 

all reported data for the month, including the defined 

zeros. This arithmetic average shall be reported on the 

Discharge Monitoring Report (DMR) as calculated. If all 

data are below the QL, then the average shall be reported 

as "<QL." If reporting for quantity is required on the 

DMR and the calculated concentration is <QL, then 

report "<QL" for the quantity. Otherwise use the 

calculated concentration. 

(2) Daily maximum. Compliance with the daily 

maximum limitations [ and/or or ] reporting requirements 

for the parameters listed in subdivision 8 a above of this 

subsection shall be determined as follows: all 

concentration data below the QL listed in subdivision 8 a 

above shall be treated as zero. All concentration data 

equal to or above the QL shall be treated as reported. An 

arithmetic average shall be calculated using all reported 

data, including the defined zeros, collected within each 

day during the reporting month. The maximum value of 

these daily averages thus determined shall be reported on 

the DMR as the Daily Maximum daily maximum. If all 

data are below the QL, then the average shall be reported 

as "<QL." If reporting for quantity is required on the 

DMR and the calculated concentration is <QL, then 

report "<QL" for the quantity. Otherwise use the 

calculated concentration. 

c. Any single datum required shall be reported as "<QL" 

if it is less than the QL in subdivision 8 a of this 

subsection. Otherwise, the numerical value shall be 

reported. 

d. The permittee shall report at least the same number of 

significant digits as the permit limit for a given 

parameter. Regardless of the rounding convention used 

(i.e., 5 five always rounding up or to the nearest even 

number) by the permittee, the permittee shall use the 

convention consistently, and shall ensure that consulting 

laboratories employed by the permittee use the same 

convention. 

9. Operation and Maintenance Manual Requirement 

maintenance manual requirement. 

a. Within 90 days after the date of coverage under this 

general permit, the permittee shall develop or update an 

Operation and Maintenance (O & M) Manual operation 

and maintenance (O&M) manual for the [ process 

wastewater ] treatment works. The O & M O&M manual 

shall be reviewed within 90 days of changes to the 

treatment system. The O & M O&M manual shall be 

certified in accordance with Part II K of this permit. The 

O & M O&M manual shall be made available for review 

by department personnel upon request.  

b. This manual shall detail the practices and procedures 

that will be followed to ensure compliance with the 

requirements of this permit. Within 30 days of a request 

by the department, the current [ O & M Manual O&M 

manual ] shall be submitted to the board for review and 



Regulations 

Volume 34, Issue 11 Virginia Register of Regulations January 22, 2018 

1119 

approval. The permittee shall operate the [ process 

wastewater ] treatment works in accordance with the O & 

M Manual O&M manual. Noncompliance with the O & 

M Manual O&M manual shall be deemed a violation of 

the permit.  

c. This manual shall include, but not necessarily be 

limited to, the following items, as appropriate: 

(1) Techniques to be employed in the collection, 

preservation, and analysis of effluent samples; 

(2) Discussion of best management practices [ , if 

applicable ]; 

(3) Treatment Process wastewater treatment system 

design, [ treatment system ] operation, routine preventive 

maintenance of units within the [ process wastewater ] 

treatment system, critical spare parts inventory and 

record keeping recordkeeping;  

(4) A plan for the management [ and/or or ] disposal of 

waste solids and residues, which includes a requirement 

to clean settling basins and lagoons (if present at the 

facility) in order to achieve effective treatment and a 

requirement that all solids shall be handled, stored, and 

disposed of so as to prevent a discharge to state waters; 

[ and ]  

(5) Procedures for measuring and recording the duration 

and volume of treated process wastewater discharged [ .; 

and 

(6) Location of the operational log for performing the 

daily inspections of the effluent. The log shall note any 

solids or sheens and if there is no discharge at time of 

inspection. ]  

10. Owners of a facility with a daily maximum flow rate 

greater than or equal to 50,000 gallons per day over three 

consecutive monitoring periods that have not conducted 

whole effluent toxicity (WET) testing to demonstrate there 

is no reasonable potential for toxicity from their discharge 

shall conduct WET testing as described in subdivisions 

[ 10 ] a through e of this subsection. Owners with changes 

in treatment technology or chemical usage that change the 

characteristics of the discharge and with a daily maximum 

flow rate greater than or equal to 50,000 gallons per day 

[ over three consecutive monitoring periods ] shall conduct 

WET testing as described in subdivisions [ 10 ] a through e 

of this subsection. 

a. The WET testing shall consist of a minimum of four 

sets (set = vertebrate and invertebrate) (a set includes 

both vertebrate and invertebrate tests) of acute or chronic 

tests that reflect the current characteristics of the 

[ process wastewater ] treatment plant effluent using the 

following tests and organisms: 

For an 

intermittent or 

batch 

discharger 

48 hour static acute toxicity tests 

Freshwater 

organisms 

Pimephales promelas or 

Oncorhynchus mykiss (for cold 

water) (vertebrates)  

Ceriodaphnia dubia 

(invertebrate) 

Saltwater 

organisms 

Cyprinodon variegates variegatus 

(vertebrate) 

Americamysis bahia 

(invertebrate) 

For continuous discharger 

Freshwater 

7-Day Chronic Static Renewal 

Larval Survival and Growth Test 

with Pimephales promelas 

(vertebrate) 

3-Brood Chronic Static Renewal 

Survival and Reproduction Test 

with Ceriodaphnia dubia 

(invertebrate) 

Saltwater 

7-Day Chronic Static Renewal 

Larval Survival and Growth Test 

with Cyprinodon variegatus 

(vertebrate) 

7-Day Chronic Static Renewal 

Survival, Growth and Fecundity 

Test with Americamysis bahia 

(invertebrate) 

Freshwater organisms are used where the salinity of the 

receiving water is less than 1.0‰ (parts per thousand). 

Where the salinity of the receiving water is greater than 

or equal to 1.0‰ but less than 5.0‰ either freshwater or 

saltwater organisms may be used. Saltwater organisms 

are used where the salinity is greater than or equal to 

5.0‰. There shall be a minimum of 30 days between sets 

of tests, and test procedures shall follow Title 40 of the 

Code of Federal Regulations, Part 136 (40 CFR Part 136) 

40 CFR Part 136, which references the EPA guidance 

manuals for WET testing. 

b. This testing shall be completed, at a minimum, during 

the first year of coverage under the general permit or 

within one year of commencing discharge. 

c. The department will evaluate all representative data 

statistically to see if there is reasonable potential for 

toxicity in the facility discharge. If such reasonable 

potential exists and cannot be eliminated, the owner will 

be notified that he the owner must apply for an individual 
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VPDES permit at next reissuance and a WET limit will 

be included in that individual permit. If the potential 

cause of the toxicity is eliminated during the five-year 

term of this general permit, the owner may conduct 

additional WET testing to demonstrate that there is no 

longer reasonable potential for toxicity and an individual 

permit will not be required at the next reissuance. 

d. If the department determines that no reasonable 

potential for toxicity exists in the facility discharge, no 

further WET testing is required unless changes in 

treatment technology or chemical usage are made at the 

plant that change the characteristics of the discharge. If 

there have been changes to the effluent characteristics, 

then four sets of WET testing, either acute or chronic 

tests as applicable to the current characteristics of the 

[ process wastewater ] treatment plant effluent, must be 

performed to recharacterize the discharge.  

e. Any WET testing data will be submitted with the next 

required discharge monitoring report. 

11. The discharges authorized by this permit shall be 

controlled as necessary to meet applicable water quality 

standards.  

12. Notice of termination.  

a. The owner may terminate coverage under this general 

permit by filing a complete notice of termination with the 

department. The notice of termination may be filed after 

one or more of the following conditions have been met:  

(1) Operations have ceased at the facility and there are no 

longer discharges of process wastewater from the potable 

water treatment plant; 

(2) A new owner has assumed responsibility for the 

facility. A notice of termination does not have to be 

submitted if a VPDES Change of Ownership Agreement 

form has been submitted;  

(3) All discharges associated with this facility have been 

covered by an individual VPDES permit or a VPDES 

general permit; or  

(4) Termination of coverage is being requested for 

another reason, provided the board agrees that coverage 

under this general permit is no longer needed.  

b. The notice of termination shall contain the following 

information:  

(1) Owner's name, mailing address, telephone number, 

and email address (if available);  

(2) Facility name and location;  

(3) VPDES general permit registration number for the 

facility; and 

(4) The basis for submitting the notice of termination, 

including:  

(a) A statement indicating that a new owner has assumed 

responsibility for the facility;  

(b) A statement indicating that operations have ceased at 

the facility and there are no longer discharges from the 

facility;  

(c) A statement indicating that all discharges have been 

covered by an individual VPDES permit; or  

(d) A statement indicating that termination of coverage is 

being requested for another reason (state the reason) and 

a description of the reason.  

c. The following certification: "I certify under penalty of 

law that all process wastewater discharges from the 

identified facility that are authorized by this VPDES 

general permit have been eliminated, or covered under a 

VPDES individual or a VPDES general permit, or that I 

am no longer the owner of the facility, or permit 

coverage should be terminated for another reason listed 

above. I understand that by submitting this notice of 

termination, that I am no longer authorized to discharge 

process wastewater in accordance with the general 

permit, and that discharging pollutants to surface waters 

is unlawful where the discharge is not authorized by a 

VPDES permit. I also understand that the submittal of 

this notice of termination does not release an owner from 

liability for any violations of this permit or the Clean 

Water Act."  

d. The notice of termination shall be submitted to the 

department and signed in accordance with Part II K.  

13. Approval for coverage under this general permit does 

not relieve any owner of the responsibility to comply with 

any other federal, state, or local statute, ordinance, or 

regulation. 

PART II  

CONDITIONS APPLICABLE TO ALL VPDES PERMITS.  

A. Monitoring. 

1. Samples and measurements taken as required by this 

permit shall be representative of the monitored activity. 

2. Monitoring shall be conducted according to procedures 

approved under 40 CFR Part 136 or alternative methods 

approved by the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency, 

unless other procedures have been specified in this permit. 

3. The permittee shall periodically calibrate and perform 

maintenance procedures on all monitoring and analytical 

instrumentation at intervals that will [ insure ensure ] 

accuracy of measurements. 

4. Samples taken as required by this permit shall be 

analyzed in accordance with 1VAC30-45, Certification for 
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Noncommercial Environmental Laboratories, or 1VAC30-

46, Accreditation for Commercial Environmental 

Laboratories. 

B. Records. 

1. Records of monitoring information shall include: 

a. The date, exact place, and time of sampling or 

measurements; 

b. The individual(s) individuals who performed the 

sampling or measurements; 

c. The date(s) dates and time(s) times analyses were 

performed; 

d. The individual(s) individuals who performed the 

analyses; 

e. The analytical techniques or methods used; and 

f. The results of such analyses. 

2. Except for records of monitoring information required 

by this permit related to the permittee's sewage sludge use 

and disposal activities, which shall be retained for a period 

of at least five years, the The permittee shall retain records 

of all monitoring information, including all calibration and 

maintenance records and all original strip chart recordings 

for continuous monitoring instrumentation, copies of all 

reports required by this permit, and records of all data used 

to complete the registration statement for this permit, for a 

period of at least three years from the date of the sample, 

measurement, report or request for coverage. This period 

of retention shall be extended automatically during the 

course of any unresolved litigation regarding the regulated 

activity or regarding control standards applicable to the 

permittee, or as requested by the board. 

C. Reporting monitoring results. 

1. The permittee shall submit the results of the monitoring 

required by this permit not later than the 10th day of the 

month after monitoring takes place, unless another 

reporting schedule is specified elsewhere in this permit. 

Monitoring results shall be submitted to the department's 

regional office. 

2. Monitoring results shall be reported on a discharge 

monitoring report (DMR) DMR or on forms provided, 

approved or specified by the department. 

3. If the permittee monitors any pollutant specifically 

addressed by this permit more frequently than required by 

this permit using test procedures approved under 40 CFR 

Part 136 or using other test procedures approved by the 

U.S. Environmental Protection Agency or using procedures 

specified in this permit, the results of this monitoring shall 

be included in the calculation and reporting of the data 

submitted in the DMR or reporting form specified by the 

department. 

4. Calculations for all limitations that require averaging of 

measurements shall utilize an arithmetic mean unless 

otherwise specified in this permit. 

D. Duty to provide information. The permittee shall furnish 

to the department, within a reasonable time, any information 

that the board may request to determine whether cause exists 

for modifying, revoking and reissuing, or terminating this 

permit or to determine compliance with this permit. The 

board may require the permittee to furnish, upon request, such 

plans, specifications, and other pertinent information as may 

be necessary to determine the effect of the wastes from his the 

permittee's discharge on the quality of state waters, or such 

other information as may be necessary to accomplish the 

purposes of the State Water Control Law. The permittee shall 

also furnish to the department upon request, copies of records 

required to be kept by this permit. 

E. Compliance schedule reports. Reports of compliance or 

noncompliance with, or any progress reports on, interim and 

final requirements contained in any compliance schedule of 

this permit shall be submitted no later than 14 days following 

each schedule date. 

F. Unauthorized discharges. Except in compliance with this 

permit, or another permit issued by the board, it shall be 

unlawful for any person to: 

1. Discharge into state waters sewage, industrial wastes, 

other wastes, or any noxious or deleterious substances; or 

2. Otherwise alter the physical, chemical or biological 

properties of such state waters and make them detrimental 

to the public health, or to animal or aquatic life, or to the 

use of such waters for domestic or industrial consumption, 

or for recreation, or for other uses. 

G. Reports of unauthorized discharges. Any permittee [ who 

that ] discharges or causes or allows a discharge of sewage, 

industrial waste, other wastes or any noxious or deleterious 

substance into or upon state waters in violation of Part II F, or 

[ who that ] discharges or causes or allows a discharge that 

may reasonably be expected to enter state waters in violation 

of Part II F, shall notify the department of the discharge 

immediately upon discovery of the discharge, but in no case 

later than 24 hours after said discovery. A written report of 

the unauthorized discharge shall be submitted to the 

department, within five days of discovery of the discharge. 

The written report shall contain: 

1. A description of the nature and location of the discharge; 

2. The cause of the discharge; 

3. The date on which the discharge occurred; 

4. The length of time that the discharge continued; 

5. The volume of the discharge; 
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6. If the discharge is continuing, how long it is expected to 

continue; 

7. If the discharge is continuing, what the expected total 

volume of the discharge will be; and 

8. Any steps planned or taken to reduce, eliminate and 

prevent a recurrence of the present discharge or any future 

discharges not authorized by this permit. 

Discharges reportable to the department under the 

immediate reporting requirements of other regulations are 

exempted from this requirement. 

H. Reports of unusual or extraordinary discharges. If any 

unusual or extraordinary discharge including a bypass or 

upset should occur from a treatment works and the discharge 

enters or could be expected to enter state waters, the permittee 

shall promptly notify, in no case later than 24 hours, the 

department by telephone after the discovery of the discharge. 

This notification shall provide all available details of the 

incident, including any adverse effects on aquatic life and the 

known number of fish killed. The permittee shall reduce the 

report to writing and shall submit it to the department within 

five days of discovery of the discharge in accordance with 

Part II I [ 2 1 b ]. Unusual and extraordinary discharges 

include but are not limited to any discharge resulting from: 

1. Unusual spillage of materials resulting directly or 

indirectly from processing operations; 

2. Breakdown of processing or accessory equipment; 

3. Failure or taking out of service some or all of the 

treatment works; and 

4. Flooding or other acts of nature. 

I. Reports of noncompliance.   

[ 1. ] The permittee shall report any noncompliance that 

may adversely affect state waters or may endanger public 

health. 

[ 1. a. ] An oral report shall be provided within 24 hours 

from the time the permittee becomes aware of the 

circumstances. The following shall be included as 

information that shall be reported within 24 hours under 

this paragraph subsection: 

[ a. (1) ] Any unanticipated bypass; and 

[ b. (2) ] Any upset that causes a discharge to surface 

waters. 

[ 2. b. ] A written report shall be submitted within five 

days and shall contain: 

[ a. (1) ] A description of the noncompliance and its 

cause; 

[ b. (2) ] The period of noncompliance, including exact 

dates and times, and if the noncompliance has not been 

corrected, the anticipated time it is expected to continue; 

and 

[ c. (3) ] Steps taken or planned to reduce, eliminate, and 

prevent reoccurrence of the noncompliance. 

The board may waive the written report on a case-by-case 

basis for reports of noncompliance under Part II I if the 

oral report has been received within 24 hours and no 

adverse impact on state waters has been reported. 

[ 3. 2. ] The permittee shall report all instances of 

noncompliance not reported under Parts II I 1 [ or 2 ], in 

writing, at the time the next monitoring reports are 

submitted. The reports shall contain the information listed 

in Part II I [ 2 1 b ]. 

NOTE: The immediate (within 24 hours) reports required 

in Parts II G, H and I may be made to the department's 

regional office. Reports may be made by telephone, FAX, 

or online at 

http://www.deq.virginia.gov/Programs/PollutionResponseP

reparedness/MakingaReport.aspx. For reports outside 

normal working hours, a message may be left and this shall 

fulfill the immediate reporting requirement. For 

emergencies, the Virginia Department of Emergency 

Services maintains a 24-hour telephone service at 1-800-

468-8892. 

[ 3. Where the permittee becomes aware that it failed to 

submit any relevant facts in a permit registration statement, 

or submitted incorrect information in a permit registration 

statement or in any report to the department, it shall 

promptly submit such facts or information. ]  

J. Notice of planned changes. 

1. The permittee shall give notice to the department as 

soon as possible of any planned physical alterations or 

additions to the permitted facility. Notice is required only 

when: 

a. The permittee plans alteration or addition to any 

building, structure, facility, or installation from which 

there is or may be a discharge of pollutants, the 

construction of which commenced: 

(1) After promulgation of standards of performance 

under § 306 of the Clean Water Act that are applicable to 

such source; or 

(2) After proposal of standards of performance in 

accordance with § 306 of the Clean Water Act that are 

applicable to such source, but only if the standards are 

promulgated in accordance with § 306 within 120 days of 

their proposal; 

b. The alteration or addition could significantly change 

the nature or increase the quantity of pollutants 

discharged. This notification applies to pollutants that are 

subject neither to effluent limitations nor to notification 

http://www.deq.virginia.gov/Programs/PollutionResponsePreparedness/MakingaReport.aspx
http://www.deq.virginia.gov/Programs/PollutionResponsePreparedness/MakingaReport.aspx


Regulations 

Volume 34, Issue 11 Virginia Register of Regulations January 22, 2018 

1123 

requirements [ specified elsewhere in this permit under 

Part I B 6 ]; or 

c. The alteration or addition results in a significant 

change in the permittee's sludge use or disposal practices, 

and such alteration, addition, or change may justify the 

application of permit conditions that are different from or 

absent in the existing permit, including notification of 

additional use or disposal sites not reported during the 

permit [ application registration ]  process or not reported 

pursuant to an approved land application plan. 

2. The permittee shall give advance notice to the 

department of any planned changes in the permitted facility 

or activity that may result in noncompliance with permit 

requirements. 

K. Signatory requirements. 

1. Registration statement. All registration statements shall 

be signed as follows: 

a. For a corporation: by a responsible corporate officer. 

For the purpose of this section, a responsible corporate 

officer means: (i) a president, secretary, treasurer, or 

vice-president of the corporation in charge of a principal 

business function, or any other person who performs 

similar policy-making or decision-making functions for 

the corporation, or (ii) the manager of one or more 

manufacturing, production, or operating facilities, 

provided the manager is authorized to make management 

decisions that govern the operation of the regulated 

facility including having the explicit or implicit duty of 

making major capital investment recommendations, and 

initiating and directing other comprehensive measures to 

assure long-term environmental compliance with 

environmental laws and regulations; the manager can 

ensure that the necessary systems are established or 

actions taken to gather complete and accurate 

information for permit registration requirements; and 

where authority to sign documents has been assigned or 

delegated to the manager in accordance with corporate 

procedures; 

b. For a partnership or sole proprietorship: by a general 

partner or the proprietor, respectively; or 

c. For a municipality, state, federal, or other public 

agency: by either a principal executive officer or ranking 

elected official. For purposes of this section, a principal 

executive officer of a public agency includes (i) the chief 

executive officer of the agency, or (ii) a senior executive 

officer having responsibility for the overall operations of 

a principal geographic unit of the agency. 

2. Reports, etc and other information. All reports required 

by permits, and other information requested by the board 

shall be signed by a person described in Part II K 1, or by a 

duly authorized representative of that person. A person is a 

duly authorized representative only if: 

a. The authorization is made in writing by a person 

described in Part II K 1; 

b. The authorization specifies either an individual or a 

position having responsibility for the overall operation of 

the regulated facility or activity such as the position of 

plant manager, operator of a well or a well field, 

superintendent, position of equivalent responsibility, or 

an individual or position having overall responsibility for 

environmental matters for the company. (A duly 

authorized representative may thus be either a named 

individual or any individual occupying a named 

position); and 

c. The written authorization is submitted to the 

department. 

3. Changes to authorization. If an authorization under Part 

II K 2 is no longer accurate because a different individual 

or position has responsibility for the overall operation of 

the facility, a new authorization satisfying the requirements 

of Part II K 2 shall be submitted to the department prior to 

or together with any reports, or information to be signed by 

an authorized representative. 

4. Certification. Any person signing a document under 

[ Parts Part ] II K 1 or 2 shall make the following 

certification: 

"I certify under penalty of law that this document and all 

attachments were prepared under my direction or 

supervision in accordance with a system designed to assure 

that qualified personnel properly gather and evaluate the 

information submitted. Based on my inquiry of the person 

or persons who manage the system, or those persons 

directly responsible for gathering the information, the 

information submitted is, to the best of my knowledge and 

belief, true, accurate, and complete. I am aware that there 

are significant penalties for submitting false information, 

including the possibility of fine and imprisonment for 

knowing violations." 

L. Duty to comply. The permittee shall comply with all 

conditions of this permit. Any permit noncompliance 

constitutes a violation of the State Water Control Law and the 

Clean Water Act, except that noncompliance with certain 

provisions of this permit may constitute a violation of the 

State Water Control Law but not the Clean Water Act. Permit 

noncompliance is grounds for enforcement action [ ;, ] for 

permit [ coverage ] termination, [ revocation and reissuance, 

or modification; ] or [ for ] denial of [ a ] permit coverage 

renewal [ application ]. 

The permittee shall comply with effluent standards or 

prohibitions established under § 307(a) of the Clean Water 

Act for toxic pollutants and with standards for sewage sludge 
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use or disposal established under § 405(d) of the Clean Water 

Act within the time provided in the regulations that establish 

these standards or prohibitions or standards for sewage sludge 

use or disposal, even if this permit has not yet been modified 

to incorporate the requirement. 

M. Duty to reapply. If the permittee wishes to continue an 

activity regulated by this permit after the expiration date of 

this permit, the permittee shall submit a new registration 

statement at least 60 days before the expiration date of the 

existing permit, unless permission for a later date has been 

granted by the board. The board shall not grant permission for 

registration statements to be submitted later than the 

expiration date of the existing permit. 

N. Effect of a permit. This permit does not convey any 

property rights in either real or personal property or any 

exclusive privileges, nor does it authorize any injury to 

private property or invasion of personal rights, or any 

infringement of federal, state or local law or regulations. 

O. State law. Nothing in this permit shall be construed to 

preclude the institution of any legal action under, or relieve 

the permittee from any responsibilities, liabilities, or penalties 

established pursuant to any other state law or regulation or 

under authority preserved by § 510 of the Clean Water Act. 

Except as provided in permit conditions on "bypassing" 

(Part II U), and "upset" (Part II V) nothing in this permit shall 

be construed to relieve the permittee from civil and criminal 

penalties for noncompliance. 

P. Oil and hazardous substance liability. Nothing in this 

permit shall be construed to preclude the institution of any 

legal action or relieve the permittee from any responsibilities, 

liabilities, or penalties to which the permittee is or may be 

subject under §§ 62.1-44.34:14 through 62.1-44.34:23 of the 

State Water Control Law. 

Q. Proper operation and maintenance. The permittee shall at 

all times properly operate and maintain all facilities and 

systems of treatment and control (and related appurtenances) 

that are installed or used by the permittee to achieve 

compliance with the conditions of this permit. Proper 

operation and maintenance also includes effective plant 

performance, adequate funding, adequate staffing, and 

adequate laboratory and process controls, including 

appropriate quality assurance procedures. This provision 

requires the operation of back-up or auxiliary facilities or 

similar systems that are installed by the permittee only when 

the operation is necessary to achieve compliance with the 

conditions of this permit. 

R. Disposal of solids or sludges. Solids, sludges or other 

pollutants removed in the course of treatment or management 

of pollutants shall be disposed of in a manner so as to prevent 

any pollutant from such materials from entering state waters. 

S. Duty to mitigate. The permittee shall take all reasonable 

steps to minimize or prevent any discharge or sludge use or 

disposal in violation of this permit that has a reasonable 

likelihood of adversely affecting human health or the 

environment. 

T. Need to halt or reduce activity not a defense. It shall not 

be a defense for a permittee in an enforcement action that it 

would have been necessary to halt or reduce the permitted 

activity in order to maintain compliance with the conditions 

of this permit. 

U. Bypass. 

1. "Bypass" means the intentional diversion of waste 

streams from any portion of a treatment facility. The 

permittee may allow any bypass to occur which does not 

cause effluent limitations to be exceeded, but only if it also 

is for essential maintenance to assure efficient operation. 

These bypasses are not subject to the provisions of [ Parts 

Part ] II U 2 and U 3. 

2. Notice. 

a. Anticipated bypass. If the permittee knows in advance 

of the need for a bypass, prior notice shall be submitted, 

if possible at least 10 days before the date of the bypass. 

b. Unanticipated bypass. The permittee shall submit 

notice of an unanticipated bypass as required in Part II I. 

3. Prohibition of bypass. 

a. Bypass is prohibited, and the board may take 

enforcement action against a permittee for bypass, 

unless: 

(1) Bypass was unavoidable to prevent loss of life, 

personal injury, or severe property damage; 

(2) There were no feasible alternatives to the bypass, 

such as the use of auxiliary treatment facilities, retention 

of untreated wastes, or maintenance during normal 

periods of equipment downtime. This condition is not 

satisfied if adequate back-up equipment should have 

been installed in the exercise of reasonable engineering 

judgment to prevent a bypass that occurred during 

normal periods of equipment downtime or preventive 

maintenance; and 

(3) The permittee submitted notices as required under 

Part II U 2. 

b. The board may approve an anticipated bypass, after 

considering its adverse effects, if the board determines 

that it will meet the three conditions listed above in Part 

II U 3 a. 

V. Upset. 

1. An upset constitutes an affirmative defense to an action 

brought for noncompliance with technology-based permit 

effluent limitations if the requirements of Part II V 2 are 

met. A determination made during administrative review of 
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claims that noncompliance was caused by upset, and 

before an action for noncompliance, is not a final 

administrative action subject to judicial review. 

2. A permittee who wishes to establish the affirmative 

defense of upset shall demonstrate, through properly 

signed, contemporaneous operating logs, or other relevant 

evidence that: 

a. An upset occurred and that the permittee can identify 

the cause(s) causes of the upset; 

b. The permitted facility was at the time being properly 

operated; 

c. The permittee submitted notice of the upset as required 

in Part II I; and 

d. The permittee complied with any remedial measures 

required under Part II S. 

3. In any enforcement preceding the permittee seeking to 

establish the occurrence of an upset has the burden of 

proof. 

W. Inspection and entry. The permittee shall allow the 

director, or an authorized representative, [ including an 

authorized contractor acting as a representative of the 

administrator, ] upon presentation of credentials and other 

documents as may be required by law, to: 

1. Enter upon the permittee's premises where a regulated 

facility or activity is located or conducted, or where 

records must be kept under the conditions of this permit; 

2. Have access to and copy, at reasonable times, any 

records that must be kept under the conditions of this 

permit; 

3. Inspect at reasonable times any facilities, equipment 

(including monitoring and control equipment), practices, or 

operations regulated or required under this permit; and 

4. Sample or monitor at reasonable times, for the purposes 

of assuring permit compliance or as otherwise authorized 

by the Clean Water Act and the State Water Control Law, 

any substances or parameters at any location. 

For purposes of this [ section subsection ], the time for 

inspection shall be deemed reasonable during regular business 

hours, and or whenever the facility is discharging. Nothing 

contained [ herein in this general permit ] shall make an 

inspection unreasonable during an emergency. 

X. Permit actions. Permits Permit coverages may be 

modified, revoked and reissued, or terminated for cause. The 

filing of a request by the permittee for a permit modification, 

revocation and reissuance, or [ termination ], or a notification 

of planned changes or anticipated noncompliance does not 

stay any permit condition. 

Y. Transfer of [ permits permit coverage ]. [ Permits are 

Permit coverage is ] not transferable to any person except 

after notice to the department. 

Coverage under this permit may be automatically transferred 

to a new permittee if: 

1. The current permittee notifies the department at least 

within 30 days in advance of the [ proposed ] transfer of 

the title to the facility or property unless permission for a 

later date has been granted by the board; 

2. The notice includes a written agreement between the 

existing and new permittees containing a specific date for 

transfer of permit responsibility, coverage, and liability 

between them; and 

3. The board does not notify the existing permittee and the 

proposed new permittee of its intent to deny the new 

permittee coverage under the permit. If this notice is not 

received, the transfer is effective on the date specified in 

the agreement mentioned in Part II Y 2. 

Z. Severability. The provisions of this permit are severable, 

and if any provision of this permit or the application of any 

provision of this permit to any circumstance, is held invalid, 

the application of such provision to other circumstances, and 

the remainder of this permit, shall not be affected thereby. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R17-5011; Filed December 28, 2017, 8:07 a.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 12. HEALTH 

STATE BOARD OF HEALTH 

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The State Board of Health is 

claiming an exemption from Article 2 of the Administrative 

Process Act in accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 4 a of the Code 

of Virginia, which excludes regulations that are necessary to 

conform to changes in Virginia statutory law or the 

appropriation act where no agency discretion is involved. The 

State Board of Health will receive, consider, and respond to 

petitions by any interested person at any time with respect to 

reconsideration or revision. 

Title of Regulation: 12VAC5-371. Regulations for the 

Licensure of Nursing Facilities (amending 12VAC5-371-

150).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 32.1-12, 32.1-127, and 32.1-162.12 of 

the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: February 21, 2018.  

Agency Contact: Domica Winstead, Policy Analyst, Office of 

Licensure and Certification, Virginia Department of Health, 

9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 401, Richmond, VA 23233, 
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telephone (804) 367-2157, FAX (804) 527-4502, or email 

domica.winstead@vdh.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

Pursuant to Chapter 462 of the 2017 Acts of Assembly, the 

amendment provides that a nursing facility shall not 

restrict the rights of a nursing home resident's family to 

meet in the facility with the families of other residents of 

the facility. 

12VAC5-371-150. Resident rights. 

A. The nursing facility shall develop and implement policies 

and procedures that ensure resident's rights as defined in 

§§ 32.1-138 and 32.1-138.1 of the Code of Virginia. 

B. The procedures shall: 

1. Not restrict any right a resident has under law; 

2. Provide staff training to implement resident's rights; and 

3. Include grievance procedures. 

C. The name and telephone number of the complaint 

coordinator of the OLC, the Adult Protective Services toll-

free telephone number, and the toll-free telephone number for 

the State Ombudsman shall be conspicuously posted in a 

public place. 

D. Copies of resident rights shall be given to residents upon 

admittance to the facility and made available to residents 

currently in residence, to any guardians, next of kin, or 

sponsoring agency or agencies, and to the public. 

E. The nursing facility shall have a plan to review resident 

rights with each resident annually, or with the responsible 

family member or responsible agent at least annually, and 

have a plan to advise each staff member at least annually. 

F. The nursing facility shall certify, in writing, that it is in 

compliance with the provisions of §§ 32.1-138 and 32.1-

138.1 of the Code of Virginia, relative to resident rights, as a 

condition of license issuance or renewal. 

G. The nursing facility shall register with the Department of 

State Police to receive notice of the registration or 

reregistration of any sex offender within the same or a 

contiguous zip code area in which the facility is located 

pursuant to § 9.1-914 of the Code of Virginia. 

H. Prior to admission, each nursing facility shall determine 

if a potential resident is a registered sex offender when the 

potential resident is anticipated to have a length of stay: 

1. Greater than three days; or 

2. In fact stays longer than three days. 

I. The nursing facility shall not restrict the rights of a 

nursing home resident's family and resident's legal 

representative to meet in the facility with the families and 

legal representatives of other residents of the facility. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R18-5384; Filed December 28, 2017, 11:09 a.m.  

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The State Board of Health is 

claiming an exemption from Article 2 of the Administrative 

Process Act in accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 4 a of the Code 

of Virginia, which excludes regulations that are necessary to 

conform to changes in Virginia statutory law or the 

appropriation act where no agency discretion is involved. The 

State Board of Health will receive, consider, and respond to 

petitions by any interested person at any time with respect to 

reconsideration or revision. 

Title of Regulation: 12VAC5-371. Regulations for the 

Licensure of Nursing Facilities (amending 12VAC5-371-

160).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 32.1-12 and 32.1-127 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

Effective Date: February 21, 2018.  

Agency Contact: Domica Winstead, Policy Analyst, Office of 

Licensure and Certification, Virginia Department of Health, 

9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 401, Richmond, VA 23233, 

telephone (804) 367-2157, FAX (804) 527-4502, or email 

domica.winstead@vdh.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

Pursuant to Chapter 85 of the 2016 Acts of Assembly, the 

amendments require nursing homes to provide a full 

refund of any unexpended patient funds on deposit with the 

facility following the discharge or death of a patient within 

30 days of a written request for such funds by the 

discharged patient or the person administering the 

patient's estate in accordance with the Virginia Small 

Estate Act; the amendment excludes entrance-related fees 

paid to a continuing care provider. 

12VAC5-371-160. Financial controls and resident funds.  

A. All financial records, including resident funds, shall be 

kept according to generally accepted accounting principles 

(GAAP).  

B. Each nursing facility shall maintain liability insurance 

coverage in a minimum of $1 million and professional 

liability coverage in an amount at least equal to the recovery 

limit set forth in § 8.01-581.15 of the Code of Virginia to 

compensate residents or individuals for injuries and losses 

resulting from the negligent or criminal acts of the facility. 

Failure to maintain minimum insurance shall result in 

revocation of the facility's license. 
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C. Nursing facilities choosing to handle resident funds shall:  

1. Comply with § 32.1-138 A 7 of the Code of Virginia 

regarding resident funds;  

2. Purchase a surety bond or otherwise provide assurance 

for the security of all personal funds deposited with the 

facility; and  

3. Provide for separate accounting for resident funds.  

D. In the event the facility is sold, the nursing facility shall 

provide written verification that all resident funds have been 

transferred and shall obtain a signed receipt from the new 

owner. Upon receipt, the new owner shall provide an 

accounting of resident funds.  

E. In the event of a resident's death or discharge with funds 

deposited with the facility, the nursing facility shall, within 

30 days, give a final accounting of those funds to the 

individual administering the resident's estate and, if 

appropriate, refund any moneys due. Each nursing facility 

shall be required to provide a full refund of any unexpended 

patient funds on deposit with the facility following the 

discharge or death of a patient, other than entrance related 

fees, within 30 days of a written request for such funds by the 

discharged patient or, in the case of the death of a patient, the 

person administering the patient's estate in accordance with 

the Virginia Small Estate Act (§ 64.2-600 et seq. of the Code 

of Virginia). 

VA.R. Doc. No. R18-5383; Filed December 28, 2017, 11:10 a.m.  

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The State Board of Health is 

claiming an exemption from Article 2 of the Administrative 

Process Act in accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 4 a of the Code 

of Virginia, which excludes regulations that are necessary to 

conform to changes in Virginia statutory law or the 

appropriation act where no agency discretion is involved. The 

State Board of Health will receive, consider, and respond to 

petitions by any interested person at any time with respect to 

reconsideration or revision. 

Title of Regulation: 12VAC5-410. Regulations for the 

Licensure of Hospitals in Virginia (amending 12VAC5-

410-450).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 32.1-12, 32.1-123, and 32.1-127 of 

the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: February 21, 2018.  

Agency Contact: Domica Winstead, Policy Analyst, Office of 

Licensure and Certification, Virginia Department of Health, 

9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 401, Richmond, VA 23233, 

telephone (804) 367-2157, FAX (804) 527-4502, or email 

domica.winstead@vdh.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

Pursuant to Chapter 175 of the 2017 Acts of Assembly, the 

amendments require that hospitals providing psychiatric 

services establish a written protocol for the refusal to 

admit medically stable patients referred for psychiatric 

care that addresses (i) direct verbal communication 

between the on-call psychiatric physician and the referring 

physician and (ii) prohibits on-call physicians or other 

hospital staff from refusing a request for direct verbal 

communication by a referring physician. 

12VAC5-410-450. Psychiatric service.  

A. The psychiatric service shall be under the supervision of 

a physician, licensed by the Board of Medicine, who meets 

the qualifications of the medical staff bylaws.  

B. Psychiatric units shall conform to the applicable licensure 

requirements pursuant to 12VAC35-105.  

C. Every hospital that provides inpatient psychiatric services 

shall establish written policies for denial of admission of 

medically stable patients in its psychiatric unit. The policies 

shall include language that:  

1. If a medically stable patient is referred to a hospital's 

psychiatric unit and denied admission, the referring 

physician may request direct verbal communication with 

the on-call physician at the referral hospital; and 

2. Prohibits on-call physicians or other hospital staff from 

refusing a request from the referring physician for direct 

verbal communication.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R18-5385; Filed December 28, 2017, 11:05 a.m.  

DEPARTMENT OF MEDICAL ASSISTANCE 
SERVICES 

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Department of Medical 

Assistance Services is claiming an exemption from Article 2 of 

the Administrative Process Act in accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 

4 a of the Code of Virginia, which excludes regulations that are 

necessary to conform to changes in Virginia statutory law where 

no agency discretion is involved. The Department of Medical 

Assistance Services will receive, consider, and respond to 

petitions by any interested person at any time with respect to 

reconsideration or revision. 

Titles of Regulations: 12VAC30-70. Methods and 

Standards for Establishing Payment Rates - Inpatient 

Hospital Services (amending 12VAC30-70-221, 12VAC30-

70-281, 12VAC30-70-291, 12VAC30-70-351, 12VAC30-70-

381). 

12VAC30-80. Methods and Standards for Establishing 

Payment Rates; Other Types of Care (amending 

12VAC30-80-30, 12VAC30-80-36, 12VAC30-80-180, 

12VAC30-80-200). 
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12VAC30-90. Methods and Standards for Establishing 

Payment Rates for Long-Term Care (amending 

12VAC30-90-44, 12VAC30-90-264).  

Statutory Authority: § 32.1-325 of the Code of Virginia; 

42 USC § 1396 et seq. 

Effective Date: February 21, 2018.  

Agency Contact: Emily McClellan, Regulatory Supervisor, 

Policy Division, Department of Medical Assistance Services, 

600 East Broad Street, Suite 1300, Richmond, VA 23219, 

telephone (804) 371-4300, FAX (804) 786-1680, or email 

emily.mcclellan@dmas.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments: 

1. At 12VAC30-70-221 and 12VAC30-70-381, change the 

methodology for cost claims used to rebase weights to a 

methodology that uses per-diems and cost-to-charge 

ratios by cost center for the fee-for-service and managed 

care claims, effective July 1, 2016. In a similar fashion, 

each hospital's total costs by claim using this 

methodology is divided by the total charges for the 

hospital cost-to-charge ratio. 

2. At 12VAC30-70-281 and 12VAC30-70-291, update the 

regulation to indicate that effective July 1, 2017, (i) the 

Department of Medical Assistance Services (DMAS) 

increases the formula for indirect medical education 

(IME) for freestanding children's hospitals with greater 

than 50% Medicaid utilization in 2009 as a substitute for 

disproportionate share hospital (DSH) payments to be 

identical to the formula used for Type One hospitals and 

(ii) supplemental payments shall be made for medical 

residency slots for primary care, high need specialties, 

and underserved areas to the following hospitals for the 

specified number of primary residencies: Sentara Norfolk 

General, Carilion Medical Center, Centra Lynchburg 

Hospital, Riverside Regional Medical Center, and Bon 

Secours St. Francis Medical Center. 

3. At 12VAC30-70-351, reduce state fiscal year (FY) 

2017 inflation by 50% for inpatient hospital operating 

rates, freestanding psychiatric hospitals, graduate 

medical expenses, and DSH. In FY 2018, the inflation 

adjustment is eliminated. 

4. At 12VAC30-80-30, (i) eliminate subdivision A 1 

related to limitations for emergency physician services; 

(ii) at subdivision A 17 b, include information regarding 

how supplemental payments are calculated for Children's 

Hospital of the King's Daughters effective July 1, 2015; 

and (iii) add a new subdivision A 19 regarding 

supplemental payments for services provided by 

physicians at freestanding children's hospitals serving 

children in Planning District 8 (Children's National 

Health System).  

5. At 12VAC30-80-36 B 4 a, add language regarding the 

inflation adjustment to hospital costs, limiting the 

adjustment for inflation to 50% of inflation adjustment 

for state fiscal year 2017 and eliminating inflation in 

state fiscal year 2018. 

6. At 12VAC30-80-180 and 12VAC30-80-200, limit the 

inflation to 50% of inflation for home health and 

outpatient rehabilitation agencies in fiscal year 2018. 

7. At 12VAC30-90-44, update the price for each nursing 

facility peer group and other changes to peer groups. 

8. At 12VAC30-90-264, convert the specialized care rate 

methodology to a fully prospective state fiscal year rate, 

effective July 1, 2016, consistent with the existing cost-

based methodology by adding inflation to the per diem 

costs subject to existing ceilings for direct, indirect, and 

ancillary costs from the most recent settled cost report 

prior to the state fiscal year for which the rates are being 

established. DMAS shall use the state fiscal year 

inflation rate recently adopted for regular nursing 

facilities. Partial year inflation shall be applied to per 

diem costs if the provider fiscal year end is different than 

the state fiscal year. Ceilings shall also be maintained by 

state fiscal year. 

The amendments conform the regulations to Chapter 665 

of the 2015 Acts of Assembly, Chapter 780 of the 2016 

Acts of Assembly, and Chapter 836 of the 2017 Acts of 

Assembly. 

Article 2  

Prospective (DRG-Based) Payment Methodology  

12VAC30-70-221. General. 

A. Effective July 1, 2000, the prospective (DRG-based) 

payment system described in this article shall apply to 

inpatient hospital services provided in enrolled general acute 

care hospitals, rehabilitation hospitals, and freestanding 

psychiatric facilities licensed as hospitals, unless otherwise 

noted.  

B. The following methodologies shall apply under the 

prospective payment system:  

1. As stipulated in 12VAC30-70-231, operating payments 

for DRG cases that are not transfer cases shall be 

determined on the basis of a hospital specific operating rate 

per case times relative weight of the DRG to which the 

case is assigned.  

2. As stipulated in 12VAC30-70-241, operating payments 

for per diem cases shall be determined on the basis of a 

hospital specific operating rate per day times the covered 

days for the case with the exception of payments for per 

diem cases in freestanding psychiatric facilities. Payments 

for per diem cases in freestanding psychiatric facilities 

licensed as hospitals shall be determined on the basis of a 
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hospital specific rate per day that represents an all-

inclusive payment for operating and capital costs.  

3. As stipulated in 12VAC30-70-251, operating payments 

for transfer cases shall be determined as follows: (i) the 

transferring hospital shall receive an operating per diem 

payment, not to exceed the DRG operating payment that 

would have otherwise been made and (ii) the final 

discharging hospital shall receive the full DRG operating 

payment.  

4. As stipulated in 12VAC30-70-261, additional operating 

payments shall be made for outlier cases. These additional 

payments shall be added to the operating payments 

determined in subdivisions 1 and 3 of this subsection.  

5. As stipulated in 12VAC30-70-271, payments for capital 

costs shall be made on an allowable cost basis.  

6. As stipulated in 12VAC30-70-281, payments for direct 

medical education costs of nursing schools and 

paramedical programs shall be made on an allowable cost 

basis. For Type Two hospitals, payment for direct graduate 

medical education (GME) costs for interns and residents 

shall be made quarterly on a prospective basis, subject to 

cost settlement based on the number of full time full-time 

equivalent (FTE) interns and residents as reported on the 

cost report. Effective April 1, 2012, payment for direct 

GME for interns and residents for Type One hospitals shall 

be 100% of allowable costs. 

7. As stipulated in 12VAC30-70-291, payments for 

indirect medical education costs shall be made quarterly on 

a prospective basis.  

8. As stipulated in 12VAC30-70-301, payments to 

hospitals that qualify as disproportionate share hospitals 

shall be made quarterly on a prospective basis.  

C. The terms used in this article shall be defined as provided 

in this subsection:  

"AP-DRG" means all patient diagnosis related groups.  

"APR-DRG" means all patient refined diagnosis related 

groups. 

"Base year" means the state fiscal year for which data is 

used to establish the DRG relative weights, the hospital case-

mix indices, the base year standardized operating costs per 

case, and the base year standardized operating costs per day. 

The base year will change when the DRG payment system is 

rebased and recalibrated. In subsequent rebasings, the 

Commonwealth shall notify affected providers of the base 

year to be used in this calculation.  

"Base year standardized costs per case" means the statewide 

average hospital costs per discharge for DRG cases in the 

base year. The standardization process removes the effects of 

case-mix and regional variations in wages from the claims 

data and places all hospitals on a comparable basis.  

"Base year standardized costs per day" means the statewide 

average hospital costs per day for per diem cases in the base 

year. The standardization process removes the effects of regional 

variations in wages from the claims data and places all hospitals 

on a comparable basis. Base year standardized costs per day 

were calculated separately, but using the same calculation 

methodology, for the different types of per diem cases identified 

in this subsection under the definition of "per diem cases."  

"Cost" means allowable cost as defined in Supplement 3 

(12VAC30-70-10 through 12VAC30-70-130) and by 

Medicare principles of reimbursement.  

"Disproportionate share hospital" means a hospital that meets 

the following criteria:  

1. A Medicaid inpatient utilization rate in excess of 14%, or a 

low-income patient utilization rate exceeding 25% (as defined 

in the Omnibus Budget Reconciliation Act of 1987 and as 

amended by the Medicare Catastrophic Coverage Act of 

1988); and  

2. At least two obstetricians with staff privileges at the 

hospital who have agreed to provide obstetric services to 

individuals entitled to such services under a state Medicaid 

plan. In the case of a hospital located in a rural area (that is, an 

area outside of a Metropolitan Statistical Area as defined by 

the Executive Office of Management and Budget), the term 

"obstetrician" includes any physician with staff privileges at 

the hospital to perform nonemergency obstetric procedures.  

3. Subdivision 2 of this definition does not apply to a hospital:  

a. At which the inpatients are predominantly individuals 

under 18 years of age; or  

b. Which does not offer nonemergency obstetric services as 

of December 21, 1987.  

"DRG" means diagnosis related groups. 

"DRG cases" means medical/surgical medical or surgical 

cases subject to payment on the basis of DRGs. DRG cases 

do not include per diem cases.  

"DRG relative weight" means the average standardized costs 

for cases assigned to that DRG divided by the average 

standardized costs for cases assigned to all DRGs.  

"Groupable cases" means DRG cases having coding data of 

sufficient quality to support DRG assignment.  

"Hospital case-mix index" means the weighted average DRG 

relative weight for all cases occurring at that hospital.  

"Medicaid utilization percentage" or "Medicaid inpatient 

utilization rate" is equal to the hospital's total Medicaid 

inpatient days divided by the hospital's total inpatient days for 

a given hospital fiscal year. The Medicaid utilization 

percentage or Medicaid inpatient utilization rate includes days 

associated with inpatient hospital services provided to 

Medicaid patients but reimbursed by capitated managed care 

providers. This definition includes all paid Medicaid days and 
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nonpaid/denied nonpaid or denied Medicaid days to include 

medically unnecessary days, inappropriate level of care 

service days, and days that exceed any maximum day limits 

(with appropriate documentation). The definition of Medicaid 

days does not include any general assistance, Family Access 

to Medical Insurance Security (FAMIS), State and Local 

Hospitalization (SLH), charity care, low-income care, 

indigent care, uncompensated care, bad debt, or Medicare 

dually eligible days. It does not include days for newborns 

not enrolled in Medicaid during the fiscal year even though 

the mother was Medicaid eligible during the birth. Effective 

July 1, 2014, the definition for Medicaid utilization 

percentage or Medicaid inpatient utilization rate is defined in 

12VAC30-70-301 C. 

"Medicare wage index" and the "Medicare geographic 

adjustment factor" are published annually in the Federal 

Register by the Health Care Financing Administration. The 

indices and factors used in this article shall be those in effect 

in the base year.  

"Operating cost-to-charge ratio" equals the hospital's total 

operating costs, less any applicable operating costs for a 

psychiatric distinct part unit (DPU), divided by the hospital's 

total charges, less any applicable charges for a psychiatric 

DPU. The operating cost-to-charge ratio costs shall be 

calculated using data from cost reports from hospital fiscal 

years by multiplying the per diems and ancillary cost-to-

charge ratios from each hospital's cost ending in the state 

fiscal year used as the base year to the corresponding days 

and ancillary charges by revenue code for each hospital's 

groupable cases.  

"Outlier adjustment factor" means a fixed factor published 

annually in the Federal Register by the Health Care Financing 

Administration. The factor used in this article shall be the one 

in effect in the base year.  

"Outlier cases" means those DRG cases, including transfer 

cases, in which the hospital's adjusted operating cost for the 

case exceeds the hospital's operating outlier threshold for the 

case.  

"Outlier operating fixed loss threshold" means a fixed dollar 

amount applicable to all hospitals that shall be calculated in 

the base year so as to result in an expenditure for outliers 

operating payments equal to 5.1% of total operating payments 

for DRG cases. The threshold shall be updated in subsequent 

years using the same inflation values applied to hospital rates.  

"Per diem cases" means cases subject to per diem payment 

and includes (i) covered psychiatric cases in general acute 

care hospitals and distinct part units (DPUs) of general acute 

care hospitals (hereinafter "acute care psychiatric cases"), (ii) 

covered psychiatric cases in freestanding psychiatric facilities 

licensed as hospitals (hereinafter "freestanding psychiatric 

cases"), and (iii) rehabilitation cases in general acute care 

hospitals and rehabilitation hospitals (hereinafter 

"rehabilitation cases").  

"Psychiatric cases" means cases with a principal diagnosis 

that is a mental disorder as specified in the ICD, as defined in 

12VAC30-95-5. Not all mental disorders are covered. For 

coverage information, see Amount, Duration, and Scope of 

Services, Supplement 1 to Attachment 3.1 A & B (12VAC30-

50-95 through 12VAC30-50-310). The limit of coverage of 

21 days in a 60-day period for the same or similar diagnosis 

shall continue to apply to adult psychiatric cases.  

"Psychiatric operating cost-to-charge ratio" for the 

psychiatric DPU of a general acute care hospital means the 

hospital's operating costs for a psychiatric DPU divided by 

the hospital's charges for a psychiatric DPU. In the base year, 

this ratio shall be calculated as described in the definition of 

"operating cost-to-charge ratio" in this subsection, using data 

from psychiatric DPUs.  

"Readmissions" means when patients are readmitted to the 

same hospital for the same or a similar diagnosis within five 

days of discharge. Such cases shall be considered a 

continuation of the same stay and shall not be treated as new 

cases. Similar diagnoses shall be defined as ICD diagnosis 

codes possessing the same first three digits. As used here, the 

term "ICD" is defined in 12VAC30-95-5.  

"Rehabilitation operating cost-to-charge ratio" for a 

rehabilitation unit or hospital means the provider's operating 

costs divided by the provider's charges. In the base year, this 

ratio shall be calculated as described in the definition of 

"operating cost-to-charge ratio" in this subsection, using data 

from rehabilitation units or hospitals.  

"Statewide average labor portion of operating costs" means 

a fixed percentage applicable to all hospitals. The percentage 

shall be periodically revised using the most recent reliable 

data from the Virginia Health Information (VHI), or its 

successor.  

"Transfer cases" means DRG cases involving patients (i) 

who are transferred from one general acute care hospital to 

another for related care or (ii) who are discharged from one 

general acute care hospital and admitted to another for the 

same or a similar diagnosis within five days of that discharge. 

Similar diagnoses shall be defined as ICD diagnosis codes 

possessing the same first three digits. As used here, the term 

"ICD" is defined in 12VAC30-95-5. 

"Type One hospitals" means those hospitals that were state-

owned teaching hospitals on January 1, 1996.  

"Type Two hospitals" means all other hospitals.  

"Uncompensated care costs" or "UCC" means unreimbursed 

costs incurred by hospitals from serving self-pay, charity, or 

Medicaid patients without regard to disproportionate share 

adjustment payments.  
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"Ungroupable cases" means cases assigned to DRG 469 

(principal diagnosis invalid as discharge diagnosis) and DRG 

470 (ungroupable) as determined by the AP-DRG Grouper. 

Effective October 1, 2014, "ungroupable cases" means cases 

assigned to DRG 955 (ungroupable) and DRG 956 

(ungroupable) as determined by the APR-DRG grouper. 

D. The all patient diagnosis related groups (AP-DRG) 

grouper shall be used in the DRG payment system. Effective 

October 1, 2014, DMAS shall replace the AP-DRG grouper 

with the all patient refined diagnosis related groups (APR-

DRG) grouper for hospital inpatient reimbursement. The 

APR-DRG grouper will produce a DRG as well as a severity 

level ranging from 1 to 4. DMAS shall phase in the APR-

DRG weights by blending in 50% of the full APR-DRG 

weights with 50% of fiscal year (FY) 2014 AP-DRG weights 

for each APR-DRG group and severity level in the first year. 

In the second year, the blend will be 75% of full APR-DRG 

weights and 25% of the FY 2014 AP-DRG weights. Full 

APR-DRG weights shall be used in the third year and 

succeeding years for each APR-DRG group and severity. 

DMAS shall notify hospitals when updating the system to 

later grouper versions. 

E. The primary data sources used in the development of the 

DRG payment methodology were the department's hospital 

computerized claims history file and the cost report file. The 

claims history file captures available claims data from all 

enrolled, cost-reporting general acute care hospitals, 

including Type One hospitals. The cost report file captures 

audited cost and charge data from all enrolled general acute 

care hospitals, including Type One hospitals. The following 

table identifies key data elements that were used to develop 

the DRG payment methodology and that will be used when 

the system is recalibrated and rebased.  

Data Elements for DRG Payment Methodology 

Data Elements Source 

Total charges for each groupable case Claims history file 

Number of groupable cases in each 

DRG Claims history file 

Total number of groupable cases Claims history file 

Total charges for each DRG case Claims history file 

Total number of DRG cases Claims history file 

Total charges for each acute care 

psychiatric case Claims history file 

Total number of acute care psychiatric 

days for each acute care hospital Claims history file 

Total charges for each freestanding 

psychiatric case 

Medicare cost 

reports 

Total number of psychiatric days for 

each freestanding psychiatric hospital 

Medicare cost 

reports 

Total charges for each rehabilitation 

case Claims history file 

Total number of rehabilitation days for 

each acute care and freestanding 

rehabilitation hospital Claims history file 

Operating cost-to-charge ratio for each 

hospital Cost report file 

Operating cost-to-charge ratio for each 

freestanding psychiatric facility 

licensed as a hospital 

Medicare cost 

reports 

Psychiatric operating cost-to-charge 

ratio for the psychiatric DPU of each 

general acute care hospital Cost report file 

Rehabilitation cost-to-charge ratio for 

each rehabilitation unit or hospital Cost report file 

Statewide average labor portion of 

operating costs VHI 

Medicare wage index for each hospital Federal Register 

Medicare geographic adjustment factor 

for each hospital Federal Register 

Outlier operating fixed loss threshold Claims history file 

Outlier adjustment factor Federal Register 

12VAC30-70-281. Payment for direct medical education 

costs of nursing schools, paramedical programs, and 

graduate medical education for interns and residents.  

A. Direct medical education costs of nursing schools and 

paramedical programs shall continue to be paid on an 

allowable cost basis.  

1. Payments for these direct medical education costs shall 

be made in estimated quarterly lump sum amounts and 

settled at the hospital's fiscal year end.  

2. Final payment for these direct medical education 

(DMedEd) costs shall be the sum of the fee-for-service 

DMedEd payment and the managed care DMedEd 

payment. Fee-for-service DMedEd payment is the ratio of 

Medicaid inpatient costs to total allowable costs, times 

total DMedEd costs. Managed care DMedEd payment is 

equal to the managed care days times the ratio of fee-for-

service DMedEd payments to fee-for-service days.  

B. Effective with cost reporting periods beginning on or 

after July 1, 2002, direct graduate medical education (GME) 

costs for interns and residents shall be reimbursed on a per-

resident prospective basis, subject to cost settlement as 

outlined in this subsection except that on or after April 1, 

2012, payment for direct GME for interns and residents for 

Type One hospitals shall be 100% of allowable costs as 

outlined in subsection C of this section.  
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1. The methodology provides for the determination of a 

hospital-specific base period per-resident amount to 

initially be calculated from cost reports with fiscal years 

ending in state fiscal year 1998 or as may be rebased in the 

future and provided to the public in an agency guidance 

document. The per resident per-resident amount for new 

qualifying facilities shall be calculated from the most 

recently settled cost report. This per-resident amount shall 

be calculated by dividing a hospital's Medicaid allowable 

direct GME costs for the base period by its number of 

interns and residents in the base period yielding the base 

amount.  

2. The base amount shall be updated annually by the 

moving average values in the Virginia-Specific Hospital 

Input Price Index as described in 12VAC30-70-351. The 

updated per-resident base amount will then be multiplied 

by the weighted number of full-time equivalent (FTE) 

interns and residents as reported on the annual cost report 

to determine the total Medicaid direct GME amount 

allowable for each year. Payments for direct GME costs 

shall be made in estimated quarterly lump sum amounts 

and settled at the hospital's fiscal year end based on the 

actual number of FTEs reported in the cost reporting 

period. The total Medicaid direct GME allowable amount 

shall be allocated to inpatient and outpatient services based 

on Medicaid's share of costs under each part.  

C. Effective April 1, 2012, Type One hospitals shall be 

reimbursed 100% of Medicaid allowable fee-for-service 

(FFS) and managed care organization (MCO) GME costs for 

interns and residents.  

1. Type One hospitals shall submit annually separate FFS 

and MCO GME cost schedules, approved by the agency, 

using GME per diems and GME ratios of cost to charges 

(RCCs) from the Medicare and Medicaid cost reports and 

FFS and MCO days and charges. Type One hospitals shall 

provide information on managed care days and charges in 

a format similar to FFS. 

2. Interim lump sum GME payments for interns and 

residents shall be made quarterly based on the total cost 

from the most recently audited cost report divided by four 

and will be final settled in the audited cost report for the 

fiscal year end in which the payments are made. 

D. Direct medical education shall not be a reimbursable cost 

in freestanding psychiatric facilities licensed as hospitals.  

E. Effective July 1, 2017, the Department of Medical 

Assistance Services (DMAS) shall make supplemental 

payments to the following hospitals for the specified number 

of primary care residencies: Sentara Norfolk General (two 

residencies), Carilion Medical Center (six residencies), 

Centra Lynchburg General Hospital (one residency), 

Riverside Regional Medical Center (two residencies), and 

Bon Secours St. Francis Medical Center (two residencies). 

DMAS shall make supplemental payments to Carilion 

Medical Center for two psychiatric residencies. The 

supplemental payment for each residency shall be $100,000 

annually minus any Medicare residency payment for which 

the hospital is eligible. Supplemental payments shall be made 

for up to four years for each new qualifying resident. A 

hospital will be eligible for the supplemental payments as 

long as the hospital maintains the number of residency slots 

in total and by category. Payments shall be made quarterly 

following the same schedule for other medical education 

payments. Subsequent to the new award of a supplemental 

payment, the hospital must provide documentation annually 

by August 1, 2017, that it continues to meet the criteria for 

the supplemental payments and must report any changes 

during the year to the number of residents. 

12VAC30-70-291. Payment for indirect medical education 

costs.  

A. Hospitals shall be eligible to receive payments for 

indirect medical education (IME). Out-of-state cost reporting 

hospitals are eligible for this payment only if they have 

Virginia Medicaid utilization in the base year of at least 12% 

of total Medicaid days. These payments recognize the 

increased use of ancillary services associated with the 

educational process and the higher case-mix intensity of 

teaching hospitals. The payments for indirect medical 

education shall be made in estimated quarterly lump sum 

amounts and settled at the hospital's fiscal year end.  

B. Final payment for IME shall be determined as follows:  

1. Type One hospitals shall receive an IME payment equal 

to the hospital's Medicaid operating reimbursement times 

an IME percentage determined as follows (this formula 

also applies to Children's Hospital of the King's Daughters 

effective July 1, 2013):  

IME Percentage for Type One Hospitals = [1.89 X ((1 + 

r)0.405-1)] X (IME Factor)  

An IME factor shall be calculated for each Type One 

hospital and shall equal a factor that, when used in the 

calculation of the IME percentage, shall cause the 

resulting IME payments to equal what the IME payments 

would be with an IME factor of one, plus an amount 

equal to the difference between operating payments using 

the adjustment factor specified in subdivision B 1 of 

12VAC30-70-331 and operating payments using an 

adjustment factor of one in place of the adjustment factor 

specified in subdivision B 1 of 12VAC30-70-331.  

2. Type Two hospitals shall receive an IME payment equal 

to the hospital's Medicaid operating reimbursement times 

an IME percentage determined as follows (excluding 

Children's Hospital of the King's Daughters):  

IME Percentage for Type Two Hospitals = [1.89 X ((1 + 

r)0.405-1)] X 0.5695  



Regulations 

Volume 34, Issue 11 Virginia Register of Regulations January 22, 2018 

1133 

In both equations, r is the ratio of full-time equivalent 

residents to staffed beds, excluding nursery beds. The 

IME payment shall be calculated each year using the 

most recent reliable data regarding the number of full-

time equivalent residents and the number of staffed beds, 

excluding nursery beds.  

C. An additional IME payment shall be made for inpatient 

hospital services provided to Medicaid patients but 

reimbursed by capitated managed care providers.  

1. For Type Two hospitals, this payment shall be equal to 

the hospital's hospital specific operating rate per case, as 

determined in 12VAC30-70-311, times the hospital's HMO 

paid discharges times the hospital's IME percentage, as 

determined in subsection B of this section.  

2. For Type One hospitals, this payment shall be equal to 

the hospital's hospital-specific operating rate per case, as 

determined in 12VAC30-70-311, times the hospital's HMO 

paid discharges times the hospital's IME percentage, as 

determined in subsection B of this section. Effective April 

1, 2012, the operating rate per case used in the formula 

shall be revised to reflect an adjustment factor of one and 

case-mix adjusted by multiplying the operating rate per 

case in this subsection by the weight per case for FFS 

discharges that is determined during rebasing. This formula 

applies to Children's Hospital of the King's Daughters 

effective July 1, 2017. 

D. An additional IME payment not to exceed $200,000 in 

total shall be apportioned among Type Two hospitals, 

excluding freestanding children's hospitals, with Medicaid 

NICU utilization in excess of 50% as reported to the 

Department of Medical Assistance Services as of March 1, 

2004. These payments shall be apportioned based on each 

eligible hospital's percentage of Medicaid NICU patient days 

relative to the total of these days among eligible hospitals as 

reported by March 1, 2004.  

E. An additional IME payment not to exceed $500,000 in 

total shall be apportioned among Type Two hospitals, 

excluding freestanding children's hospitals, with Medicaid 

NICU days in excess of 4,500 as reported to the Department 

of Medical Assistance Services as of March 1, 2005, that do 

not otherwise receive an additional IME payment under 

subsection D of this section. These payments shall be 

apportioned based on each eligible hospital's percentage of 

Medicaid NICU patient days relative to the total of these days 

among eligible hospitals as reported by March 1, 2003.  

F. Effective July 1, 2013, DMAS shall calculate an IME 

factor for Virginia freestanding children's hospitals with 

greater than 50% Medicaid utilization in 2009. Total total 

payments for IME in combination with other payments for 

freestanding children's hospitals with greater than 50% 

Medicaid utilization in 2009 shall not exceed the federal 

uncompensated care cost limit to which disproportionate 

share hospital payments are subject. Effective July 1, 2017, 

IME payments cannot exceed the federal uncompensated care 

cost limit to which disproportionate share hospital payments 

are subject, excluding third-party reimbursement for 

Medicaid eligible patients. 

12VAC30-70-351. Updating rates for inflation.  

A. Each July, the Virginia moving average values as 

compiled and published by Global Insight (or its successor), 

under contract with the department shall be used to update the 

base year standardized operating costs per case, as determined 

in 12VAC30-70-361, and the base year standardized 

operating costs per day, as determined in 12VAC30-70-371, 

to the midpoint of the upcoming state fiscal year. The most 

current table available prior to the effective date of the new 

rates shall be used to inflate base year amounts to the 

upcoming rate year. Thus, corrections made by Global Insight 

(or its successor), in the moving averages that were used to 

update rates for previous state fiscal years shall be 

automatically incorporated into the moving averages that are 

being used to update rates for the upcoming state fiscal year.  

B. The inflation adjustment for hospital operating rates, 

disproportionate share hospitals (DSH) payments, and 

graduate medical education payments shall be 0.0% 

eliminated for fiscal year (FY) 2010. The elimination of the 

inflation adjustments shall not be applicable to rebasing in FY 

2011. 

C. In FY 2011, hospital operating rates shall be rebased; 

however the 2008 base year costs shall only be increased 

2.58% for inflation. For FY 2011 there shall be no inflation 

adjustment for graduate medical education (GME) or 

freestanding psychiatric facility rates. The inflation 

adjustment shall be eliminated for hospital operating rates, 

GME payments, and freestanding psychiatric facility rates for 

FY 2012. The inflation adjustment shall be 2.6% for inpatient 

hospitals, including hospital operating rates, GME payments, 

DSH payments, and freestanding psychiatric facility rates for 

FY 2013, and 0.0% for the same facilities for FY 2014, FY 

2015, and FY 2016. For FY 2017, the inflation adjustment for 

inpatient hospital operating rates, GME, DSH, and 

freestanding psychiatric hospitals shall be 50% of the 

adjustment calculated in subsection A of this section. In FY 

2018, the inflation adjustment for inpatient hospital operating 

rates, GME, DSH, and freestanding psychiatric hospitals shall 

be eliminated for inpatient hospitals. 

12VAC30-70-381. DRG relative weights and hospital case-

mix indices.  

A. For the purposes of calculating DRG relative weights and 

hospital case-mix indices, base year claims data for all 

groupable cases shall be used. Base year claims data for 

ungroupable cases and per diem cases shall not be used. In 

calculating the DRG relative weights, a transfer case shall be 

counted as a fraction of a case based on the ratio of its length 
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of stay to the arithmetic mean length of stay for cases 

assigned to the same DRG as the transfer case.  

B. Using the data elements identified in subsection E of 

12VAC30-70-221, the following methodology shall be used 

to calculate the DRG relative weights:  

1. The operating costs for each groupable case shall be 

calculated by multiplying the hospital's total charges for 

the case by the hospital's operating cost-to-charge ratio, as 

defined in subsection C of 12VAC30-70-221 per diems 

and ancillary cost-to-charge ratios from each hospital's cost 

report ending in the state fiscal year used as the base year 

to the corresponding days and ancillary charges by revenue 

code for each hospital's groupable cases. 

2. The standardized operating costs for each groupable 

case shall be calculated as follows:  

a. The operating costs shall be multiplied by the 

statewide average labor portion of operating costs, 

yielding the labor portion of operating costs. Hence, the 

nonlabor portion of operating costs shall constitute one 

minus the statewide average labor portion of operating 

costs times the operating costs.  

b. The labor portion of operating costs shall be divided 

by the hospital's Medicare wage index, yielding the 

standardized labor portion of operating costs.  

c. The standardized labor portion of operating costs shall 

be added to the nonlabor portion of operating costs, 

yielding the standardized operating costs.  

3. The average standardized cost per DRG shall be 

calculated by dividing the standardized operating costs for 

all groupable cases in the DRG by the number of groupable 

cases classified in the DRG.  

4. The average standardized cost per case shall be 

calculated by dividing the standardized operating costs for 

all groupable cases by the total number of groupable cases.  

5. The average standardized cost per DRG shall be divided 

by the average standardized cost per case to determine the 

DRG relative weight.  

C. Statistical outliers shall be eliminated from the 

calculation of the DRG relative weights. Within each DRG, 

cases shall be eliminated if (i) their standardized costs per 

case are outside of 3.0 standard deviations of the mean of the 

log distribution of the standardized costs per case and (ii) 

their standardized costs per day are outside of 3.0 standard 

deviations of the mean of the log distribution of the 

standardized costs per day. To eliminate a case, both 

conditions must be satisfied.  

D. In calculating the DRG relative weights, a threshold of 

five cases shall be set as the minimum number of cases 

required to calculate a reasonable DRG relative weight. In 

those instances where there are five or fewer cases, the 

department's Medicaid claims data shall be supplemented 

with Medicaid claims data from another state or other 

available sources. The DRG relative weights calculated 

according to this methodology will result in an average case 

weight that is different from the average case weight before 

the supplemental claims data was added. Therefore, the DRG 

relative weights shall be normalized by an adjustment factor 

so that the average case weight after the supplemental claims 

data were added is equal to the average case weight before the 

supplemental claims data were added.  

E. The DRG relative weights shall be used to calculate a 

case-mix index for each hospital. The case-mix index for a 

hospital is calculated by summing, across all DRGs, the 

product of the number of groupable cases in each DRG and 

the relative weight for each DRG and dividing this amount by 

the total number of groupable cases occurring at the hospital.  

12VAC30-80-30. Fee-for-service providers. 

A. Payment for the following services, except for physician 

services, shall be the lower of the state agency fee schedule 

(12VAC30-80-190 has information about the state agency fee 

schedule) or actual charge (charge to the general public): 

1. Physicians' services. Payment for physician services 

shall be the lower of the state agency fee schedule or actual 

charge (charge to the general public). The following 

limitations shall apply to emergency physician services. 

a. Definitions. The following words and terms, when 

used in this subdivision 1 shall have the following 

meanings when applied to emergency services unless the 

context clearly indicates otherwise: 

"All-inclusive" means all emergency service and 

ancillary service charges claimed in association with the 

emergency department visit, with the exception of 

laboratory services. 

"DMAS" means the Department of Medical Assistance 

Services consistent with Chapter 10 (§ 32.1-323 et seq.) 

of Title 32.1 of the Code of Virginia. 

"Emergency physician services" means services that are 

necessary to prevent the death or serious impairment of 

the health of the recipient. The threat to the life or health 

of the recipient necessitates the use of the most 

accessible hospital available that is equipped to furnish 

the services. 

"Recent injury" means an injury that has occurred less 

than 72 hours prior to the emergency department visit. 

b. Scope. DMAS shall differentiate, as determined by the 

attending physician's diagnosis, the kinds of care 

routinely rendered in emergency departments and 

reimburse physicians for nonemergency care rendered in 

emergency departments at a reduced rate. 



Regulations 

Volume 34, Issue 11 Virginia Register of Regulations January 22, 2018 

1135 

(1) DMAS shall reimburse at a reduced and all-inclusive 

reimbursement rate for all physician services rendered in 

emergency departments that DMAS determines are 

nonemergency care. 

(2) Services determined by the attending physician to be 

emergencies shall be reimbursed under the existing 

methodologies and at the existing rates. 

(3) Services determined by the attending physician that 

may be emergencies shall be manually reviewed. If such 

services meet certain criteria, they shall be paid under the 

methodology in subdivision 1 b (2) of this subsection. 

Services not meeting certain criteria shall be paid under 

the methodology in subdivision 1 b (1) of this subsection. 

Such criteria shall include, but not be limited to: 

(a) The initial treatment following a recent obvious 

injury. 

(b) Treatment related to an injury sustained more than 72 

hours prior to the visit with the deterioration of the 

symptoms to the point of requiring medical treatment for 

stabilization. 

(c) The initial treatment for medical emergencies 

including indications of severe chest pain, dyspnea, 

gastrointestinal hemorrhage, spontaneous abortion, loss 

of consciousness, status epilepticus, or other conditions 

considered life threatening. 

(d) A visit in which the recipient's condition requires 

immediate hospital admission or the transfer to another 

facility for further treatment or a visit in which the 

recipient dies. 

(e) Services provided for acute vital sign changes as 

specified in the provider manual. 

(f) Services provided for severe pain when combined 

with one or more of the other guidelines. 

(4) Payment shall be determined based on ICD diagnosis 

codes and necessary supporting documentation. As used 

here, the term "ICD" is defined in 12VAC30-95-5. 

(5) DMAS shall review on an ongoing basis the 

effectiveness of this program in achieving its objectives 

and for its effect on recipients, physicians, and hospitals. 

Program components may be revised subject to achieving 

program intent objectives, the accuracy and effectiveness 

of the ICD code designations, and the impact on 

recipients and providers. As used here, the term "ICD" is 

defined in 12VAC30-95-5. 

2. Dentists' services. 

3. Mental health services including: (i) community mental 

health services, (ii) services of a licensed clinical 

psychologist, (iii) mental health services provided by a 

physician, or (iv) peer support services. 

a. Services provided by licensed clinical psychologists 

shall be reimbursed at 90% of the reimbursement rate for 

psychiatrists. 

b. Services provided by independently enrolled licensed 

clinical social workers, licensed professional counselors 

or licensed clinical nurse specialists-psychiatric shall be 

reimbursed at 75% of the reimbursement rate for licensed 

clinical psychologists. 

4. Podiatry. 

5. Nurse-midwife services. 

6. Durable medical equipment (DME) and supplies. 

Definitions. The following words and terms when used in 

this section shall have the following meanings unless the 

context clearly indicates otherwise: 

"DMERC" means the Durable Medical Equipment 

Regional Carrier rate as published by the Centers for 

Medicare and Medicaid Services at 

http://www.cms.gov/Medicare/Medicare-Fee-for-

Service-Payment/DMEPOSFeeSched/DMEPOS-Fee-

Schedule.html. 

"HCPCS" means the Healthcare Common Procedure 

Coding System, Medicare's National Level II Codes, 

HCPCS 2006 (Eighteenth edition), as published by 

Ingenix, as may be periodically updated. 

a. Obtaining prior authorization shall not guarantee 

Medicaid reimbursement for DME.  

b. The following shall be the reimbursement method used 

for DME services: 

(1) If the DME item has a DMERC rate, the 

reimbursement rate shall be the DMERC rate minus 

10%. For dates of service on or after July 1, 2014, DME 

items subject to the Medicare competitive bidding 

program shall be reimbursed the lower of: 

(a) The current DMERC rate minus 10% or 

(b) The average of the Medicare competitive bid rates in 

Virginia markets.  

(2) For DME items with no DMERC rate, the agency 

shall use the agency fee schedule amount. The 

reimbursement rates for DME and supplies shall be listed 

in the DMAS Medicaid Durable Medical Equipment 

(DME) and Supplies Listing and updated periodically. 

The agency fee schedule shall be available on the agency 

website at www.dmas.virginia.gov. 

(3) If a DME item has no DMERC rate or agency fee 

schedule rate, the reimbursement rate shall be the 

manufacturer's net charge to the provider, less shipping 

and handling, plus 30%. The manufacturer's net charge to 

the provider shall be the cost to the provider minus all 

http://www.cms.gov/Medicare/Medicare-Fee-for-Service-Payment/DMEPOSFeeSched/DMEPOS-Fee-Schedule.html
http://www.cms.gov/Medicare/Medicare-Fee-for-Service-Payment/DMEPOSFeeSched/DMEPOS-Fee-Schedule.html
http://www.cms.gov/Medicare/Medicare-Fee-for-Service-Payment/DMEPOSFeeSched/DMEPOS-Fee-Schedule.html
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available discounts to the provider. Additional 

information specific to how DME providers, including 

manufacturers who are enrolled as providers, establish 

and document their cost or costs for DME codes that do 

not have established rates can be found in the relevant 

agency guidance document.  

c. DMAS shall have the authority to amend the agency 

fee schedule as it deems appropriate and with notice to 

providers. DMAS shall have the authority to determine 

alternate pricing, based on agency research, for any code 

that does not have a rate. 

d. The reimbursement for incontinence supplies shall be 

by selective contract. Pursuant to § 1915(a)(1)(B) of the 

Social Security Act and 42 CFR 431.54(d), the 

Commonwealth assures that adequate services/devices 

services or devices shall be available under such 

arrangements. 

e. Certain durable medical equipment used for 

intravenous therapy and oxygen therapy shall be bundled 

under specified procedure codes and reimbursed as 

determined by the agency. Certain services/durable 

services or durable medical equipment such as service 

maintenance agreements shall be bundled under specified 

procedure codes and reimbursed as determined by the 

agency. 

(1) Intravenous therapies. The DME for a single therapy, 

administered in one day, shall be reimbursed at the 

established service day rate for the bundled durable 

medical equipment and the standard pharmacy payment, 

consistent with the ingredient cost as described in 

12VAC30-80-40, plus the pharmacy service day and 

dispensing fee. Multiple applications of the same therapy 

shall be included in one service day rate of 

reimbursement. Multiple applications of different 

therapies administered in one day shall be reimbursed for 

the bundled durable medical equipment service day rate 

as follows: the most expensive therapy shall be 

reimbursed at 100% of cost; the second and all 

subsequent most expensive therapies shall be reimbursed 

at 50% of cost. Multiple therapies administered in one 

day shall be reimbursed at the pharmacy service day rate 

plus 100% of every active therapeutic ingredient in the 

compound (at the lowest ingredient cost methodology) 

plus the appropriate pharmacy dispensing fee. 

(2) Respiratory therapies. The DME for oxygen therapy 

shall have supplies or components bundled under a 

service day rate based on oxygen liter flow rate or blood 

gas levels. Equipment associated with respiratory therapy 

may have ancillary components bundled with the main 

component for reimbursement. The reimbursement shall 

be a service day per diem rate for rental of equipment or 

a total amount of purchase for the purchase of equipment. 

Such respiratory equipment shall include, but not be 

limited to, oxygen tanks and tubing, ventilators, 

noncontinuous ventilators, and suction machines. 

Ventilators, noncontinuous ventilators, and suction 

machines may be purchased based on the individual 

patient's medical necessity and length of need. 

(3) Service maintenance agreements. Provision shall be 

made for a combination of services, routine maintenance, 

and supplies, to be known as agreements, under a single 

reimbursement code only for equipment that is recipient 

owned. Such bundled agreements shall be reimbursed 

either monthly or in units per year based on the 

individual agreement between the DME provider and 

DMAS. Such bundled agreements may apply to, but not 

necessarily be limited to, either respiratory equipment or 

apnea monitors. 

7. Local health services. 

8. Laboratory services (other than inpatient hospital). The 

agency's rates for clinical laboratory services were set as of 

July 1, 2014, and are effective for services on or after that 

date. 

9. Payments to physicians who handle laboratory 

specimens, but do not perform laboratory analysis (limited 

to payment for handling). 

10. X-ray services. 

11. Optometry services. 

12. Medical supplies and equipment Reserved. 

13. Home health services. Effective June 30, 1991, cost 

reimbursement for home health services is eliminated. A 

rate per visit by discipline shall be established as set forth 

by 12VAC30-80-180. 

14. Physical therapy; occupational therapy; and speech, 

hearing, language disorders services when rendered to 

noninstitutionalized recipients. 

15. Clinic services, as defined under 42 CFR 440.90, 

except for services in ambulatory surgery clinics 

reimbursed under 12VAC30-80-35. 

16. Supplemental payments for services provided by Type 

I physicians. 

a. In addition to payments for physician services 

specified elsewhere in this State Plan chapter, DMAS 

provides supplemental payments to Type I physicians for 

furnished services provided on or after July 2, 2002. A 

Type I physician is a member of a practice group 

organized by or under the control of a state academic 

health system or an academic health system that operates 

under a state authority and includes a hospital, who has 

entered into contractual agreements for the assignment of 

payments in accordance with 42 CFR 447.10. 
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b. Effective July 2, 2002, the supplemental payment 

amount for Type I physician services shall be the 

difference between the Medicaid payments otherwise 

made for Type I physician services and Medicare rates. 

Effective August 13, 2002, the supplemental payment 

amount for Type I physician services shall be the 

difference between the Medicaid payments otherwise 

made for physician services and 143% of Medicare rates. 

Effective January 3, 2012, the supplemental payment 

amount for Type I physician services shall be the 

difference between the Medicaid payments otherwise 

made for physician services and 181% of Medicare rates. 

Effective January 1, 2013, the supplemental payment 

amount for Type I physician services shall be the 

difference between the Medicaid payments otherwise 

made for physician services and 197% of Medicare rates. 

Effective April 8, 2014, the supplemental payment 

amount for Type I physician services shall be the 

difference between the Medicaid payments otherwise 

made for physician services and 201% of Medicare rates. 

c. The methodology for determining the Medicare 

equivalent of the average commercial rate is described in 

12VAC30-80-300. 

d. Supplemental payments shall be made quarterly no 

later than 90 days after the end of the quarter. 

e. Payment will not be made to the extent that the 

payment would duplicate payments based on physician 

costs covered by the supplemental payments. 

17. Supplemental payments for services provided by 

physicians at Virginia freestanding children's hospitals. 

a. In addition to payments for physician services 

specified elsewhere in this State Plan chapter, DMAS 

provides supplemental payments to Virginia freestanding 

children's hospital physicians providing services at 

freestanding children's hospitals with greater than 50% 

Medicaid inpatient utilization in state fiscal year 2009 for 

furnished services provided on or after July 1, 2011. A 

freestanding children's hospital physician is a member of 

a practice group (i) organized by or under control of a 

qualifying Virginia freestanding children's hospital, or 

(ii) who has entered into contractual agreements for 

provision of physician services at the qualifying Virginia 

freestanding children's hospital and that is designated in 

writing by the Virginia freestanding children's hospital as 

a practice plan for the quarter for which the supplemental 

payment is made subject to DMAS approval. The 

freestanding children's hospital physicians also must 

have entered into contractual agreements with the 

practice plan for the assignment of payments in 

accordance with 42 CFR 447.10. 

b. Effective July 1, 2011, the supplemental payment 

amount for freestanding children's hospital physician 

services shall be the difference between the Medicaid 

payments otherwise made for freestanding children's 

hospital physician services and 143% of Medicare rates 

as defined in the supplemental payment calculation 

described in the Medicare equivalent of the average 

commercial rate methodology (see 12VAC30-80-300), 

subject to the following reduction. Final payments shall 

be reduced on a prorated basis so that total payments for 

freestanding children's hospital physician services are 

$400,000 less annually than would be calculated based 

on the formula in the previous sentence. Effective July 1, 

2015, the supplemental payment amount for freestanding 

children's hospital physician services shall be the 

difference between the Medicaid payments otherwise 

made for freestanding children's hospital physician 

services and 178% of Medicare rates as defined in the 

supplemental payment calculation for Type I physician 

services. Payments shall be made quarterly no later than 

90 days after the end of the quarter. The methodology for 

determining the Medicare equivalent of the average 

commercial rate is described in 12VAC30-80-300 on the 

same schedule as Type I physicians. 

18. Supplemental payments for services provided by 

physicians affiliated with publicly funded medical schools 

in Tidewater Eastern Virginia Medical Center.  

a. In addition to payments for physician services 

specified elsewhere in the State Plan this chapter, the 

Department of Medical Assistance Services provides 

supplemental payments to physicians affiliated with 

publicly funded medical schools in Tidewater Eastern 

Virginia Medical Center for furnished services provided 

on or after October 1, 2012. A physician affiliated with a 

publicly funded medical school Eastern Virginia Medical 

Center is a physician who is employed by a publicly 

funded medical school that is a political subdivision of 

the Commonwealth of Virginia, who provides clinical 

services through the faculty practice plan affiliated with 

the publicly funded medical school, and who has entered 

into contractual agreements arrangements for the 

assignment of payments in accordance with 42 CFR 

447.10. 

b. Effective October 1, 2012 2015, the supplemental 

payment amount for services furnished by physicians 

affiliated with publicly funded medical schools in 

Tidewater shall be the difference between the Medicaid 

payments otherwise made for physician services and 

135% 137% of Medicare rates. The methodology for 

determining the Medicare equivalent of the average 

commercial rate is described in 12VAC30-80-300. 

c. Supplemental payments shall be made quarterly, no 

later than 90 days after the end of the quarter. 
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19. Supplemental payments for services provided by 

physicians at freestanding children's hospitals serving 

children in Planning District 8.  

a. In addition to payments for physician services 

specified elsewhere in this chapter, DMAS shall make 

supplemental payments for physicians employed at a 

freestanding children's hospital serving children in 

Planning District 8 with more than 50% Medicaid 

inpatient utilization in fiscal year 2014. This applies to 

physician practices affiliated with Children's National 

Health System. 

b. The supplemental payment amount for qualifying 

physician services shall be the difference between the 

Medicaid payments otherwise made and 178% of 

Medicare rates but no more than $551,000 for all 

qualifying physicians. The methodology for determining 

allowable percent of Medicare rates is based on the 

Medicare equivalent of the average commercial rate 

described in this chapter. 

c. Supplemental payments shall be made quarterly no 

later than 90 days after the end of the quarter. Any 

quarterly payment that would have been due prior to the 

approval date shall be made no later than 90 days after 

the approval date.  

19. 20. Supplemental payments to nonstate government-

owned or operated clinics.  

a. In addition to payments for clinic services specified 

elsewhere in the regulations, DMAS provides 

supplemental payments to qualifying nonstate 

government-owned or government-operated clinics for 

outpatient services provided to Medicaid patients on or 

after July 2, 2002. Clinic means a facility that is not part 

of a hospital but is organized and operated to provide 

medical care to outpatients. Outpatient services include 

those furnished by or under the direction of a physician, 

dentist or other medical professional acting within the 

scope of his license to an eligible individual. Effective 

July 1, 2005, a qualifying clinic is a clinic operated by a 

community services board. The state share for 

supplemental clinic payments will be funded by general 

fund appropriations.  

b. The amount of the supplemental payment made to 

each qualifying nonstate government-owned or 

government-operated clinic is determined by:  

(1) Calculating for each clinic the annual difference 

between the upper payment limit attributed to each clinic 

according to subdivision 19 20 d of this subsection and 

the amount otherwise actually paid for the services by the 

Medicaid program;  

(2) Dividing the difference determined in subdivision 19 

20 b (1) of this subsection for each qualifying clinic by 

the aggregate difference for all such qualifying clinics; 

and  

(3) Multiplying the proportion determined in subdivision 

19 20 b (2) of this subsection by the aggregate upper 

payment limit amount for all such clinics as determined 

in accordance with 42 CFR 447.321 less all payments 

made to such clinics other than under this section.  

c. Payments for furnished services made under this 

section may will be made in one or more installments at 

such times, within the fiscal year or thereafter, as is 

determined by DMAS annually in a lump sum during the 

last quarter of the fiscal year.  

d. To determine the aggregate upper payment limit 

referred to in subdivision 19 20 b (3) of this subsection, 

Medicaid payments to nonstate government-owned or 

government-operated clinics will be divided by the 

"additional factor" whose calculation is described in 

Attachment 4.19-B, Supplement 4 (12VAC30-80-190 B 

2) in regard to the state agency fee schedule for Resource 

Based Relative Value Scale. Medicaid payments will be 

estimated using payments for dates of service from the 

prior fiscal year adjusted for expected claim payments. 

Additional adjustments will be made for any program 

changes in Medicare or Medicaid payments. 

20. 21. Personal assistance services (PAS) for individuals 

enrolled in the Medicaid Buy-In program described in 

12VAC30-60-200. These services are reimbursed in 

accordance with the state agency fee schedule described in 

12VAC30-80-190. The state agency fee schedule is 

published on the DMAS website at 

http://www.dmas.virginia.gov.  

B. Hospice services payments must be no lower than the 

amounts using the same methodology used under Part A of 

Title XVIII, and take into account the room and board 

furnished by the facility, equal to at least 95% of the rate that 

would have been paid by the state under the plan for facility 

services in that facility for that individual. Hospice services 

shall be paid according to the location of the service delivery 

and not the location of the agency's home office. 

12VAC30-80-36. Fee-for-service providers: outpatient 

hospitals.  

A. Definitions. The following words and terms when used in 

this section shall have the following meanings unless the 

context clearly indicates otherwise: 

"Enhanced ambulatory patient group" or "EAPG" means a 

defined group of outpatient procedures, encounters, or 

ancillary services that incorporates International 

Classification of Diseases (ICD) diagnosis codes, Current 

Procedural Terminology (CPT) codes, and Healthcare 

Common Procedure Coding System (HCPCS) codes. 
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"EAPG relative weight" means the expected average costs 

for each EAPG divided by the relative expected average costs 

for visits assigned to all EAPGs. 

"Base year" means the state fiscal year for which data is 

used to establish the EAPG base rate. The base year will 

change when the EAPG payment system is rebased and 

recalibrated. In subsequent rebasings, DMAS shall notify 

affected providers of the base year to be used in this 

calculation.  

"Cost" means the reported cost as described in 12VAC30-

80-20 A and B. 

"Cost-to-charge ratio" equals the hospital's total costs 

divided by the hospital's total charges. The cost-to-charge 

ratio shall be calculated using data from cost reports from 

hospital fiscal years ending in the state fiscal year used as the 

base year.  

"Medicare wage index" means the Medicare wage index 

published annually in the Federal Register by the Centers for 

Medicare and Medicaid Services. The indices used in this 

section shall be those in effect in the base year.  

B. Effective January 1, 2014, the prospective enhanced 

ambulatory patient group (EAPG) based payment system 

described in this subsection shall apply to reimbursement for 

outpatient hospital services (with the exception of laboratory 

services referred to the hospital but not associated with an 

outpatient hospital visit, which will be reimbursed according 

to the laboratory fee schedule). 

1. The payments for outpatient hospital visits shall be 

determined on the basis of a hospital-specific base rate per 

visit multiplied by the relative weight of the EAPG (and 

the payment action) assigned for each of the services 

performed during a hospital visit. 

2. The EAPG relative weights shall be the weights 

determined and published periodically by DMAS and shall 

be consistent with applicable Medicaid reimbursement 

limits and policies. The weights shall be updated at least 

every three years.  

3. The statewide base rate shall be equal to the total costs 

described in this subdivision divided by the wage-adjusted 

sum of the EAPG weights for each facility. The wage-

adjusted sum of the EAPG weights shall equal the sum of 

the EAPG weights multiplied by the labor percentage times 

the hospital's Medicare wage index plus the sum of the 

EAPG weights multiplied by the nonlabor percentage. The 

base rate shall be determined for outpatient hospital 

services at least every three years so that total expenditures 

will equal the following: 

a. When using base years prior to January 1, 2014, for all 

services, excluding all laboratory services and emergency 

services described in subdivision 3 c of this subsection, a 

percentage of costs as reported in the available cost 

reports for the base period for each type of hospital as 

defined in 12VAC30-70-221.  

(1) Type One hospitals. Effective January 1, 2014, 

hospital outpatient operating reimbursement shall be 

calculated at 90.2% of cost, and capital reimbursement 

shall be at 86% of cost inflated to the rate year. 

(2) Type Two hospitals. Effective January 1, 2014, 

hospital outpatient operating and capital reimbursement 

shall be calculated at 76% of cost inflated to the rate 

year. 

When using base years after January 1, 2014, the 

percentages described in subdivision 3 a of this 

subsection shall be adjusted according to subdivision 3 c 

of this subsection. 

b. Laboratory services, excluding laboratory services 

referred to the hospital but not associated with a hospital 

visit, are calculated at the fee schedule in effect for the 

rate year. 

c. Services rendered in emergency departments 

determined to be nonemergencies as prescribed in 

12VAC30-80-20 D 1 b shall be calculated at the 

nonemergency reduced rate reported in the base year for 

base years prior to January 1, 2014. For base years after 

January 1, 2014, the cost percentages in subdivision 3 a 

of this subsection shall be adjusted to reflect services 

paid at the nonemergency reduced rate in the last year 

prior to January 1, 2014. 

4. Inflation adjustment to base year costs. Each July, the 

Virginia moving average values as compiled and published 

by Global Insight (or its successor), under contract with 

DMAS, shall be used to update the base year costs to the 

midpoint of the rate year. The most current table available 

prior to the effective date of the new rates shall be used to 

inflate base year amounts to the upcoming rate year. Thus, 

corrections made by Global Insight (or its successor) in the 

moving averages that were used to update rates for 

previous state fiscal years shall be automatically 

incorporated into the moving averages that are being used 

to update rates for the upcoming state fiscal year. Inflation 

shall be applied to the costs identified in subdivision 3 a of 

this subsection. The inflation adjustment for state fiscal 

year 2017 shall be 50% of the full inflation adjustment 

calculated according to this section. There shall be no 

inflation adjustment for state fiscal year 2018.  

5. Hospital-specific base rate. The hospital-specific base 

rate per case shall be adjusted for geographic variation. 

The hospital-specific base rate shall be equal to the labor 

portion of the statewide base rate multiplied by the 

hospital's Medicare wage index plus the nonlabor 

percentage of the statewide base rate. The labor percentage 

shall be determined at each rebasing based on the most 

recently reliable data. For rural hospitals, the hospital's 
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Medicare wage index used to calculate the base rate shall 

be the Medicare wage index of the nearest metropolitan 

wage area or the effective Medicare wage index, 

whichever is higher. A base rate differential of 5.0% shall 

be established for freestanding Type Two children's 

hospitals. The base rate for non-cost-reporting hospitals 

shall be the average of the hospital-specific base rates of 

in-state Type Two hospitals. 

6. The total payment shall represent the total allowable 

amount for a visit including ancillary services and capital. 

7. The transition from cost-based reimbursement to EAPG 

reimbursement shall be transitioned over a four-year 

period. DMAS shall calculate a cost-based base rate at 

January 1, 2014, and at each rebasing during the transition. 

a. Effective for dates of service on or after January 1, 

2014, DMAS shall calculate the hospital-specific base 

rate as the sum of 75% of the cost-based base rate and 

25% of the EAPG base rate.  

b. Effective for dates of service on or after July 1, 2014, 

DMAS shall calculate the hospital-specific base rate as 

the sum of 50% of the cost-based base rate and 50% of 

the EAPG base rate. 

c. Effective for dates of service on or after July 1, 2015, 

DMAS shall calculate the hospital-specific base rate as 

the sum of 25% of the cost-based base rate and 75% of 

the EAPG base rate. 

d. Effective for dates of service on or after July 1, 2016, 

DMAS shall calculate the hospital-specific base rate as 

the EAPG base rate. 

8. To maintain budget neutrality during the first six years 

of the transition to EAPG reimbursement, DMAS shall 

compare the total reimbursement of hospital claims based 

on the parameters in subdivision 3 of this subsection to 

EAPG reimbursement every six months based on the six 

months of claims ending three months prior to the potential 

adjustment. If the percentage difference between the 

reimbursement target in subdivision 3 of this subsection 

and EAPG reimbursement is greater than 1.0%, plus or 

minus, DMAS shall adjust the statewide base rate by the 

percentage difference the following July 1 or January 1. 

The first possible adjustment would be January 1, 2015, 

using reimbursement between January 1, 2014, and 

October 31, 2014.  

C. The enhanced ambulatory patient group (EAPG) grouper 

version used for outpatient hospital services shall be 

determined by DMAS. Providers or provider representatives 

shall be given notice prior to implementing a new grouper. 

D. The primary data sources used in the development of the 

EAPG payment methodology are the DMAS hospital 

computerized claims history file and the cost report file. The 

claims history file captures available claims data from all 

enrolled, cost-reporting general acute care hospitals. The cost 

report file captures audited cost and charge data from all 

enrolled general acute care hospitals. The following table 

identifies key data elements that are used to develop the 

EAPG payment methodology. DMAS may supplement this 

data with similar data for Medicaid services furnished by 

managed care organizations if DMAS determines that it is 

reliable. 

Data Elements for EAPG Payment Methodology 

Data Elements Source 

Total charges for each 

outpatient hospital visit Claims history file 

Number of groupable 

claims lines in each 

EAPG Claims history file 

Total number of 

groupable claim lines Claims history file 

Total charges for each 

outpatient hospital 

revenue line Claims history file 

Total number of EAPG 

assignments Claims history file 

Cost-to-charge ratio for 

each hospital Cost report file 

Medicare wage index 

for each hospital Federal Register 

12VAC30-80-180. Establishment of rate per visit for home 

health services.  

A. Effective for dates of services on and after July 1, 1991, 

the Department of Medical Assistance Services (DMAS) 

shall reimburse home health agencies (HHAs) at a flat rate 

per visit for each type of service rendered by HHAs (i.e., 

nursing, physical therapy, occupational therapy, speech-

language pathology services, and home health aide services.) 

In addition, supplies left in the home and extraordinary 

transportation costs will be paid at specific rates.  

B. Effective for dates of services on and after July 1, 1993, 

DMAS shall establish a flat rate for each level of service for 

HHAs by peer group. There shall be three peer groups: (i) the 

Department of Health's HHAs, (ii) non-Department of Health 

HHAs whose operating office is located in the Virginia 

portion of the Washington DC-MD-VA metropolitan 

statistical area, and (iii) non-Department of Health HHAs 

whose operating office is located in the rest of Virginia. The 

use of the Health Care Financing Administration (HCFA) 

designation of urban metropolitan statistical areas (MSAs) 

shall be incorporated in determining the appropriate peer 

group for these classifications.  
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The Department of Health's agencies are being placed in a 

separate peer group due to their unique cost characteristics 

(only one consolidated cost report is filed for all Department 

of Health agencies).  

C. Rates shall be calculated as follows:  

1. Each home health agency shall be placed in its 

appropriate peer group.  

2. Department of Health HHAs Medicaid cost per visit 

(exclusive of medical supplies costs) shall be obtained 

from its 1989 cost-settled Medicaid cost report. Non-

Department of Health HHAs Medicaid cost per visit 

(exclusive of medical supplies costs) shall be obtained 

from the 1989 cost-settled Medicaid Cost Reports filed by 

freestanding HHAs. Costs shall be inflated to a common 

point in time (June 30, 1991) by using the percent of 

change in the moving average factor of the Data Resources 

Inc., (DRI), National Forecast Tables for the Home Health 

Agency Market Basket (as published quarterly).  

3. To determine the flat rate per visit effective July 1, 1993, 

the following methodology shall be utilized:  

a. The peer group HHAs per visit rates shall be ranked 

and weighted by the number of Medicaid visits per 

discipline to determine a median rate per visit for each 

peer group at July 1, 1991.  

b. The HHA's peer group median rate per visit for each 

peer group at July 1, 1991, shall be the interim peer 

group rate for calculating the update through January 1, 

1992. The interim peer group rate shall be updated by 

100% of historical inflation from July 1, 1991, through 

December 31, 1992, and shall become the final interim 

peer group rate that shall be updated by 50% of the 

forecasted inflation to the end of December 31, 1993, to 

establish the final peer group rates. The lower of the final 

peer group rates or the Medicare upper limit at January 1, 

1993, will be effective for payments from July 1, 1993, 

through December 1993.  

c. Separate rates shall be provided for the initial 

assessment, follow-up, and comprehensive visits for 

skilled nursing and for the initial assessment and follow-

up visits for physical therapy, occupational therapy, and 

speech therapy. The comprehensive rate shall be 200% of 

the follow-up rate, and the initial assessment rates shall 

be $15 higher than the follow-up rates. The lower of the 

peer group median or Medicare upper limits shall be 

adjusted as appropriate to assure budget neutrality when 

the higher rates for the comprehensive and initial 

assessment visits are calculated.  

4. The fee schedule shall be adjusted annually beginning 

July 1, 2010, based on the percent of change in the moving 

average of the National Forecast Tables for the Home 

Health Agency Market Basket published by Global Insight 

(or its successor) for the second quarter of the calendar 

year in which the fiscal year begins. The report shall be the 

latest published report prior to the fiscal year. The method 

to calculate the annual update shall be:  

a. All subsequent year peer group rates shall be 

calculated utilizing the previous final peer group rate 

established on July 1.  

b. The annual July 1 update shall be compared to the 

Medicare upper limit per visit in effect on each January 

1, and the HHAs shall receive the lower of the annual 

update or the Medicare upper limit per visit as the final 

peer group rate.  

D. Effective July 1, 2009, the previous inflation increase 

effective January 1, 2009, shall be reduced by 50%. 

E. Effective July 1, 2010, through June 30, 2016, there shall 

be no inflation adjustment for home health agencies. Effective 

July 1, 2017, through June 30, 2018, the annual fee schedule 

adjustment for inflation shall be reduced by 50%. 

12VAC30-80-200. Prospective reimbursement for 

rehabilitation agencies or comprehensive outpatient 

rehabilitation facilities. 

A. Rehabilitation agencies or comprehensive outpatient 

rehabilitation facilities. 

1. Effective for dates of service on and after July 1, 2009, 

rehabilitation agencies or comprehensive outpatient 

rehabilitation facilities, excluding those operated by 

community services boards or state agencies, shall be 

reimbursed a prospective rate equal to the lesser of the 

agency's fee schedule amount or billed charges per 

procedure. The agency shall develop a statewide fee 

schedule based on CPT Current Procedural Terminology 

(CPT) codes to reimburse providers what the agency 

estimates they would have been paid in FY 2010 minus 

$371,800.  

2. Effective for dates of service on and after October 1, 

2009, rehabilitation agencies or comprehensive outpatient 

rehabilitation facilities, excluding those operated by state 

agencies shall be reimbursed a prospective rate equal to the 

lesser of the agency's fee schedule amount or billed 

charges per procedure. The agency shall develop a 

statewide fee schedule based on CPT codes to reimburse 

providers what the agency estimates they would have been 

paid in FY 2010 minus $371,800.  

B. Reimbursement for rehabilitation agencies subject to the 

new fee schedule methodology. 

1. Payments for the fiscal year ending or in progress on 

June 30, 2009, shall be settled for private rehabilitation 

agencies based on the previous prospective rate 

methodology and the ceilings in effect for that fiscal year 

as of June 30, 2009. 
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2. Payments for the fiscal year ending or in progress on 

September 30, 2009, shall be settled for community 

services boards based on the previous prospective rate 

methodology and the ceilings in effect for that fiscal year 

as of September 30, 2009.  

C. Beginning with state fiscal years beginning on or after 

July 1, 2010, rates shall be adjusted annually for inflation 

using the Virginia-specific nursing home input price index 

contracted for by the agency. The agency shall use the percent 

moving average for the quarter ending at the midpoint of the 

rate year from the most recently available index prior to the 

beginning of the rate year. 

D. Reimbursement for physical therapy, occupational 

therapy, and speech-language therapy services shall not be 

provided for any sums that the rehabilitation provider 

collects, or is entitled to collect, from the nursing facility or 

any other available source, and provided further, that this 

subsection shall in no way diminish any obligation of the 

nursing facility to DMAS to provide its residents such 

services, as set forth in any applicable provider agreement. 

E. Effective July 1, 2010, through June 30, 2016, there will 

be no inflation adjustment for outpatient rehabilitation 

facilities. Effective July 1, 2017, through June 30, 2018, 

outpatient rehabilitation facilities will receive a rate 

adjustment equal to 50% of inflation as calculated in 

subsection C of this section. 

12VAC30-90-44. Nursing facility price-based 

reimbursement methodology.  

A. Effective July 1, 2014, DMAS shall convert nursing 

facility operating rates in 12VAC30-90-41 to a price-based 

methodology. The department shall calculate prospective 

operating rates for direct and indirect costs in the following 

manner: 

1. The department shall calculate the cost per day in the 

base year for direct and indirect operating costs for each 

nursing facility. The department shall use existing 

definitions of direct and indirect costs. 

2. The initial base year for calculating the cost per day 

shall be cost reports ending in calendar year 2011. The 

department shall rebase prices in fiscal year 2018 and 

every three years thereafter using the most recent, reliable 

calendar year cost-settled cost reports for freestanding 

nursing facilities that have been completed as of September 

1. No adjustments will be made to the base year data for 

purposes of rate setting after that date. 

3. Each nursing facility's direct cost per day shall be 

neutralized by dividing the direct cost per day by the raw 

Medicaid facility case-mix that corresponds to the base 

year by facility. 

4. Costs per day shall be inflated to the midpoint of the 

fiscal year rate period using the moving average Virginia 

Nursing Home inflation index for the fourth quarter of 

each year (the midpoint of the fiscal year). Costs in the 

2011 base year shall be inflated from the midpoint of the 

cost report year to the midpoint of fiscal year 2012 by 

prorating fiscal year 2012 inflation and annual inflation 

after that. Annual inflation adjustments shall be based on 

the last available report prior to the beginning of the fiscal 

year and corrected for any revisions to prior year inflation. 

Effective July 1, 2015, through June 30, 2016, the inflation 

adjustment for nursing facility operating rates shall be 

0.0%. 

5. Prices will be established for the peer groups described 

in this section using a combination of Medicare wage 

regions and Medicaid rural and bed size modifications 

based on similar costs. 

6. The following definitions shall apply to direct peer 

groups. The Northern Virginia peer group shall be defined 

as localities in the Washington DC-MD-VA MSA as 

published by the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid 

Services (CMS) for skilled nursing facility rates. The Other 

MSA MSAs peer group includes localities in any MSA 

defined by CMS other than the Northern Virginia MSA 

and non-MSA designations. The Rural peer groups are 

non-MSA areas of the state divided into Northern Rural 

and Southern Rural peer groups based on drawing a line 

between the following points on the Commonwealth of 

Virginia map with the coordinates: 37.4203914 Latitude, 

82.0201219 Longitude and 37.1223664 Latitude, 

76.3457773 Longitude. Direct peer groups are: 

a. Northern Virginia,  

b. Other MSAs, 

c. Northern Rural, and 

d. Southern Rural. 

7. The following definitions shall apply to indirect peer 

groups. The indirect peer group for Northern Virginia is 

the same as the direct peer group for Northern Virginia. 

Rest of State peer groups shall be defined as any localities 

other than localities in the Northern Virginia peer group for 

nursing facilities with greater than 60 beds or 60 beds or 

less. Rest of State - Greater than 60 Beds shall be further 

subdivided into Other MSA MSAs, Northern Rural and 

Southern Rural peer groups using the locality definitions 

for direct peer groups. Indirect peer groups are:  

a. Northern Virginia MSA, 

b. Rest of State - Greater than 60 Beds, 

c. Other MSAs, 

d. Northern Rural, and 

e. Southern Rural. 

Rest of State - 60 Beds or Less. 
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8. Any changes to peer group assignment based on changes 

in bed size or MSA will be implemented for 

reimbursement purposes the July 1 following the effective 

date of the change. For rebasings effective on or after July 

1, 2020, the department shall move nursing facilities 

located in the former Danville Metropolitan Statistical 

Area to the Other MSAs peer group. 

9. The direct and indirect price for each peer group shall be 

based on the following adjustment factors: 

a. Direct adjustment factor - 105.000% of the peer group 

day-weighted median neutralized and inflated cost per 

day for freestanding nursing facilities. Effective July 1, 

2017, the direct adjustment factor shall be 106.8% of the 

peer group day-weighted median neutralized and inflated 

cost per day for freestanding nursing facilities. 

b. Indirect adjustment factor - 100.735% of the peer 

group day-weighted median inflated cost per day for 

freestanding nursing facilities. Effective July 1, 2017, the 

indirect adjustment factor shall be 101.3% of the peer 

group day-weighted median inflated cost per day for 

freestanding nursing facilities. 

10. Facilities with costs projected to the rate year below 

95% of the price shall have an adjusted price equal to the 

price minus the difference between the facility's cost and 

95% of the unadjusted price. Adjusted prices will be 

established at each rebasing. New facilities after the base 

year shall not have an adjusted price until the next 

rebasing.  

11. Special circumstances. 

a. Effective July 1, 2017, the department shall increase 

the direct and indirect operating rates under the nursing 

facility price based reimbursement methodology by 15% 

for nursing facilities where at least 80% of the resident 

population has one or more of the following diagnoses: 

quadriplegia, traumatic brain injury, multiple sclerosis, 

paraplegia, or cerebral palsy. In addition, a qualifying 

facility must have at least 90% Medicaid utilization and a 

nursing facility case-mix index of 1.15 or higher in fiscal 

year 2014. 

b. Effective July 1, 2017, through June 30, 2020, nursing 

facilities located in the former Danville Metropolitan 

Statistical Area shall be paid the operating rates 

calculated for the Other MSAs peer group. 

11. 12. Individual claim payment for direct costs shall be 

based on each resident's Resource Utilization Group 

(RUG) during the service period times the facility direct 

price. 

12. 13. Resource Utilization Group (RUG) is a resident 

classification system that groups nursing facility residents 

according to resource utilization and assigns weights 

related to the resource utilization for each classification. 

The department shall use RUGs to determine facility case-

mix for cost neutralization as defined in 12VAC30-90-306 

in determining the direct costs used in setting the price and 

for adjusting the claim payments for residents.  

a. The department shall neutralize direct costs per day in 

the base year using the most current RUG grouper 

applicable to the base year. 

b. The department shall utilize RUG-III, version 34 

groups and weights in fiscal years 2015 through 2017 for 

claim payments. 

c. Beginning in fiscal year 2018, the department shall 

implement RUG-IV, version 48 Medicaid groups and 

weights for claim payments. 

d. RUG-IV, version 48 weights used for claim payments 

will be normalized to RUG-III, version 34 weights as 

long as base year costs are neutralized by the RUG-III 34 

group. In that the weights are not the same under RUG-

IV as under RUG-III, normalization will ensure that total 

direct operating payments using the RUG-IV 48 weights 

will be the same as total direct operating payments using 

the RUG-III 34 grouper. 

B. Transition. The department shall transition to the price-

based methodology over a period of four years, blending the 

adjusted price-based rate with the facility-specific case-mix 

neutral cost-based rate calculated according to 12VAC30-90-

41 as if ceilings had been rebased for fiscal year 2015. The 

cost-based rates are calculated using the 2011 base year data, 

inflated to 2015 using the inflation methodology in 

12VAC30-90-41 and adjusted to state fiscal year 2015. In 

subsequent years of the transition, the cost-based rates shall 

be increased by inflation described in this section. 

1. Based on a four-year transition, the rate will be based on 

the following blend: 

a. Fiscal year 2015 - 25% of the adjusted price-based rate 

and 75% of the cost-based rate. 

b. Fiscal year 2016 - 50% of the adjusted price-based rate 

and 50% of the cost-based rate. 

c. Fiscal year 2017 - 75% of the adjusted price-based rate 

and 25% of the cost-based rate. 

d. Fiscal year 2018 - 100% of the adjusted price-based 

(fully implemented). 

2. During the first transition year for the period July 1, 

2014, through October 31, 2014, DMAS shall case-mix 

adjust each facility's direct cost component of the rates 

using the average facility case-mix from the two most 

recent finalized quarters (September and December 2013) 

instead of adjusting this component claim by claim. 

3. Cost-based rates to be used in the transition for facilities 

without cost data in the base year but placed in service 
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prior to July 1, 2013, shall be determined based on the 

most recently settled cost data. If there is no settled cost 

report at the beginning of a fiscal year, then 100% of the 

price-based rate shall be used for that fiscal year. Facilities 

placed in service after June 30, 2013, shall be paid 100% 

of the price-based rate. 

4. Effective July 1, 2015, nursing facilities whose licensed 

bed capacity decreased by at least 30 beds after 2011 and 

whose occupancy increased from less than 70% in 2011 to 

more than 80% in 2013 shall be reimbursed the price-based 

operating rate rather than the transition operating rate. 

C. Prospective capital rates shall be calculated in the 

following manner: 

1. Fair rental value (FRV) per diem rates for the fiscal year 

shall be calculated for all freestanding nursing facilities 

based on the prior calendar year information aged to the 

fiscal year and using RS Means factors and rental rates 

corresponding to the fiscal year as prescribed in 12VAC30-

90-36. There will be no separate calculation for beds 

subject to or not subject to transition. 

2. Nursing facilities that put into service a major 

renovation or new beds may request a mid-year fair rental 

value per diem rate change.  

a. A major renovation shall be defined as an increase in 

capital of $3,000 per bed. The nursing facility shall 

submit complete pro forma documentation at least 60 

days prior to the effective date, and the new rate shall be 

effective at the beginning of the month following the end 

of the 60 days. 

b. The provider shall submit final documentation within 

60 days of the new rate effective date, and the 

department shall review final documentation and modify 

the rate if necessary effective 90 days after the 

implementation of the new rate. No mid-year rate 

changes shall be made for an effective date after April 30 

of the fiscal year. 

3. These FRV changes shall also apply to specialized care 

facilities. 

4. The capital per diem rate for hospital-based nursing 

facilities shall be the last settled capital per diem. 

Subpart XVII  

Specialized Care Services  

12VAC30-90-264. Specialized care services.  

Specialized care services provided in conformance with 

12VAC30-60-40 E and H, 12VAC30-60-320, and 12VAC30-

60-340 shall be reimbursed under the following methodology. 

The nursing facilities that provide adult specialized care for 

the categories of Ventilator Dependent Care, will be placed in 

one group for rate determination. The nursing facilities that 

provide pediatric specialized care in a dedicated pediatric unit 

of eight beds or more will be placed in a second group for rate 

determination.  

1. Routine operating cost. Routine operating cost shall be 

defined as in 12VAC30-90-271 and 12VAC30-90-272. To 

calculate the routine operating cost reimbursement rate, 

routine operating cost shall be converted to a per diem 

amount by dividing it by actual patient days. Effective July 

1, 2016, the base year for routine operating cost shall be 

the most recently settled cost reports with a fiscal year 

ending in a calendar year for all specialized care facilities 

as of the end of the calendar year prior to the prospective 

rate year. 

2. Allowable cost identification and cost reimbursement 

limitations. The provisions of Article 5 (12VAC30-90-50 

et seq.) of Subpart II of Part II of this chapter and of 

Appendix III (12VAC30-90-290) of Part III of this chapter 

shall apply to specialized care cost and reimbursement.  

3. Routine operating cost rates. Each facility shall be 

reimbursed a prospective rate for routine operating costs. 

This rate will be the lesser of the facility-specific 

prospective routine operating ceiling, or the facility-

specific prospective routine operating cost per day plus an 

efficiency incentive. This efficiency incentive shall be 

calculated by the same method as in 12VAC30-90-41.  

4. Facility-specific prospective routine operating ceiling. 

Each nursing facility's prospective routine operating 

ceiling shall be calculated as:  

a. Statewide ceiling. The statewide routine operating 

ceiling shall be $415 as of July 1, 2002. This routine 

operating ceiling amount shall be adjusted for inflation 

based on 12VAC30-90-41. Effective July 1, 2016, the 

routine operating ceiling shall be $573.09 as of state 

fiscal year 2015 and shall be adjusted for inflation based 

on 12VAC-30-90-44 to the upcoming state fiscal year, 

the prospective rate year. 

b. The portion of the statewide routine operating ceiling 

relating to nursing salaries (as determined by the 1994 

audited cost report data, or 67.22%) will be wage 

adjusted using a normalized wage index. The normalized 

wage index shall be the wage index applicable to the 

individual provider's geographic location under Medicare 

rules of reimbursement for skilled nursing facilities, 

divided by the statewide average of such wage indices 

across the state. This normalization of wage indices shall 

be updated January 1, after each time the CMS publishes 

wage indices for skilled nursing facilities. Updated 

normalization shall be effective for fiscal years starting 

on and after the January 1 for which the normalization is 

calculated. Effective July 1, 2016, the normalized wage 

index for the federal fiscal year following the base year 

shall be applied to the state fiscal year ceiling. 
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5. Facility-specific prospective routine operating base cost 

per day. The facility-specific routine operating cost per day 

to be used in the calculation of the routine operating rate 

and the efficiency incentive shall be the actual routine cost 

per day from the most recent fiscal year's cost report, 

adjusted for inflation based on 12VAC30-90-41. Effective 

July 1, 2016, the routine operating base cost per day in 

subdivision 1 of this subsection shall be adjusted for 

inflation based on 12VAC30-90-44 to the upcoming state 

fiscal year, the prospective rate year.  

6. Interim rates. Interim rates, for processing claims during 

the year, shall be calculated from the most recent settled 

cost report available at the time the interim rates must be 

set, except that failure to submit a cost report timely may 

result in adjustment to interim rates as provided elsewhere. 

Effective July 1, 2016, this subdivision is no longer 

applicable. 

7. Ancillary costs. Specialized care ancillary costs will be 

paid on a pass-through basis for those Medicaid specialized 

care patients who do not have Medicare or any other 

sufficient third-party insurance coverage. Ancillary costs 

will be reimbursed as follows:  

a. All covered ancillary services, except kinetic therapy 

devices, will be reimbursed for reasonable costs as 

defined in the current NHPS. Effective for specialized 

care days on or after January 15, 2007, reimbursement 

for reasonable costs shall be subject to a ceiling. The 

ceiling shall be $238.81 per day for calendar year 2004 

(150% of average costs) and shall be inflated to the 

appropriate provider fiscal year. For cost report years 

beginning in each calendar year, ancillary ceilings will be 

inflated based on 12VAC30-90-41. See 12VAC30-90-

290 for the cost reimbursement limitations. Effective July 

1, 2016, the ancillary ceiling of $300.38 in state fiscal 

year 2015, inclusive of kinetic therapy devices, shall be 

adjusted for inflation to the prospective rate year based 

on 12VAC30-90-44. 

b. Kinetic therapy devices will have a limit per day 

(based on 1994 audited cost report data inflated to the 

rate period). See 12VAC30-90-290 for the cost 

reimbursement limitations.  

c. Kinetic therapy devices will be reimbursed only if a 

resident is being treated for wounds that meet the 

following wound care criteria. Residents receiving this 

wound care must require kinetic bed therapy (that is, low 

air loss mattresses, fluidized beds, and/or rotating/turning 

beds or rotating or turning beds) and require treatment 

for a grade (stage) IV decubitus, a large surgical wound 

that cannot be closed, or second to third degree burns 

covering more than 10% of the body.  

8. Covered ancillary services are defined as follows: 

laboratory, X-ray, medical supplies (e.g., infusion pumps, 

incontinence supplies), physical therapy, occupational 

therapy, speech therapy, inhalation therapy, IV therapy, 

enteral feedings, and kinetic therapy. The following are not 

specialized care ancillary services and are excluded from 

specialized care reimbursement: physician services, 

psychologist services, total parenteral nutrition (TPN), and 

drugs. These services must be separately billed to DMAS. 

An interim rate for the covered ancillary services will be 

determined (using data from the most recent settled cost 

report) by dividing allowable ancillary costs by the number 

of patient days for the same cost reporting period. The 

interim rate will be retroactively cost settled based on the 

specialized care nursing facility cost reporting period.  

9. Capital costs. Effective July 1, 2001 2016, capital cost 

reimbursement rate shall be based on subsection C of 

12VAC30-90-44 in accordance with 12VAC30-90-35 

through, 12VAC30-90-36, and 12VAC30-90-37, except 

that the required occupancy percentage shall not be 

separately applied to specialized care. Capital cost related 

to specialized care patients will be cost settled on the 

respective nursing facility's cost reporting period. In this 

cost settlement, the required occupancy percentage shall be 

applied to all the nursing facility's licensed nursing facility 

beds, inclusive of specialized care. To determine the 

capital cost related to specialized care patients, the 

following calculation shall be applied.  

a. Licensed beds, including specialized care beds, 

multiplied by days in the cost reporting period, shall 

equal available days. 

b. The required occupancy days shall equal the required 

occupancy percentage multiplied by available days. 

c. The required occupancy days minus actual resident 

days, including specialized care days, shall equal the 

shortfall of days. If the shortfall of days is negative, the 

shortfall of days shall be zero. 

d. Actual resident days, not including specialized care 

days, plus the shortfall of days shall equal the minimum 

number of days to be used to calculate the capital cost 

per day.  

10. Nurse aide training and competency evaluation 

programs and competency evaluation programs (NATCEP) 

costs. NATCEP costs will be paid on a pass-through basis 

in accordance with the current NHPS. Effective July 1, 

2016, NATCEP costs shall be paid on a prospective basis 

in accordance with 12VAC30-90-170. 

11. Pediatric routine operating cost rate. For pediatric 

specialized care in a distinct part pediatric specialized care 

unit, one routine operating cost ceiling will be developed. 

The routine operating cost ceiling will be $418 as of July 1, 

2002. Effective July 1, 2016, the pediatric routine 

operating cost ceiling shall be $577.24. 
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a. The statewide operating ceiling shall be adjusted for 

each nursing facility in the same manner as described in 

subdivision 4 of this section.  

b. The final routine operating cost reimbursement rate 

shall be computed as described for other than pediatric 

units in subdivision 3 of this section.  

12. Pediatric unit capital cost. Pediatric unit capital costs 

will be reimbursed in accordance with the current NHPS 

subdivision 9 of this section, except that the occupancy 

requirement shall be 70% rather than the required 

occupancy percentage.   

13. The cost reporting requirements of 12VAC30-90-70 

and 12VAC30-90-80 shall apply to specialized care 

providers.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R18-5178; Filed December 28, 2017, 2:43 p.m.  

STATE BOARD OF BEHAVIORAL HEALTH AND 
DEVELOPMENTAL SERVICES 

Fast-Track Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 12VAC35-12. Public Participation 

Guidelines (amending 12VAC35-12-50; adding 12VAC35-

12-45).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 2.2-4007-02 and 37.2-203 of the 

Code of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearings are 

scheduled.  

Public Comment Deadline: February 21, 2018. 

Effective Date: March 8, 2018.  

Agency Contact: Ruth Anne Walker, Regulatory Coordinator, 

Department of Behavioral Health and Developmental 

Services, Jefferson Building, 1220 Bank Street, 11th Floor, 

Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 225-2252, FAX (804) 

786-8623, or email ruthanne.walker@dbhds.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Section 37.2-203 of the Code of Virginia authorizes 

the State Board of Behavioral Health and Developmental 

Services to adopt regulations that may be necessary to carry 

out the provisions of Title 37.2 of the Code of Virginia and 

other laws of the Commonwealth administered by the 

commissioner and the Department of Behavioral Health and 

Developmental Services (DBHDS). 

Purpose: This action is the result of a periodic review. No 

comments were received during the review. Public 

participation guidelines exist to promote public involvement 

in the development, amendment, or repeal of state regulations 

to protect the public health and safety. DBHDS is responsible 

for the direct care of individuals in its facilities and provides 

oversight for the state's publicly funded behavioral health and 

developmental services system. This regulatory action will 

align the regulation in three places with the Code of Virginia 

and thus facilitate citizen involvement in the regulations of 

the state board and DBHDS. 

Rationale for Using Fast-Track Rulemaking Process: No 

comments were received during the periodic review. 

Executive Order 17 (2014) allows state agencies to use a fast-

track rulemaking process pursuant to § 2.2-4012.1 of the 

Code of Virginia to expedite regulatory changes that are 

expected to be noncontroversial. This regulatory action 

reflects opportunities for citizen input into the regulatory 

process, as already established in the Code of Virginia. 

Therefore, no controversy is anticipated. 

Substance: The amendments:  

• Adopt 12VAC35-12-45, in accordance with Chapter 599 

of the 2017 Acts of Assembly, so that DBHDS shall notify 

affected providers (i) when new or final regulations are 

posted on the Virginia Regulatory Town Hall website and 

when public comment periods pursuant to the existing 

regulatory processes are established by Virginia law and 

(ii) each time there is an opportunity to comment on such 

changes under consideration, including specific comments 

regarding an appropriate timeframe for the implementation 

of such changes. 

• Update 12VAC35-12-50 A, in accordance with § 2.2-

4007.02 of the Code of Virginia, to state that DBHDS shall 

provide that persons wishing to submit data, views, and 

arguments related to a regulatory action shall be afforded 

the opportunity to be accompanied by and represented by 

counsel or another representative. 

• Adopt 12VAC35-12-50 D, in accordance with Chapter 

599 of the 2017 Acts of Assembly, to provide that DBHDS 

will post guidance document changes under development 

to the Regulatory Town Hall website for a 30-day public 

comment period.  

• Adopt 12VAC35-12-50 E, in accordance with § 37.2-203 

of the Code of Virginia, to provide that at least 30 days 

prior to the board's action to adopt, amend, or repeal any 

regulation regarding substance abuse services, the board 

shall present the proposed regulation to the Substance 

Abuse Services Council for the council's review and 

comment. 

Issues: The primary advantage to the public and the 

Commonwealth is conformation of regulatory provisions 

regarding public participation to the existing requirements in 

state law. There are no disadvantages to the public or the 

Commonwealth. 

Small Business Impact Review Report of Findings:  This fast-

track regulatory action serves as the report of the findings of 

the regulatory review pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1 of the Code of 

Virginia. 
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Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis: 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 

State Board of Behavioral Health and Developmental 

Services (Board) proposes to incorporate several legislative 

mandates related to public participation in rulemaking into its 

regulations. 

Result of Analysis. The benefits likely exceed the costs for all 

proposed changes. 

Estimated Economic Impact. One of the legislative mandates 

being incorporated into the regulation is Chapter 599 of the 

2017 Acts of the Assembly.1 Chapter 599 requires the 

Department of Behavioral Health and Developmental 

Services (DBHDS) to give direct notice to licensed providers 

1) when a regulatory change relating to licensed providers is 

initiated, 2) when a final stage of such a regulatory change 

has been posted on Virginia Regulatory Town Hall (Town 

Hall), 3) and when a change to guidance documents related to 

licensure requirements is under consideration. The Chapter 

599 also requires DBHDS to seek public comment for a 

period of 30 days on the proposed change to the guidance 

documents via the Town Hall. 

DBHDS estimates that there would be approximately 10 

notices a year that would need to be sent to approximately 

1,200 licensed providers. DBHDS plans to utilize email for 

the required direct notifications and encourage providers to 

sign up with the Town Hall which can be set up to provide 

such automatic notifications. The Town Hall can easily 

accommodate a 30-day comment forum for proposed changes 

to guidance documents. Since direct notices will be sent 

electronically and public comments will be solicited in an 

electronic platform, these changes do not impose significant 

costs on DBHDS other than the staff time needed to draft the 

emails and to create a public comment forum on the Town 

Hall. 

Another mandate being incorporated is the Chapter 795 of the 

2012 Acts of the Assembly which amended the Code of 

Virginia § 2.2-4007.02.2 Chapter 795 added the requirement 

that interested persons "be afforded an opportunity to be 

accompanied by and represented by counsel or other 

representative" while formulating a regulation. This change is 

also not expected to create a significant economic impact. 

Finally, the Board proposes to incorporate the requirement 

that a proposed regulatory change regarding substance abuse 

services be presented to the Substance Abuse Services 

Council pursuant to Chapter 716 of the 2005 Acts of the 

Assembly.3 This change too is not expected to create a 

significant economic impact. 

Even though no significant economic impact is expected from 

any of these proposed changes, the proposed changes are 

beneficial in that they will inform interested parties who read 

this regulation but not the statutes. 

Businesses and Entities Affected. There are approximately 

1,200 providers licensed by the Board. One of the proposed 

changes affects only the Substance Abuse Services Council. 

Localities Particularly Affected. The proposed changes do not 

affect particular localities disproportionately. 

Projected Impact on Employment. No impact on employment 

is expected. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. No impact 

on the use and value of private property is expected. 

Real Estate Development Costs. No impact on real estate 

development costs is expected. 

Small Businesses:  

Definition. Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia, 

small business is defined as "a business entity, including its 

affiliates, that (i) is independently owned and operated and 

(ii) employs fewer than 500 full-time employees or has gross 

annual sales of less than $6 million." 

Costs and Other Effects. Most if not all of the providers are 

small providers. The proposed changes do not impose costs 

on them but will benefit them as explained above. 

Alternative Method that Minimizes Adverse Impact. No 

adverse impact on small businesses is expected. 

Adverse Impacts: 

Businesses. The proposed amendments do not have an 

adverse impact on non-small businesses. 

Localities. The proposed amendments will not adversely 

affect localities. 

Other Entities. The proposed amendments will not adversely 

affect other entities.  

__________________________________ 

1 http://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?171+ful+CHAP0599 

2 http://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?121+ful+CHAP0795 

3 http://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?051+ful+CHAP0716 

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The 

Department of Behavioral Health and Developmental 

Services concurs with the Department of Planning and 

Budget's economic impact analysis. 

Summary: 

Pursuant to Chapter 599 of the 2017 Acts of Assembly, 

amendments provide that the Department of Behavioral 

Health and Developmental Services (i) notify affected 

providers when new or final regulations are posted on the 

Virginia Regulatory Town Hall website and when public 

comment periods pursuant to the existing regulatory 

processes are established and each time there is an 

opportunity to comment on such changes, including 

http://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?171+ful+CHAP0599
http://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?121+ful+CHAP0795
http://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?051+ful+CHAP0716
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specific comments regarding an appropriate timeframe for 

the implementation of such changes and (ii) post guidance 

document changes under development to the Town Hall 

website for a 30-day public comment period. Pursuant to § 

2.2-4007.02 of the Code of Virginia, an amendment allows 

interested parties submitting data, views, or arguments 

during the formulation of a regulation the right to be 

accompanied by or represented by counsel or another 

representative. Pursuant to § 37.2-307 of the Code of 

Virginia, an amendment provides that at least 30 days 

prior to the board's action to adopt, amend, or repeal any 

regulation regarding substance abuse services, the board 

present the proposed regulation to the Substance Abuse 

Services Council for the council's review and comment. 

12VAC35-12-45. Notification to licensed providers. 

To providers licensed by the department, the department 

shall send the following information: 

1. At or prior to the time a new regulation relating to 

licensed providers is posted to the Virginia Regulatory 

Town Hall, the department shall provide direct notice to 

licensed providers affected by the new regulatory change 

that such change has been initiated. 

2. At the time that the final stage of a regulation is posted 

to the Virginia Regulatory Town Hall, the department shall 

provide direct notice to licensed providers affected by the 

regulatory change that such final stage has been posted. 

Part III  

Public Participation Procedures  

12VAC35-12-50. Public comment. 

A. In considering any nonemergency, nonexempt regulatory 

action, the agency shall afford interested persons an 

opportunity to (i) submit data, views, and arguments, either 

orally or in writing, to the agency; and (ii) be accompanied by 

and represented by counsel or other representative. Such 

opportunity to comment shall include an online public 

comment forum on the Town Hall.  

1. To any requesting person, the agency shall provide 

copies of the statement of basis, purpose, substance, and 

issues; the economic impact analysis of the proposed or 

fast-track regulatory action; and the agency's response to 

public comments received.  

2. The agency may begin crafting a regulatory action prior 

to or during any opportunities it provides to the public to 

submit comments.  

B. The agency shall accept public comments in writing after 

the publication of a regulatory action in the Virginia Register 

as follows:  

1. For a minimum of 30 calendar days following the 

publication of the notice of intended regulatory action 

(NOIRA).  

2. For a minimum of 60 calendar days following the 

publication of a proposed regulation.  

3. For a minimum of 30 calendar days following the 

publication of a reproposed regulation.  

4. For a minimum of 30 calendar days following the 

publication of a final adopted regulation.  

5. For a minimum of 30 calendar days following the 

publication of a fast-track regulation.  

6. For a minimum of 21 calendar days following the 

publication of a notice of periodic review.  

7. Not later than 21 calendar days following the publication 

of a petition for rulemaking.  

C. The agency may determine if any of the comment periods 

listed in subsection B of this section shall be extended.  

D. At the time any change to guidance documents related to 

licensure requirements is being developed, the agency shall 

provide direct notice to licensed providers affected by the 

change that such change has been initiated. The agency shall 

post the proposed change to the Virginia Regulatory Town 

Hall, to include a public comment forum for a period of 30 

days. Such notice shall include a description of the change 

and provide contact information for the agency's designated 

contact person. If it is anticipated that the change shall have 

an impact on staffing or payment matters for the affected 

stakeholders, the direct notice to stakeholders shall note this 

fact and request specific comments regarding an appropriate 

timeframe for the implementation of such changes. 

E. Prior to the adoption, amendment, or repeal of any 

regulation regarding substance abuse services, the board shall, 

in addition to the procedures set forth in the Administrative 

Process Act (§ 2.2-4000 et seq. of the Code of Virginia), 

present the proposed regulation to the Substance Abuse 

Services Council, established pursuant to § 2.2-2696 of the 

Code of Virginia, at least 30 days prior to the board's action 

for the council's review and comment. 

F. If the Governor finds that one or more changes with 

substantial impact have been made to a proposed regulation, 

he may require the agency to provide an additional 30 

calendar days to solicit additional public comment on the 

changes in accordance with § 2.2-4013 C of the Code of 

Virginia.  

E. G. The agency shall send a draft of the agency's summary 

description of public comment to all public commenters on 

the proposed regulation at least five days before final 

adoption of the regulation pursuant to § 2.2-4012 E of the 

Code of Virginia.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R18-5177; Filed December 29, 2017, 5:05 p.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   
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TITLE 18. PROFESSIONAL AND 
OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING 

BOARD OF ACCOUNTANCY 

Fast-Track Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC5-22. Board of Accountancy 

Regulations (amending 18VAC5-22-90).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 54.1-4402 and 54.1-4403 of the Code 

of Virginia.  

Public Hearing Information: No public hearings are 

scheduled.  

Public Comment Deadline: February 21, 2018. 

Effective Date: March 8, 2018.  

Agency Contact: Rebekah E. Allen, Enforcement Director, 

Board of Accountancy, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 402, 

Richmond, VA 23223, telephone (804) 367-2006, FAX (804) 

527-4207, or email rebekah.allen@boa.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Section 54.1-4403 of the Code of Virginia grants 

authority to the Board of Accountancy to promulgate 

regulations, "in accordance with the Administrative Process 

Act (§ 2.2-4000 et seq. of the Code of Virginia) necessary to 

assure continued competency, to prevent deceptive or 

misleading practices by licensees, and to effectively 

administer the regulatory system" and specifically references 

the board's power to establish continuing professional 

education (CPE) requirements as a condition for licensure. 

The board is the promulgating entity for regulations 

governing public accountancy  

Purpose: The amendments simplify the regulatory burden on 

and reduce confusion for certified public accountants (CPAs) 

by having a single subsection addressing general CPE 

requirements and codify additional ways by which CPAs can 

earn CPE hours, which has been permitted by practice for 

several years in the board's guidance documents. Roughly 

20% of CPAs have been found to have a CPE deficiency, due 

in part to confusion about which subsection of regulation 

applies to them, when in fact, since 2011, the CPE 

requirements for CPAs, regardless of the type of work they 

perform, have been the same, unless granted an exemption 

from the CPE requirements by the board. The board 

anticipates that by eliminating duplicative material, CPAs 

will have a better understanding of their CPE obligations, 

which in turn will allow them to achieve the minimum 

continuing education necessary to competently provide 

services to the public and to their employers. The board also 

believes that increased CPE compliance will occur if it 

codifies an additional way for CPAs to earn CPE hours. 

Rationale for Using Fast-Track Rulemaking Process: This 

rulemaking is expected to be noncontroversial because the 

amendments do not increase the CPE requirements of CPAs, 

add an additional way by which CPAs can earn CPE hours 

that is already permitted in the board's guidance documents, 

and do not change the criteria by which a person is judged to 

be eligible for an exemption. The amendments are also 

supported by the Virginia Society of Certified Public 

Accountants. 

Substance: The amendments combine the existing first two 

subsections of 18VAC5-22-90 into one subsection. Since 

2011, the CPE requirements have been identical for CPAs 

regardless of where they work. Information that is contained 

in Board Policy #9 on how an exemption from CPE 

requirements is obtained and retained, which has been the 

board's practice for several years, is incorporated into 

regulation text. The amendments also include examination 

and certification as an additional way of earning CPE hours 

and codify information that is contained in Board Policy #4 

on this subject, which also has been the board's practice for 

several years. 

Issues: There are no primary disadvantages to the public. The 

primary advantages to the public are greater likelihood that 

CPAs are earning the CPE hours related to the services they 

are providing, which allows them to stay up-to-date with 

current technical standards, improves work product produced, 

and broadens the range of services they can competently 

provide. There are no primary disadvantages to the board or 

the Commonwealth. The primary advantages to the board and 

the Commonwealth are less staff time devoted to explaining 

the CPE requirements to CPAs by telephone and by email. 

There is no restraint on competition as a result of 

promulgating this regulation. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis:  

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 

Virginia Board of Accountancy (Board) proposes to amend 

its regulation to: 1) remove obsolete language, 2) specify that 

individuals who qualify for an exemption from having to 

complete continuing education must show evidence that they 

qualify to the Board and 3) allow licensees to receive up to 60 

hours of continuing education credit during any three 

calendar-year period for passing examinations and obtaining 

certifications approved by the Board.  

Result of Analysis. Benefits likely outweigh costs for all 

proposed changes. 

Estimated Economic Impact. Current regulation includes 

provisions that expired in 2011 for individuals who have 

certified public accountants (CPA) licenses, who provided 

CPA services for their employers but did not provide services 

to the public, to complete fewer hours of continuing 

education. The Board now proposes to remove these 

provisions. Because CPA licensees are no longer allowed to 

take advantage of these provisions, no individuals are likely 

to be adversely affected by these proposed changes. To the 
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extent that obsolete regulatory language can cause confusion 

for individuals reading that language, removing that language 

will likely provide the benefit of additional clarity. 

Current regulation exempts individuals who are licensed by 

the Board but do not provide CPA services to the public or an 

employer from having to complete required continuing 

education hours. The Board proposes to clarify that 

individuals who claim this exemption must demonstrate to the 

Board that no CPA services were provided during the time for 

which the exemption is claimed. Because the Board would 

have already needed information from licensees to know 

whether they would need to complete continuing education, 

no entity is likely to incur additional costs on account of this 

proposed change. To the extent that this clarification 

eliminates confusion about the rules for claiming the 

exemption from continuing education, licensees will benefit. 

Finally the Board proposes to allow licensees to receive up to 

60 hours1 of continuing education credit during any three-

calendar-year period for passing examinations and obtaining 

certifications approved by the Board. No entity will be 

required to use this avenue to complete their continuing 

education hours, so no entity is likely to use this avenue if it 

increases their total continuing education costs. This proposed 

change will provide licensees with the benefit of additional 

flexibility in meeting the requirements to maintain their CPA 

licenses. 

Businesses and Entities Affected. These proposed regulatory 

amendments will affect all individuals and firms licensed by 

the Board of Accountancy. Board staff reports that, as of 

September 30, 2017, there were 27,842 individuals who had 

CPA licenses issued by the Board and 1,179 CPA firm 

licenses issued by the Board.   

Localities Particularly Affected. No locality is likely to be 

particularly affected by these proposed regulatory changes.  

Projected Impact on Employment. These proposed regulatory 

changes are unlikely to affect employment in the 

Commonwealth. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. These 

proposed regulatory changes are unlikely to affect the use or 

value of private property in the Commonwealth. 

Real Estate Development Costs. These proposed regulatory 

changes are unlikely to affect real estate development costs in 

the Commonwealth. 

Small Businesses:  

Definition. Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia, 

small business is defined as "a business entity, including its 

affiliates, that (i) is independently owned and operated and 

(ii) employs fewer than 500 full-time employees or has gross 

annual sales of less than $6 million." 

Costs and Other Effects. No small businesses are likely to 

incur any additional costs on account of these proposed 

regulatory changes. Individual and firm licensees will likely 

benefit from the additional avenue for obtaining continuing 

education credit proposed by the Board. 

Alternative Method that Minimizes Adverse Impact. No small 

businesses are likely to incur any additional costs on account 

of these proposed regulatory changes. 

Adverse Impacts: 

Businesses. No businesses are likely to incur any additional 

costs on account of these proposed regulatory changes. 

Localities. Localities in the Commonwealth are unlikely to 

see any adverse impacts on account of these proposed 

regulatory changes. 

Other Entities. No other entities are likely to be adversely 

affected by these proposed changes. 

__________________________ 
1Licensees must complete 120 hours of continuing education during any 
three calendar-year period. 

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The 

Virginia Board of Accountancy concurs with the economic 

impact analysis of the Department of Planning and Budget. 

Summary: 

The amendments (i) combine existing continuing 

professional education (CPE) requirement provisions into 

a single subsection addressing general CPE requirements; 

(ii) clarify how a person requests an exemption from CPE 

requirements, as detailed under current board policy and 

practice; and (iii) provide an additional way for certified 

public accountants to earn CPE hours, as already 

permitted under board policy. 

18VAC5-22-90. Continuing professional education. 

A. If during the current calendar year a person who holds a 

Virginia license provided services to the public and has not 

been granted an exemption by the board pursuant to 

subsection C of this section, he shall have obtained at least 

120 hours of continuing professional education during the 

three-calendar-year period ending with the current calendar 

year. For each of the calendar years in that period, he shall 

have obtained at least 20 hours of continuing professional 

education, including an ethics course of at least two hours. 

1. If the person also holds the license of another state and 

Virginia is not the his principal place of business in which 

he provides services to the public, the ethics course taken 

to comply with this subsection either shall conform with 

the requirements prescribed by the board or shall be an 

ethics course acceptable to the board of accountancy of 

another state in which the person holds a license. 
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2. Otherwise, the ethics course shall conform with to the 

requirements prescribed by the board.  

B. If during the current calendar year a person who holds a 

Virginia license provided services to or on behalf of an 

employer and did not provide services to the public, he shall 

have obtained a minimum number of hours of continuing 

professional education determined as follows: 

1. If the current calendar year is 2009 or 2010, the person 

shall have obtained at least 90 hours of continuing 

professional education during the three-calendar-year 

period ending with the current calendar year. For each of 

the calendar years in that period, he shall have obtained at 

least 15 hours of continuing professional education, 

including an ethics course of at least two hours. 

2. If the current calendar year is 2011 or later, the person 

shall have obtained at least 120 hours of continuing 

professional education during the three-calendar-year 

period ending with the current calendar year. For each of 

the calendar years in that period, he shall have obtained at 

least 20 hours of continuing professional education, 

including an ethics course of at least two hours.  

The ethics course taken to comply with this subsection 

either shall conform with the requirements prescribed by the 

board or shall be an ethics course acceptable to the board of 

accountancy of another state in which the person holds a 

license. 

C. If during the current calendar year a person who holds a 

Virginia license provided services to the public or to or on 

behalf of an employer, has not been granted an exemption by 

the board pursuant to subsection C of this section, and did not 

hold a Virginia license or the license of another state during 

one or both of the two preceding calendar years, he shall 

determine whether he has complied with the requirements of 

subsection A or B of this section as follows: 

1. If the person became licensed during the current 

calendar year, he shall be considered to have met the 

requirements of the subsection A of this section for the 

three-calendar-year period ending with the current calendar 

year. 

2. If the person became licensed during the preceding 

calendar year, he shall be considered to have met the 

requirements of the subsection for the three-calendar-year 

period ending with the current calendar year if during the 

current calendar year he obtained at least the minimum 

number of hours of continuing professional education 

required by the subsection A of this section for the current 

calendar year, including an ethics course of at least two 

hours. 

3. If the person became licensed during the calendar year 

prior to the preceding calendar year, he shall be considered 

to have met the requirements of the subsection for the 

three-calendar-year period ending with the current calendar 

year if during the current calendar year and the preceding 

calendar year he obtained at least the minimum number of 

hours of continuing professional education required by the 

subsection A of this section for each of the years, including 

for each year an ethics course of at least two hours. 

D. C. If during the current calendar year a person who holds 

a Virginia license did not provide services to the public or to 

or on behalf of an employer and has demonstrated to the 

board that he does not provide those services, he is not 

required to have obtained continuing professional education 

during the three-calendar-year period ending with the current 

calendar year. Any person who holds a Virginia license to 

whom an exemption has been granted shall annually affirm 

and certify to the board his continued eligibility for the 

exemption in that he does not provide services to the public 

or to or on behalf of an employer. However, in order to begin 

providing those services: 

1. He is required to have obtained at least 120 hours of 

continuing professional education prior to providing the 

services, including an ethics course of at least two hours. 

2. The ethics course shall conform with to the requirements 

prescribed by the board for the calendar year in which the 

person begins providing the services. 

Continuing professional education obtained during the three 

calendar years prior to the current calendar year and from the 

start of the current calendar year to when he begins providing 

the services shall be considered in determining whether the 

person has complied with the requirements of this subsection. 

E. D. If a person who has not held the license of any state 

applies for a Virginia license after the end of the calendar 

year in which he passes the CPA examination, he shall obtain 

continuing professional education prior to applying for the 

license, including an ethics course of at least two hours. 

1. The required minimum number of hours of continuing 

professional education shall be 40, 80, or 120 depending 

on whether he applies for the Virginia license by the end of 

the first calendar year after the calendar year in which he 

passes the CPA examination, by the end of the second 

calendar year, or later. 

2. The ethics course shall conform with to the requirements 

prescribed by the board for the calendar year in which the 

person applies for the license. 

Continuing professional education obtained subsequent to 

passing the CPA examination but during the three calendar 

years prior to the calendar year in which the person applies 

for the license and from the start of that calendar year to when 

he applies for the license shall be considered in determining 

whether he has complied with this requirement. 

F. E. Continuing professional education acceptable to the 

board may be obtained through a variety of forums, provided 
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there is a means of demonstrating that the education was 

obtained. The following forums are acceptable The 

acceptable forums are: 

1. Attendance at Attending seminars and educational 

conferences, provided that the instructors have appropriate 

knowledge of the subject matter and use appropriate 

teaching materials and that attendance is monitored in a 

manner that can be verified by the board; 

2. Taking courses at an accredited institution for credit; 

3. Self-study Completing self-study courses, provided there 

is a method for determining that the person met the 

learning objectives; 

4. Making a presentation at a professional seminar, 

educational conference, or in a classroom setting, provided 

the person has appropriate knowledge of the subject matter 

and uses appropriate teaching materials; and 

5. Writing material that is relevant to providing services to 

or on behalf of an employer or to the public that is formally 

reviewed by an independent party and that is published in a 

book, magazine, or similar publication that is used by 

persons who provide services to the public or to or on 

behalf of an employer; and 

6. Passing examinations and obtaining certifications that 

have been approved by the board. 

Whether other forums are acceptable shall be determined by 

the board on a case-by-case basis. 

G. F. In determining whether a person has obtained the 

required number of hours of continuing professional 

education: 

1. Repeat presentations shall not be considered. 

2. No more than 30 hours from preparing for and making 

presentations shall be considered during each three-

calendar-year period. 

3. One semester-hour of credit for courses at an accredited 

institution constitutes 15 hours of continuing professional 

education, and one quarter-hour of credit constitutes 10 

hours of continuing professional education. 

4. Credit for examination and certification shall be 

awarded for the calendar year in which the examination 

was passed and certification was received. If passage of the 

examination and certification occur in different calendar 

years, credit shall be awarded for the calendar year in 

which the examination was passed. The board shall 

determine how many hours are credited per certification. 

5. No more than 60 hours from examination and 

certification shall be considered during each three-

calendar-year period. 

H. G. Depending on the facts and circumstances, the board 

may waive all or part of the continuing professional education 

requirement for one or more calendar years or grant 

additional time for complying with the continuing 

professional education requirement, provided that the waiver 

or deferral is in the public interest. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R18-5261; Filed January 2, 2018, 6:40 p.m.  

BOARD OF DENTISTRY 

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Board of Dentistry is claiming 

an exemption from Article 2 of the Administrative Process 

Act in accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 6 of the Code of 

Virginia, which excludes regulations of the regulatory boards 

served by the Department of Health Professions pursuant to 

Title 54.1 of the Code of Virginia that are limited to reducing 

fees charged to regulants and applicants. The Board of 

Dentistry will receive, consider, and respond to petitions by 

any interested person at any time with respect to 

reconsideration or revision. 

Titles of Regulations: 18VAC60-21. Regulations Governing 

the Practice of Dentistry (amending 18VAC60-21-40). 

18VAC60-25. Regulations Governing the Practice of 

Dental Hygiene (amending 18VAC60-25-30). 

18VAC60-30. Regulations Governing the Practice of 

Dental Assistants (amending 18VAC60-30-30).  

Statutory Authority: § 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: February 21, 2018.  

Agency Contact: Sandra Reen, Executive Director, Board of 

Dentistry, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, Richmond, VA 

23233, telephone (804) 367-4437, FAX (804) 527-4428, or 

email sandra.reen@dhp.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments reduce renewal fees for the renewal year 

of 2018. The renewal fee for a dentist will be reduced from 

$285 to $142 and the renewal fee for a dental hygienist 

will be reduced from $75 to $37. Other license, 

registration, and permit renewal fees are also reduced by 

approximately 50%. 

18VAC60-21-40. Required fees. 

A. Application/registration fees. 

1. Dental license by examination $400 

2. Dental license by credentials  $500 

3. Dental restricted teaching license  $285 

4. Dental faculty license $400 

5. Dental temporary resident's license $60 
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6. Restricted volunteer license $25 

7. Volunteer exemption registration $10 

8. Oral maxillofacial surgeon 

registration  

$175 

9. Cosmetic procedures certification $225 

10. Mobile clinic/portable operation $250 

11. Conscious/moderate sedation 

permit 

$100 

12. Deep sedation/general anesthesia 

permit 

$100 

B. Renewal fees. 

1. Dental license - active $285 

2. Dental license - inactive  $145 

3. Dental temporary resident's license $35 

4. Restricted volunteer license  $15 

5. Oral maxillofacial surgeon registration  $175 

6. Cosmetic procedures certification  $100 

7. Conscious/moderate sedation permit $100 

8. Deep sedation/general anesthesia 

permit 

$100 

C. Late fees. 

1. Dental license - active  $100 

2. Dental license - inactive  $50 

3. Dental temporary resident's license  $15 

4. Oral maxillofacial surgeon 

registration  

$55 

5. Cosmetic procedures certification  $35 

6. Conscious/moderate sedation permit $35 

7. Deep sedation/general anesthesia 

permit 

$35 

D. Reinstatement fees. 

1. Dental license - expired $500 

2. Dental license - suspended $750 

3. Dental license - revoked $1000 

4. Oral maxillofacial surgeon 

registration 

$350 

5. Cosmetic procedures certification  $225 

E. Document fees. 

1. Duplicate wall certificate $60 

2. Duplicate license $20 

3. License certification $35 

F. Other fees. 

1. Returned check fee $35 

2. Practice inspection fee  $350 

G. No fee will be refunded or applied for any purpose other 

than the purpose for which the fee is submitted.  

H. For the renewal of licenses, registrations, certifications, 

and permits in 2016 2018, the following fees shall be in 

effect: 

1. Dentist - active $210 $142 

2. Dentist - inactive $105 $72 

3. Dental full-time faculty $210 $142 

4. Temporary resident $25 $17 

5. Dental restricted volunteer $10 $7 

6. Oral/maxillofacial surgeon 

registration 

$130 $87 

7. Cosmetic procedure certification $75 $50 

8. Conscious/moderate sedation 

certification 

$75 $50 

9. Deep sedation/general anesthesia $75 $50 

10. Mobile clinic/portable operation $110 $75 

18VAC60-25-30. Required fees. 

A. Application fees. 

1. License by examination $175 

2. License by credentials $275 

3. License to teach dental hygiene pursuant to 

§ 54.1-2725 of the Code 

$175 

4. Temporary permit pursuant to § 54.1-2726 

of the Code 

$175 

3. 5. Restricted volunteer license $25 

4. 6. Volunteer exemption registration $10 

B. Renewal fees. 

1. Active license $75 

2. Inactive license $40 

3. License to teach dental hygiene pursuant to 

§ 54.1-2725 

$75 
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4. Temporary permit pursuant to § 54.1-2726 $75 

C. Late fees. 

1. Active license $25 

2. Inactive license $15 

3. License to teach dental hygiene pursuant to 

§ 54.1-2725 

$25 

4. Temporary permit pursuant to § 54.1-2726 $25 

D. Reinstatement fees. 

1. Expired license $200 

2. Suspended license $400 

3. Revoked license $500 

E. Administrative fees. 

1. Duplicate wall certificate $60 

2. Duplicate license $20 

3. Certification of licensure $35 

4. Returned check $35 

F. No fee shall be refunded or applied for any purpose other 

than the purpose for which the fee was submitted. 

G. For the renewal of licenses in 2016 2018, the following 

fees shall be in effect: 

1. Dental hygienist - active $55 $37 

2. Dental hygienist - inactive $30 $20 

3. Dental hygienist restricted volunteer $10 $7  

18VAC60-30-30. Required fees. 

A. Initial registration fee.  $100 

B. Renewal fees.  

1. Dental assistant II registration - active  $50 

2. Dental assistant II registration - inactive  $25 

C. Late fees.   

1. Dental assistant II registration - active  $20 

2. Dental assistant II registration - inactive  $10 

D. Reinstatement fees.   

1. Expired registration $125 

2. Suspended registration  $250 

3. Revoked registration  $300 

E. Administrative fees.   

1. Duplicate wall certificate  $60 

2. Duplicate registration  $20 

3. Registration verification  $35 

4. Returned check fee  $35 

F. No fee will be refunded or applied for any purpose other 

than the purpose for which the fee is submitted.  

G. For the renewal of a an active dental assistant II 

registration in 2016 2018, the fees fee shall be $35 $25. For 

the renewal of an inactive dental assistant II registration in 

2018, the fee shall be $13. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R18-5359; Filed December 22, 2017, 10:13 a.m.  

BOARD OF PHARMACY 

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Board of Pharmacy is 

claiming an exemption from Article 2 of the Administrative 

Process Act in accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 13 of the Code 

of Virginia, which exempts amendments to regulations of the 

board to schedule a substance in Schedule I or II pursuant to 

subsection D of § 54.1-3443 of the Code of Virginia. The 

board will receive, consider, and respond to petitions by any 

interested person at any time with respect to reconsideration 

or revision. 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC110-20. Regulations Governing 

the Practice of Pharmacy (amending 18VAC110-20-322).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 54.1-2400 and 54.1-3443 of the Code 

of Virginia. 

Effective Date: February 21, 2018.  

Agency Contact: Caroline Juran, RPh, Executive Director, 

Board of Pharmacy, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, 

Richmond, VA 23233-1463, telephone (804) 367-4456, FAX 

(804) 527-4472, or email caroline.juran@dhp.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments add 11 compounds into Schedule I of the 

Drug Control Act as recommended by the Virginia 

Department of Forensic Science pursuant to § 54.1-3443 

of the Code of Virginia. The compounds added by this 

regulatory action will remain in effect for 18 months or 

until the compounds are placed in Schedule I by legislative 

action of the General Assembly.  

18VAC110-20-322. Placement of chemicals in Schedule I. 

A. Pursuant to subsection D of § 54.1-3443 of the Code of 

Virginia, the Board of Pharmacy places the following in 

Schedule I of the Drug Control Act: 

1. 1-(1,3-benzodioxol-5-yl)-2-(dimethylamino)-1-

pentanone (other names: N,N-Dimethylpentylone, 

Dipentylone); 
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2. 4-chloro-alpha-Pyrrolidinovalerophenone (other name: 

4-chloro-alpha-PVP); 

3. 4-methyl-alpha-Pyrrolidinohexiophenone (other name: 

MPHP); 

4. 4-fluoro-alpha-Pyrrolidinoheptiophenone (other name: 

4-fluoro-PV8); 

5. 1-(4-methoxyphenyl)-2-(pyrrolidin-1-yl)octan-1-one 

(other name: 4-methoxy-PV9); 

6. 4-allyloxy-3,5-dimethoxyphenethylamine (other name: 

Allylescaline); 

7. 4-methyl-alpha-ethylaminopentiophenone; and  

8. N-(4-fluorophenyl)-2-methyl-N-[1-(2-phenylethyl)-4-

piperidinyl]-propanamide (other name: para-

fluoroisobutyryl fentanyl). 

The placement of drugs listed in this subsection shall remain 

in effect until August 22, 2018, unless enacted into law in the 

Drug Control Act. 

B. Pursuant to subsection D of § 54.1-3443 of the Code of 

Virginia, the Board of Pharmacy places the following in 

Schedule I of the Drug Control Act: 

1. 6-ethyl-6-nor-lysergic acid diethylamide (other name: 

ETH-LAD), its optical, position, and geometric isomers, 

salts, and salts of isomers, whenever the existence of such 

salts, isomers, and salts of isomers is possible within the 

specific chemical designation; 

2. 6-allyl-6-nor-lysergic acid diethylamide (other name: 

AL-LAD), its optical, position, and geometric isomers, 

salts, and salts of isomers, whenever the existence of such 

salts, isomers, and salts of isomers is possible within the 

specific chemical designation; 

3. Synthetic opioids:  

a. N-[1-[2-hydroxy-2-(2-thienyl)ethyl]-4-piperidinyl]-N-

phenylpropanamide (other name: beta-

hydroxythiofentanyl), its isomers, esters, ethers, salts, 

and salts of isomers, esters, and ethers, unless 

specifically excepted, whenever the existence of these 

isomers, esters, ethers, and salts is possible within the 

specific chemical designation; 

b. N-(2-fluorophenyl)-N-[1-(2-phenylethyl)-4-

piperidinyl]-propanamide (other names: 2-fluorofentanyl, 

ortho-fluorofentanyl), its isomers, esters, ethers, salts, 

and salts of isomers, esters, and ethers, unless 

specifically excepted, whenever the existence of these 

isomers, esters, ethers, and salts is possible within the 

specific chemical designation; and 

c. N-phenyl-N-[1-(2-phenylethyl)-4-piperidinyl]-2-

propenamide (other name: Acryl fentanyl), its isomers, 

esters, ethers, salts, and salts of isomers, esters, and 

ethers, unless specifically excepted, whenever the 

existence of these isomers, esters, ethers, and salts is 

possible within the specific chemical designation; 

4. Cannabimimetic agents:  

a. 1-pentyl-N-(phenylmethyl)-1H-indole-3-carboxamide 

(other name: SDB-006), its salts, isomers, and salts of 

isomers whenever the existence of such salts, isomers, 

and salts of isomers is possible within the specific 

chemical designation; and 

b. Quinolin-8-yl 1-(4-fluorobenzyl)-1H-indole-3-

carboxylate (other name: FUB-PB-22), its salts, isomers, 

and salts of isomers whenever the existence of such salts, 

isomers, and salts of isomers is possible within the 

specific chemical designation; and 

5. Benzodiazepine: flubromazepam, its salts, isomers, and 

salts of isomers whenever the existence of such salts, 

isomers, and salts of isomers is possible within the specific 

chemical designation. 

The placement of drugs listed in this subsection shall remain 

in effect until December 13, 2018, unless enacted into law in 

the Drug Control Act. 

C. Pursuant to subsection D of § 54.1-3443 of the Code of 

Virginia, the Board of Pharmacy places the following in 

Schedule I of the Drug Control Act: 

1. 4-Bromo-2,5-dimethoxy-N-[(2-hydroxyphenyl)methyl]-

benzeneethanamine (25B-NBOH), its optical, position, and 

geometric isomers, salts and salts of isomers, whenever the 

existence of such salts, isomers, and salts of isomers is 

possible within the specific chemical designation.  

2. Methyl N-[1-(cyclohexylmethyl)-1H-indole-3-

carbonyl]valinate (MMB-CHMICA), its salts, isomers, and 

salts of isomers whenever the existence of such salts, 

isomers, and salts of isomers is possible within the specific 

chemical designation. 

3. N-(1-phenethylpiperidin-4-yl)-N-phenyltetrahydrofuran-

2-carboxamide (Tetrahydrofuran fentanyl), its isomers, 

esters, ethers, salts, and salts of isomers, esters, and ethers, 

unless specifically excepted, whenever the existence of 

these isomers, esters, ethers and salts is possible within the 

specific chemical designation. 

The placement of drugs listed in this subsection shall remain 

in effect until February 18, 2019, unless enacted into law in 

the Drug Control Act. 

D. Pursuant to subsection D of § 54.1-3443 of the Code of 

Virginia, the Board of Pharmacy places the following in 

Schedule I of the Drug Control Act: 

1. 5-methoxy-N,N-dimethyltryptamine (5-MeO-DMT), its 

optical, position, and geometric isomers, salts, and salts of 

isomers whenever the existence of such salts, isomers, and 
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salts of isomers is possible within the specific chemical 

designation. 

2. 5-methoxy-N-ethyl-N-isopropyltryptamine (5-MeO-

EIPT), its optical, position, and geometric isomers, salts, 

and salts of isomers whenever the existence of such salts, 

isomers, and salts of isomers is possible within the specific 

chemical designation. 

3. 4-hydroxy-N,N-diisopropyltryptamine (4-OH-DIPT), its 

optical, position, and geometric isomers, salts, and salts of 

isomers whenever the existence of such salts, isomers, and 

salts of isomers is possible within the specific chemical 

designation. 

4. (N-methyl aminopropyl)-2,3-dihydrobenzofuran 

(MAPDB), its optical, position, and geometric isomers, 

salts, and salts of isomers whenever the existence of such 

salts, isomers, and salts of isomers is possible within the 

specific chemical designation. 

5. 3,4-tetramethylene-alpha-pyrrolidinovalerophenone 

(TH-PVP), its optical, position, and geometric isomers, 

salts, and salts of isomers whenever the existence of such 

salts, isomers, and salts of isomers is possible within the 

specific chemical designation. 

6. 4-chloro-alpha-methylamino-valerophenone (4-

chloropentedrone), its optical, position, and geometric 

isomers, salts, and salts of isomers whenever the existence 

of such salts, isomers, and salts of isomers is possible 

within the specific chemical designation. 

7. Synthetic opioids: 

a. 2-methoxy-N-phenyl-N-[1-(2-phenylethyl)-4-

piperidinyl]-acetamide (Methoxyacetyl fentanyl), its 

isomers, esters, ethers, salts, and salts of isomers, esters, 

and ethers, unless specifically excepted, whenever the 

existence of these isomers, esters, ethers, and salts is 

possible within the specific chemical designation. 

b. N-(1-phenethylpiperidin-4-yl)-N-

phenylcyclopropanecarboxamide (Cyclopropyl fentanyl), 

its isomers, esters, ethers, salts, and salts of isomers, 

esters, and ethers, unless specifically excepted, whenever 

the existence of these isomers, esters, ethers, and salts is 

possible within the specific chemical designation. 

8. Cannabimimetic agent: N-(1-amino-3,3-dimethyl-1-

oxobutan-2-yl)-1-(5-fluoropentyl)indazole-3-carboxamide 

(5-fluoro-ADB-PINACA), its salts, isomers, and salts of 

isomers whenever the existence of such salts, isomers, and 

salts of isomers is possible within the specific chemical 

designation. 

The placement of drugs listed in this subsection shall remain 

in effect until June 12, 2019, unless enacted into law in the 

Drug Control Act. 

E. Pursuant to subsection D of § 54.1-3443 of the Code of 

Virginia, the Board of Pharmacy places the following in 

Schedule I of the Drug Control Act: 

1. 2-(methylamino)-2-phenyl-cyclohexanone (other name: 

Deschloroketamine), its optical, position, and geometric 

isomers, salts, and salts of isomers whenever the existence 

of such salts, isomers, and salts of isomers is possible 

within the specific chemical designation. 

2. 2-methyl-1-(4-(methylthio)phenyl)-2-

morpholinopropiophenone (other name: MMMP), its 

optical, position, and geometric isomers, salts, and salts of 

isomers whenever the existence of such salts, isomers, and 

salts of isomers is possible within the specific chemical 

designation. 

3. Alpha-ethylaminohexanophenone (other name: N-

ethylhexedrone), its optical, position, and geometric 

isomers, salts, and salts of isomers whenever the existence 

of such salts, isomers, and salts of isomers is possible 

within the specific chemical designation. 

4. N-ethyl-1-(3-methoxyphenyl)cyclohexylamine (other 

name: 3-methoxy-PCE), its optical, position, and 

geometric isomers, salts, and salts of isomers whenever the 

existence of such salts, isomers, and salts of isomers is 

possible within the specific chemical designation. 

5. 4-fluoro-alpha-pyrrolidinohexiophenone (other name: 4-

fluoro-alpha-PHP), its optical, position, and geometric 

isomers, salts, and salts of isomers whenever the existence 

of such salts, isomers, and salts of isomers is possible 

within the specific chemical designation. 

6. N-ethyl-1,2-diphenylethylamine (other name: 

Ephenidine), its optical, position, and geometric isomers, 

salts, and salts of isomers whenever the existence of such 

salts, isomers, and salts of isomers is possible within the 

specific chemical designation. 

7. Synthetic opioids: 

a. N-phenyl-N-[1-(2-phenylethyl)-4-piperidinyl]-1,3-

benzodioxole-5-carboxamide (other name: Benzodioxole 

fentanyl), its isomers, esters, ethers, salts, and salts of 

isomers, esters, and ethers, unless specifically excepted, 

whenever the existence of these isomers, esters, ethers, 

and salts is possible within the specific chemical 

designation. 

b. 3,4-dichloro-N-[2-(diethylamino)cyclohexyl]-N-

methylbenzamide (other name: U-49900), its isomers, 

esters, ethers, salts, and salts of isomers, esters, and 

ethers, unless specifically excepted, whenever the 

existence of these isomers, esters, ethers, and salts is 

possible within the specific chemical designation. 

c. 2-(2,4-dichlorophenyl)-N-[2-(dimethylamino) 

cyclohexyl]-N-methylacetamide (other name: U-48800), 
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its isomers, esters, ethers, salts, and salts of isomers, 

esters, and ethers, unless specifically excepted, whenever 

the existence of these isomers, esters, ethers, and salts is 

possible within the specific chemical designation. 

8. Central nervous system stimulants: 

a. Methyl 2-(4-fluorophenyl)-2-(2-piperidinyl)acetate 

(other name: 4-fluoromethylphenidate), including its 

salts, isomers, and salts of isomers. 

b. Isopropyl-2-phenyl-2-(2-piperidinyl)acetate (other 

name: Isopropylphenidate), including its salts, isomers, 

and salts of isomers.  

The placement of drugs listed in this subsection shall remain 

in effect until August 21, 2019, unless enacted into law in the 

Drug Control Act. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R18-5350; Filed December 22, 2017, 10:19 a.m.  
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GOVERNOR 

EXECUTIVE ORDER NUMBER SEVENTY-FOUR (2017) 

Declaration of a State of Emergency for the 
Commonwealth of Virginia in Support of Increased 

Heating Fuel Demands 

Importance of the Issue 

On December 29, 2017, I declared a state of emergency to 

exist for the Commonwealth of Virginia in support of the 

increased demand for heating oil due to severe cold weather 

and to prevent resource shortages in other States and 

Territories. I therefore directed that appropriate assistance be 

rendered by agencies of state government to respond to the 

needs of affected states and the potential public safety issues 

in the Commonwealth presented by this issue. This executive 

order memorializes that order and shall also provide 

expedited movement of power company personnel in transit 

to the Port of Virginia to support hurricane recovery efforts in 

Puerto Rico. 

The health and general welfare of the citizens require that 

state action be taken to help alleviate the conditions caused by 

this situation. The effects of this incident constitute a disaster 

wherein human life and public and private property are 

imperiled, as described in § 44-146.16 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

Therefore, by virtue of the authority vested in me by § 44-

146.17 of the Code of Virginia, as Governor and as Director 

of Emergency Management, and by virtue of the authority 

vested in me by Article V, Section 7 of the Constitution of 

Virginia and by § 44-75.1 of the Code of Virginia, and 

subject always to my continuing and ultimate authority and 

responsibility to act in such matters, I hereby confirm, ratify, 

and memorialize in writing my verbal orders issued on 

December 29, 2017, whereby I am proclaiming that a state of 

emergency exists, and I am directing that appropriate 

assistance be rendered by agencies of both state and local 

governments to alleviate any impediments to the transport of 

relief supplies or utility restoration support. 

In order to marshal all public resources and appropriate 

preparedness, response, and recovery measures to meet this 

threat and recover from its effects, and in accordance with my 

authority contained in § 44-146.17 of the Code of Virginia, I 

hereby order the following protective and restoration 

measures: 

A. The authorization of the Departments of State Police, 

Transportation, and Motor Vehicles to grant temporary 

registration, or license exemptions to all carriers transporting 

essential emergency relief supplies, including food, water, 

livestock or poultry, feed or other critical supplies for 

livestock or poultry, heating oil, motor fuels, or propane, or 

providing restoration of utilities (including but not limited to 

electricity, gas, phone, water, wastewater, and cable) to, 

through, or from any area of the Commonwealth in order to 

support the disaster response and recovery, regardless of their 

point of origin or destination. 

In addition, carriers are also exempt from vehicle registration 

with the Department of Motor Vehicles. This includes 

vehicles en route and returning to their home base. The 

above-cited agencies shall communicate this information to 

all staff responsible for permit issuance and truck legalization 

enforcement. 

B. This Emergency Declaration implements limited relief 

from the provisions of 49 CFR 390-399. Accordingly, the 

State Coordinator of Emergency Management recognizes the 

exemption for hours of service by any carrier when 

transporting essential relief supplies, passengers, property, 

livestock, poultry, equipment, food, feed for livestock or 

poultry, fuel, construction materials, and other critical 

supplies to, through, or from any portion of the 

Commonwealth for purpose of providing direct relief or 

assistance as a result of this disaster, pursuant to § 52-8.4 of 

the Code of Virginia and Title 49 Code of Federal 

Regulations, Section 390.23 and Section 395.3. 

C. The regulatory exemption provided by § 52-8.4(A) of the 

Code of Virginia, and implemented in 19VAC30-20-40(B) of 

the “Motor Carrier Safety Regulations,” shall remain in effect 

for 15 days from the onset of the disaster, or until emergency 

relief is no longer necessary, as determined by the Secretary 

of Public Safety and Homeland Security in consultation with 

the Secretary of Transportation, whichever is earlier. 

D. The implementation and discontinuance of the provisions 

authorized in paragraphs A through C above shall be 

disseminated by the publication of administrative notice to all 

affected and interested parties. I hereby delegate to the 

Secretary of Public Safety and Homeland Security, after 

consultation with other affected Cabinet Secretaries, the 

authority to implement and disseminate this order as set forth 

in § 2.2-104 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date of this Executive Order 

This Executive Order was effective December 29, 2017, and 

shall remain in full force and effect until January 13, 2018, 

unless sooner amended or rescinded by further executive 

order. Termination of the Executive Order is not intended to 

terminate any federal-type benefits granted or to be granted 

due to injury or death as a result of service under this 

Executive Order. 

Given under my hand and under the Seal of the 

Commonwealth of Virginia, this 3rd day of January, 2018. 

/s/ Terence R. McAuliffe 

Governor 
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EXECUTIVE ORDER NUMBER SEVENTY-FIVE (2017) 

Continuing Qualified Energy Conservation Bonds 

Importance of the Issue 

The Commonwealth of Virginia endeavors to facilitate the 

use of all available tools for projects that reduce energy 

consumption and encourage energy efficiency and 

conservation in the public and private sectors. Federal 

Qualified Energy Conservation Bonds ("QECBs") are 

significant tools that can be used by the state and local 

governments, as well as the private sector, to lower the cost of 

financing energy efficiency, conservation, and renewable 

generation projects. QECBs are tax credits or direct pay 

bonds that may be issued by states, political subdivisions, and 

entities empowered to issue bonds on behalf of such entities, 

including eligible issuers in conduit financing issues for one 

or more qualified conservation purpose(s). 

By virtue of the authority vested in me as Governor under 

Article V of the Constitution of Virginia and Sections 2.2-103 

of the Code of Virginia, and subject to my continuing and 

ultimate authority and responsibility to act in such matters, I 

hereby continue allocating the Original Locality 

Suballocations, minus the amounts that have been previously 

utilized, and further allocate any additional re-allocations of 

QECBs received by the Commonwealth from the Federal 

Government ("Federal Re-Allocations") as set forth herein. 

Initiative 

The Director of the Division of Energy of the Department of 

Mines, Minerals and Energy will act as the QECB Allocation 

Director, and work in conjunction with the Executive Director 

of the Virginia Small Business Financing Authority. The 

QECB Allocation Director will establish a process to develop 

a green community program and to consider such programs, 

with other eligible QECB uses and programs, in determining 

the allocation and reallocation of any unallocated amounts or 

waived amounts as described to applicants. 

The QECB Allocation Director is further directed to issue a 

Request for Proposal (RFP) to select a firm or firms for the 

administration of the green community program within 60 

days of issuance of this Executive Order. No bonds issued 

under allocations provided by this Executive Order will be 

state supported debt without prior approval of the General 

Assembly. 

The Originally Awarded localities will have nine months 

from the issuance of this Executive Order to provide the 

QECB Allocation Director with written notice of intent to 

utilize their Original Locality Suballocation and provide 

documentation acceptable to the QECB Allocation Director 

identifying a specific project or projects for which the 

Original Locality Suballocation will be used. Further, they 

will have twelve months from the issuance of this Executive 

Order to utilize their Original Locality Suballocation and 

provide documentation to the QECB Allocation Director 

evidencing such use. If no notice is given or no use evidenced 

within either of the prescribed time periods, the unused 

Original Locality Suballocation will be deemed waived and 

returned to the QECB Allocation Director for reallocation to 

other qualifying projects. Any additional Federal Re-

Allocations received shall also be reallocated by the QECB 

Allocation Director to other qualifying projects including the 

green community program established pursuant to this Order. 

Originally Awarded Localities may also waive their Original, 

Locality Suballocation at any time within the twelve month 

period after the issuance of this Executive Order. The QECB 

Allocation Director is directed to establish, within 120 days 

of the issuance of this Executive Order, policies and 

procedures for the reallocation of any waived Original 

Locality Suballocation or subsequent allocations to eligible 

QECB uses and programs. 

Suballocation 

The QECB Allocation from the federal government to 

Virginia is $80,600,000. The Original Locality 

Suballocations, minus the amounts used as of the issuance of 

this Executive Order, are as follows: 

Originally 

Awarded 

Locality 

Population Percentage Original 

Suballocation 

Used Remaining 

Suballocation 

Fairfax l,004,151 13.04% $10,512,656 -- $10,512,656 

Virginia 

Beach City 

435,004  5.65%  $4,554,143  -- $4,554,143 

Prince 

William 

County 

359,588 4.67%  $3,764,598  -- $3,764,598 

Chesterfield 

County 

299,022 3.88% $3,130,521 -- $3,130,521 

Henrico 289,460 3.76% $3,030,414 -- $3,030,414 

Loudoun 277,346 3.60% $2,903,590 -- $2,903,590 

Norfolk City 235,982 3.07% $2,470,542 $2,470,542 $0 

Chesapeake 

City 

218,830 2.84% $2,290,975 -- $2,290,975 

Arlington 

County 

203,909 2.65% $2,134,764 -- $2,134,764 

Richmond 

City 

199,991 2.60% $2,093,745 -- $2,093,745 

Newport 

News City 

180,810 2.35% $1,892,936 -- $1,892,936 

Hampton 

City 

146,466 1.90% $1,533,382 -- $1,533,382 

1. Each Locality utilizing a suballocation of QECBs shall 

ensure compliance with the 70% Use Requirement or the 

Green Community Program Use Requirement, pursuant to 

Section 54D(e)(4) of the Internal Revenue Code, and upon 

issuance of any QECBs will provide a copy of IRS form 8038 

to the QECB Allocation Director. 
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2. The Determination of compliance with the procedures and 

requirements set forth in this Executive Order or in the 

additional guidance, including any filings to be made and the 

timing and substance, will be subject to the sole discretion of 

the Allocation Director. 

Effective Date of the Executive Order 

This Executive Order amends Executive Order Thirty-Six 

(2014). It shall be effective upon its signing and shall remain 

in full force and effect until December 31, 2019, unless 

amended or rescinded by further executive order. 

Given under my hand and under the Seal of the 

Commonwealth of Virginia this 1st day of January, 2018. 

/s/ Terence R. McAuliffe 

Governor 

EXECUTIVE ORDER NUMBER SEVENTY-SIX (2017) 

Declaration of a State of Emergency for the 
Commonwealth of Virginia Due to Severe Winter 

Weather 

Importance of the Issue 

On this date, January 3, 2018, I am declaring a state of 

emergency to exist for the Commonwealth of Virginia based 

on the forecast for significant snowfall and a prolonged 

period of sub-freezing temperatures to affect portions of the 

state beginning today. 

The health and general welfare of the citizens require that 

state action be taken to help alleviate the conditions caused by 

this situation. The effects of this situation constitute a disaster 

wherein human life and public and private property are, or are  

likely to be, imperiled, as described in § 44-146.16 of the 

Code of Virginia. 

Therefore, by virtue of the authority vested in me by § 44-

146.17 of the Code of Virginia, as Governor and as Director 

of Emergency Management, and by virtue of the authority 

vested in me by Article V, Section 7 of the Constitution of 

Virginia and by § 44-75.1 of the Code of Virginia, as 

Governor and Commander-in-Chief of the armed forces of 

the Commonwealth, and subject always to my continuing and 

ultimate authority and responsibility to act in such matters, I 

hereby confirm, ratify, and memorialize in writing my verbal 

orders issued on this date, January 3, 2018, whereby I am 

proclaiming that a state of emergency exists, and I am 

directing that appropriate assistance be rendered by agencies 

of both state and local governments to prepare for potential 

impacts of the winter storm, alleviate any conditions resulting 

from the situation, and to implement recovery and mitigation 

operations and activities, so as to return impacted areas to 

prevent conditions as much as possible. 

In order to marshal all public resources and appropriate 

preparedness, response, and recovery measures to meet this 

threat and recover from its effects, and in accordance with my 

authority contained in § 44-146.17 of the Code of Virginia, I 

hereby order the following protective and restoration 

measures: 

A. Implementation by state agencies of the Commonwealth of 

Virginia Emergency Operations Plan (COVEOP), as 

amended, along with other appropriate state plans. 

B. Activation of the Virginia Emergency Operations Center 

(VEOC) and the Virginia Emergency Support Team (VEST), 

as directed by the State Coordinator of Emergency 

Management, to coordinate the provision of assistance to 

local governments and emergency services assignments of 

other agencies as necessary and determined by the State 

Coordinator of Emergency Management and other agencies 

as appropriate. 

C. I am directing that appropriate assistance, including 

temporary assignments of nonessential state employees to the 

Adjunct Emergency Workforce, be rendered by agencies of 

state government to respond to this situation. 

D. I am directing that the Virginia National Guard and the 

Virginia Defense Force be called forth to state active duty to 

be prepared to assist in providing such aid. This shall include 

Virginia National Guard assistance to the Virginia 

Department of State Police to direct traffic, prevent looting, 

and perform such other law enforcement functions as the 

Superintendent of State Police (in consultation with the State 

Coordinator of Emergency Management, the Adjutant 

General, and the Secretary of Public Safety and Homeland 

Security) may find necessary. Pursuant to § 52-6 of the Code 

of Virginia, I authorize the Superintendent of the Department 

of State Police to appoint any and all such Virginia Army and 

Air National Guard personnel called to state active duty as 

additional police officers as deemed necessary. These police 

officers shall have the same powers and perform the same 

duties as the State Police officers appointed by the 

Superintendent. Any bonds and/or insurance required by 

§ 52-7 of the Code of Virginia shall be provided for them at 

the expense of the Commonwealth. In all instances, members 

of the Virginia National Guard and Virginia Defense Force 

shall remain subject to military command as prescribed by 

§ 44-78.1 of the Code of Virginia and are not subject to the 

civilian authorities of county or municipal governments. 

E. Evacuation of areas threatened or stricken by effects of the 

winter storm, as appropriate. Pursuant to § 44-146.17(1) of 

the Code of Virginia, I reserve the right to direct and compel 

the evacuation of all or part of the populace therein from such 

areas and upon such timetable as the local governing body, in 

coordination with the VEOC, acting on behalf of the State 

Coordinator of Emergency Management, shall determine. I 

authorize the control of ingress and egress at an emergency 

area, including the movement of persons within the area and 

the occupancy of premises therein upon such timetable as the 

local governing body, in coordination with the State 
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Coordinator of Emergency Management and the VEOC, shall 

determine. Violations of any order to citizens to evacuate 

shall constitute a violation of this Executive Order and are 

punishable as a Class 1 misdemeanor. 

F. Activation, implementation, and coordination of 

appropriate mutual aid agreements and compacts, including 

the Emergency Management Assistance Compact (EMAC), 

and the authorization of the State Coordinator of Emergency 

Management to enter into any other supplemental 

agreements, pursuant to § 44-146.17(5) and § 44-146.28:1 of 

the Code of Virginia. The State Coordinator of Emergency 

Management is hereby designated as Virginia's authorized 

representative within the meaning of the Emergency 

Management Assistance Compact, § 44-146.28:1 of the Code 

of Virginia. 

G. This Emergency Declaration implements limited relief 

from the provisions 49 CFR § 390.23 and § 395.3 for purpose 

of providing direct relief or assistance as a result of this 

disaster. 

H. Authorization of the Departments of State Police, 

Transportation, and Motor Vehicles to grant temporary 

overweight, over width, registration, license, or hours of 

service exemptions to all carriers transporting essential 

emergency relief supplies to, through, and from any area of 

the Commonwealth. This Declaration is also intended to 

satisfy the Federal commercial motor vehicle requirements of 

49 CFR § 390.23, which provides any motor carrier or driver 

operating a commercial motor vehicle emergency relief from 

Parts 390-399 of the Federal Motor Carrier Safety 

Regulations (Title 49, CFR). The exemption shall not exceed 

the duration of the motor carrier's or driver's direct assistance 

in providing emergency relief, or 30 days from the initial 

declaration of emergency, whichever is less. 

Implementation and discontinuance of the transportation 

related provisions authorized above shall be disseminated by 

the publication of administrative notice to all affected and 

interested parties. I hereby delegate to the Secretary of Public 

Safety and Homeland Security, after consultation with other 

affected Cabinet Secretaries, the authority to implement and 

disseminate this order as set forth in § 2.2-104 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

I. Authorization of the Commissioner of Agriculture and 

Consumer Services to grant a temporary waiver of the 

maximum vapor pressure prescribed in regulation 2VAC5-

425 et seq., and to prescribe a vapor pressure limit the 

Commissioner deems reasonable. The temporary waiver shall 

remain in effect until emergency relief is no longer necessary, 

as determined by the Commissioner of Agriculture and 

Consumer Services. 

J. Authorization of appropriate oversight boards, 

commissions, and agencies to waive and/or ease building 

code restrictions, permitting requirements, and to allow for 

emergency demolition, hazardous waste disposal, debris 

removal, emergency landfill sitting, and operations and other 

activities necessary to address immediate health and safety 

needs without regard to time-consuming procedures or 

formalities and without regard to application or permit fees or 

royalties. All appropriate executive branch agencies are to 

exercise their discretion to the extent allowed by law to 

address any pending deadlines or expirations affected by or 

attributable to this disaster event. 

K. I hereby authorize the heads of executive branch agencies, 

acting when appropriate on behalf of their regulatory boards, 

to waive any state requirements or regulation for which the 

federal government has issued a waiver of the corresponding 

federal or state regulation based on the impact of events 

related to this situation. 

L. Activation of the statutory provisions in § 59.1-525 et seq. 

of the Code of Virginia related to price gouging. 

M. Authorization of a maximum of $550,000 in state sum 

sufficient funds for state and local governments mission 

assignments authorized and coordinated through the Virginia 

Department of Emergency Management that are allowable as 

defined by The Stafford Act. This funding is also available 

for state response and recovery operations and incident 

documentation. Out of this state disaster sum sufficient, an 

amount estimated at $250,000 is authorized for the 

Department of Military Affairs for the state's portion of the 

eligible disaster-related costs incurred for salaries, travel, and 

meals during mission assignments authorized and coordinated 

through the Virginia Department of Emergency Management.  

N. Authorization of an amount estimated at $500,000 for 

matching funds for the Individuals and Household Program, 

authorized by The Stafford Act (when presidentially 

authorized), to be paid from state funds. 

O. Implementation by public agencies under my supervision 

and control of their emergency assignments as directed in the 

COVEOP without regard to normal procedures pertaining to 

performance of public work, entering into contracts, incurring 

of obligations or other logistical and support measures of the 

Emergency Services and Disaster Laws, as provided in § 44-

146.28(b) of the Code of Virginia. § 44-146.24 of the Code of 

Virginia also applies to the disaster activities of state 

agencies. 

P. During this declared emergency, any person who holds a 

license, certificate, or other permit issued by any U.S. 

territory, state, or political subdivision thereof, evidencing the 

meeting of qualifications for professional, mechanical, or 

other skills, the person, without compensation other than 

reimbursement for actual and necessary expenses, may render 

aid involving that skill in the Commonwealth during a 

disaster, and such person shall not be liable for negligently 

causing the death of, or injury to, any person or for the loss 

of, or damage to, the property of any person resulting from 
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such service as set forth in Code of Virginia § 44-146.23(C). 

Additionally, members and personnel of volunteer, 

professional, auxiliary, and reserve groups identified and 

tasked by the State Coordinator of Emergency Management 

for specific disaster-related mission assignments as 

representatives of the Commonwealth engaged in emergency 

services activities within the meaning of the immunity 

provisions of § 44-146.23(a) and (f) of the Code of Virginia, 

in the performance of their specific disaster-related mission 

assignments. 

Upon my approval, the costs incurred by state agencies and 

other agents in performing mission assignments through the 

VEOC of the Commonwealth as defined herein and in § 44-

146.28 of the Code of Virginia, other than costs defined in the 

paragraphs above pertaining to the Virginia National Guard 

and pertaining to the Virginia Defense Force, in performing 

these missions shall be paid from state funds. 

Effective Date of this Executive Order 

This Executive Order shall be effective January 3, 2018, and 

shall remain in full force and effect until March 3, 2018 

unless sooner amended or rescinded by further executive 

order. Termination of the Executive Order is not intended to 

terminate any federal type benefits granted or to be granted 

due to injury or death as a result of service under this 

Executive Order. 

Given under my hand and under the Seal of the 

Commonwealth of Virginia, this 3rd day of January, 2018. 

/s/ Terence R. McAuliffe 

Governor 
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GENERAL NOTICES/ERRATA 

DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE AND CONSUMER 
SERVICES 

Small Business Impact Review - Report of Findings 

Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1 of the Code of Virginia, the 

Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services conducted 

a small business impact review of 2VAC5-321, Regulation 

of the Harvest and Purchase of Wild Ginseng, and 

determined that this regulation should be retained in its 

current form. The Department of Agriculture and Consumer 

Services is publishing its report of findings dated December 

5, 2017, to support this decision in accordance with § 2.2-

4007.1 F of the Code of Virginia. 

The provisions of this regulation ensure the long-term 

survival and sustainability of ginseng in the Commonwealth. 

The Endangered Plant and Insect Species Act requires that 

individuals or companies purchasing ginseng in Virginia for 

the purpose of reselling must first obtain a Ginseng License 

from VDACS. The cost of this license is $10. Currently, there 

are 83 entities licensed as ginseng dealers. The requirements 

of this regulation have addressed U.S. Fish and Wildlife 

Service concerns that export of ginseng to other countries 

may be detrimental to the continued survivability of ginseng, 

thus allowing for the continued export of wild ginseng from 

Virginia to other countries. The prohibition of this export 

activity would have a significant impact on ginseng dealers 

and exporters. It is estimated that the annual value of wild 

ginseng exported from Virginia is approximately $1.5 

million.  

The agency has not received any complaints or comments 

from licensees, the public, or small businesses concerning any 

negative economic impacts as a result of this regulation. This 

regulation does not duplicate or conflict with any federal or 

state law or regulation. The agency determined that no 

changes have occurred since this regulation became effective 

in August 2013 that necessitate amending the regulation. 

Contact Information: Debra Martin, Program Manager, 

Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services, P.O. Box 

1163, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 786-3515, FAX 

(804) 371-7793, or email debra.martin@vdacs.virginia.gov. 

CHARITABLE GAMING BOARD 

Small Business Impact Review - Report of Findings 

Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1 of the Code of Virginia, the 

Charitable Gaming Board conducted a small business impact 

review of 11VAC15-40, Charitable Gaming Regulations, 

and determined that this regulation should be retained in its 

current form. The Charitable Gaming Board is publishing its 

report of findings dated December 8, 2017, to support this 

decision in accordance with § 2.2-4007.1 F of the Code of 

Virginia. 

The agency determined requirements established in the 

Charitable Gaming Regulations are not unnecessarily 

burdensome and provide an important means of ensuring the 

proper conduct, controls, reporting, and recordkeeping for 

licensees who conduct charitable gaming activities. The 

regulation also provides a means of ensuring charitable 

gaming activities are conducted in a manner consistent with 

the purpose for which they are permitted in the charitable 

gaming statutes. The agency has determined that this 

regulation is not unnecessarily complex and that the 

complexity of this regulation is not such that it would have an 

economic impact on small businesses.  

Charitable Gaming Regulations (11VAC15-40) do not appear 

to overlap, duplicate, or conflict with any federal or state law 

or regulation. The regulation was last amended in November 

2016. The agency has determined that no change in the 

affected industry has occurred since the regulation was last 

amended that would necessitate the amendment or repeal of 

this regulation. 

Contact Information: Michael Menefee, Program Manager, 

Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services, P.O. Box 

1163, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 786-3983, FAX 

(804) 371-7479, or email 

michael.menefee@vdacs.virginia.gov. 

DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY 

Endless Caverns Solar LLC Notice of Intent for a 
Small Renewable Energy Project (Solar) Permit by 

Rule - Rockingham County 

Endless Caverns Solar LLC has provided the Department of 

Environmental Quality a notice of intent to submit the 

necessary documentation for a permit by rule for a small 

renewable energy project (solar) in Rockingham County, 

Virginia pursuant to 9VAC15-60. The project is located on a 

243-acre parcel off Craney Island Road in Rockingham 

County. The project will have a rated capacity of up to 31.5 

megawatts alternating current. 

Contact Information: Mary E. Major, Department of 

Environmental Quality, P.O. Box 1105, Richmond, VA 

23218, telephone (804) 698-4423, FAX (804) 698-4510, or 

email mary.major@deq.virginia.gov. 

VIRGINIA LOTTERY 

Director's Orders 

The following Director's Orders of the Virginia Lottery were 

filed with the Virginia Registrar of Regulations on December 

28, 2017. The orders may be viewed at the Virginia Lottery, 

600 East Main Street, Richmond, Virginia, or at the office of 

the Registrar of Regulations, 900 East Main Street, 11th 

Floor, Richmond, Virginia. 

mailto:debra.martin@vdacs.virginia.gov
mailto:michael.menefee@vdacs.virginia.gov
mailto:mary.major@deq.virginia.gov
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Director's Order Number Two Hundred (17) 

Virginia Lottery's "Print 'n Play Playback" Final Rules for 

Operation (This Director's Order becomes effective on 

January 7, 2018, and shall remain in full force and effect 

through the end Promotion date unless amended or rescinded 

by further Director's Order) 

Director's Order Number Two Hundred One (17) 

Certain Virginia Game: Game Number Correction. 20X the 

Money (86 2017) is amended as follows in order to correct 

the game number: in all occurrences of game number "1781" 

the game number becomes "1864" (effective December 20, 

2017) 

Director's Order Number Two Hundred Two (17) 

Virginia Lottery's "Thank A Teacher Art Contest" Final Rules 

for Operation (This Director's Order becomes effective on 

January 2, 2018, and shall remain in full force and effect 

through the end Promotion date unless amended or rescinded 

by further Director's Order) 

Director's Order Number Two Hundred Three (17) 

Virginia Lottery's Computer-Generated Game "Print 'n Play 

Blackjack Classic" Final Rules for Game Operation (effective 

January 7, 2018) 

Director's Order Number Two Hundred Four (17) 

Virginia Lottery's Computer-Generated Game "Print 'n Play 

Bulls Eye Bingo" Final Rules for Game Operation (effective 

January 7, 2018) 

Director's Order Number Two Hundred Five (17) 

Virginia Lottery's Computer-Generated Game "Print 'n Play 

Horoscope Crossword" Final Rules for Game Operation 

(effective January 7, 2018) 

Director's Order Number Two Hundred Six (17) 

Virginia Lottery's Computer-Generated Game "Print 'n Play 

Money Bag Crossword" Final Rules for Game Operation 

(effective January 7, 2018) 

Director's Order Number Two Hundred Seven (17) 

Virginia Lottery's Computer-Generated Game "Print 'n Play 

Rockin' Bingo" Final Rules for Game Operation (effective 

January 7, 2018) 

Director's Order Number Two Hundred Eight (17) 

Certain Virginia Print 'n Play Games: End of Games. The 

following games will end on January 6, 2018: 

Virginia Lottery's Print 'n Play Bonus Bingo (188 2017) 

Virginia Lottery's Print 'n Play Blackjack (142 2017) 

Virginia Lottery's Print 'n Play Daily Crossword (143 2017) 

Virginia Lottery's Print 'n Play Smokin' Hot Crossword (150 

2017) 

Virginia Lottery's Print 'n Play Hot N' Spicy Bingo (147 

2017) 

(effective January 6, 2018) 

Director's Order Number Two Hundred Ten (17) 

Virginia Lottery's Scratch Game 1808 "Cash Multiplier 

Crossword" Final Rules for Game Operation (effective 

December 21, 2017) 

Director's Order Number Two Hundred Eleven (17) 

Virginia Lottery's Scratch Game 1821 "Winning Hand" Final 

Rules for Game Operation (effective December 21, 2017) 

Director's Order Number Two Hundred Twelve (17) 

Certain Virginia Promotion; Game Number Corrections. 

eXTRA Chances Scratcher Promotion (169 17) is amended as 

follows in order to correct certain game numbers. In all 

occurrences:  

$20 Super cash Frenzy game number 1870 is corrected to 

read 1874 

30x the Cash Party game number 1875 is corrected to read 

1888 

Jewel 7's Playbook game number 1869 is corrected to read 

1872 

$1 Hot 7's game number 1852 is corrected to read 1882 

$2 Red Hot 7's game number 1853 is corrected to read 1883 

$5 Sizzling Hot 7's game number 1854 is corrected to read 

1884 

$10 Blazing Hot 7's game number 1855 is corrected to read 

1885  

(This Director's Order is effective nunc pro tunc to November 

1, 2017, and shall remain in full force and effect unless 

amended or rescinded by further Director's Order) 

Director's Order Number Two Hundred Thirteen (17) 

Certain Virginia Game: Draw Date/Time Change. The 

Virginia's New Year's Millionaire Raffle (182 2017) draw 

date/time is changed to the afternoon of December 29, 2017, 

from 10:00 a.m., January 1, 2018. (effective December 28, 

2017) 

STATE WATER CONTROL BOARD 

Proposed Enforcement Action for the Kinder 
Morgan Operating L.P. "C" Elizabeth River 

Terminals LLC 

An enforcement action has been proposed for the Kinder 

Morgan Operating L.P. "C" Elizabeth River Terminals LLC 
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facility for violations of the State Water Control Law in 

Chesapeake, Virginia. A description of the proposed action is 

available at the Department of Environmental Quality office 

named below or online at www.deq.virginia.gov. Jennifer 

Coleman, Esq. will accept comments by email at 

jennifer.coleman@deq.virginia.gov, FAX at (757) 518-2009, 

or postal mail at Department of Environmental Quality, 

Tidewater Regional Office, 5636 Southern Boulevard, 

Virginia Beach, VA 23462, from January 22, 2018, to 

February 20, 2018. 

Proposed Consent Special Order for McCarthy 
Building Companies Inc. 

An enforcement action has been proposed for McCarthy 

Building Companies Inc. for violations at the Essex Solar 

Center in Essex County, Virginia. The State Water Control 

Board proposes to issue a special order by consent to 

McCarthy Building Companies Inc. to address 

noncompliance with the State Water Control Law and 

Regulations. A description of the proposed action is available 

at the Department of Environmental Quality office named 

below or online at www.deq.virginia.gov. Kristen Sadtler will 

accept comments by email at 

kristen.sadtler@deq.virginia.gov, FAX at (804) 698-4277, or 

postal mail at Department of Environmental Quality, Central 

Office, P.O. Box 1105, Richmond, VA 23218, from January 

22, 2018, to February 23, 2018. 

Proposed Consent Special Order for TruGreen 
Limited Partnership 

An enforcement action has been proposed for TruGreen 

Limited Partnership for Incident Report No. 2017-S-2594, 

which occurred near Galax in Grayson County, Virginia. The 

State Water Control Board proposes to issue a special order 

by consent to TruGreen Limited Partnership to address 

noncompliance with the State Water Control Law and 

regulations. A description of the proposed action is available 

at the Department of Environmental Quality office named 

below or online at www.deq.virginia.gov. Ralph T. Hilt will 

accept comments by email at ralph.hilt@deq.virginia.gov, 

FAX at (276) 676-4899, or postal mail at Department of 

Environmental Quality, Southwest Regional Office, 355A 

Deadmore Street, Abingdon, VA 24210, from January 23, 

2018, through February 21, 2018. 

Proposed Consent Special Order for Woodfin 
Heating Inc. 

An enforcement action has been proposed for Woodfin 

Heating Inc. for alleged violations that occurred at Interstate 

95 on the ramp of Exit 69 near Commerce Road in 

Richmond, Virginia. The State Water Control Board proposes 

to issue a consent special order to Woodfin Heating Inc. to 

address noncompliance with State Water Control Law. A 

description of the proposed action is available at the 

Department of Environmental Quality office named below or 

online at www.deq.virginia.gov. Cynthia Akers will accept 

comments by email at cynthia.akers@deq.virginia.gov, FAX 

at (804) 698-4187, or postal mail at Department of 

Environmental Quality, P.O. Box 1105, Richmond, VA 

23218, from January 22, 2018, to February 21, 2018. 

Amendment of Water Quality Management Planning 
Regulation 

Notice of action: The State Water Control Board is 

considering the amendment of the regulation on water quality 

management planning in accordance with the Public 

Participation Procedures for Water Quality Management 

Planning. A regulation is a general rule governing people's 

rights or conduct that is upheld by a state agency. 

Purpose of notice: The board is seeking comments through 

the Department of Environmental Quality on the proposed 

amendment. The purpose of the amendment to the state's 

Water Quality Management Planning Regulation (9VAC25-

720) is to adopt six new total maximum daily load (TMDL) 

wasteload allocations.  

Public comment period: January 22, 2018, to February 21, 

2018. 

Description of proposed action: DEQ staff will propose 

amendments of the state's Water Quality Management 

Planning Regulation for the Potomac-Shenandoah River 

Basin (9VAC25-720-50 A). Statutory authority for 

promulgating these amendments can be found in subdivision 

10 of § 62.1-44.15 of the Code of Virginia. 

Staff intends to recommend 1) that the board approve the two 

TMDL reports as the plans for the pollutant reductions 

necessary for attainment of water quality goals in the 

impaired segments, 2) that the board authorize inclusion of 

the two TMDL reports in the appropriate Water Quality 

Management Plan, and 3) that the board adopt six new 

TMDL wasteload allocations (WLAs) as part of the state's 

Water Quality Management Planning Regulation in 

accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 14 and § 2.2-4006 B of the 

Code of Virginia. 

The TMDL reports were developed in accordance with 

federal regulations (40 CFR 130.7) and are exempt from the 

provisions of Article 2 of the Virginia Administrative Process 

Act. The reports were subject to the TMDL public 

participation process contained in DEQ's Public Participation 

Procedures for Water Quality Management Planning. The 

public comment process provides the affected stakeholders an 

opportunity for public appeal of the TMDL. 

As of July 1, 2014, TMDL WLAs can receive State Water 

Control Board approval prior to EPA approval due to 

amendments outlined in § 2.2-4006 A 14 of the Code of 

Virginia. The two TMDL reports in this public notice have 

been reviewed by EPA for required TMDL elements, 

however, remain in draft form awaiting State Water Control 
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Board approval. The draft reports can be found at 

http://www.deq.virginia.gov/Programs/Water/WaterQualityIn

formationTMDLs/TMDL/TMDLDevelopment/DraftTMDLR

eports.aspx. 

Affected waterbodies and localities for the six new TMDL 

wasteload allocations: 

Potomac-Shenandoah River Basin (9VAC25-720-50 A):  

1. "Sediment TMDLs for the Accotink Creek Watershed, 

Fairfax County, Virginia" 

The Accotink Creek TMDL, located in the City of 

Fairfax and Fairfax County, proposes sediment 

reductions for the Upper Accotink Creek, Lower 

Accotink Creek, and Long Branch watersheds and 

provides sediment wasteload allocations of 2,338 

tons/year, 3,073 tons/year, and 936 tons/year. 

2. "Chloride TMDLs for the Accotink Creek Watershed, 

Fairfax County, Virginia" 

The Accotink Creek TMDL, located in the City of 

Fairfax and Fairfax County, proposes chloride TMDLs 

for the Upper Accotink Creek, Lower Accotink Creek, 

and Long Branch watersheds and provides chloride 

wasteload allocations of 5,444,279 lbs/year, 3,723,479 

lbs/year, and 873,049 lbs/year. 

How to comment: The DEQ accepts written comments by 

email, fax, and postal mail. All written comments must 

include the full name, address, and telephone number of the 

person commenting and be received by DEQ by 5 p.m. on the 

last day of the comment period.  

How a decision is made: After comments have been 

considered, the board will make the final decision. Citizens 

who submit statements during the comment period may 

address the board members during the board meeting at which 

a final decision is made on the proposal.  

To review documents: The TMDL reports are available on the 

DEQ website at 

http://www.deq.virginia.gov/Programs/Water/WaterQualityIn

formationTMDLs/TMDL/TMDLDevelopment/DraftTMDLR

eports.aspx, and by contacting the DEQ representative named 

below for any report. The electronic copies are in PDF format 

and may be read online or downloaded.  

Contact for public comments, document requests, and 

additional information: Will Isenberg, Department of 

Environmental Quality, P.O. Box 1105, Richmond, VA 

23218, telephone (804) 698-4228, FAX (804) 698-4032, or 

email william.isenberg@deq.virginia.gov. 

VIRGINIA CODE COMMISSION 

Notice to State Agencies 

Contact Information: Mailing Address: Virginia Code 

Commission, Pocahontas Building, 900 East Main Street, 8th 

Floor, Richmond, VA 23219; Telephone: (804) 698-1810; 

Email: varegs@dls.virginia.gov. 

Meeting Notices: Section 2.2-3707 C of the Code of Virginia 

requires state agencies to post meeting notices on their 

websites and on the Commonwealth Calendar at 

https://commonwealthcalendar.virginia.gov. 

Cumulative Table of Virginia Administrative Code 

Sections Adopted, Amended, or Repealed: A table listing 

regulation sections that have been amended, added, or 

repealed in the Virginia Register of Regulations since the 

regulations were originally published or last supplemented in 

the print version of the Virginia Administrative Code is 

available at 

http://register.dls.virginia.gov/documents/cumultab.pdf. 

Filing Material for Publication in the Virginia Register of 

Regulations: Agencies use the Regulation Information 

System (RIS) to file regulations and related items for 

publication in the Virginia Register of Regulations. The 

Registrar's office works closely with the Department of 

Planning and Budget (DPB) to coordinate the system with the 

Virginia Regulatory Town Hall. RIS and Town Hall 

complement and enhance one another by sharing pertinent 

regulatory information. 
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